×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Heart's Journey (Stitches in Time Series #2)
  • Alternative view 1 of The Heart's Journey (Stitches in Time Series #2)
  • Alternative view 2 of The Heart's Journey (Stitches in Time Series #2)
     

The Heart's Journey (Stitches in Time Series #2)

3.8 23
by Barbara Cameron
 

See All Formats & Editions

Naomi knows she should be excited about her upcoming wedding but she remains unmoved. Not only are her feelings for her fiance lackluster but she believes he may see her more as a servant than a partner. And he's so controlling. Is it too late to back out of the marriage? While praying for God's guidance, Naomi takes a break from her duties as a quilter and travels

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Heart's Journey 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Print does not expand to legible font size in any of font styles! Why struggle? TOO MANY LEGIBLE Minute font size really strains eye and patience. Why bother until nook fixes this. Save your money.
Anonymous 11 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good
MCELWOLF More than 1 year ago
I am such a fan of Barbara Cameron!!!! They are such heart warming books and The Heart's Journey is no exception!!!  In this book we get to know Naomi and follow her path to love.  You can read this one first; however, it is so much fun to read them in order.  It's is the 2nd in the Stitches in Time series.  ENJOY!!!!! C:o)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a good book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story and easy read. Its great reading about the second cousin....there must be a third book about Anne. Love how the author tied these books into her other Amish series.
rhonda1111RL More than 1 year ago
Stitches in Time Series book 2 The Heart's Journey is the second book of the series. It is also the second one that I have read but I started with book 3 Heart in Hand. Even though I have read the books out of order I have enjoyed reading Stitches in Time. I have a feeling some of the characters in this book have been introduced in their own book. But I would like to read more of Barbara's novels in the future. Naomi is engaged to be married to John but her choice is not the best. He is controlling where she is and what she does. He even hurt her some. Naomi is hiding how she feels from everyone. Naomi makes quilts in the craft store that her Grandma Leah and her two cousins own with her. It is winter and Leah is thinking of going to visit her friend in Florida. Before she can bring it up she has a fall and sprains her foot badly. Leah still wants to go even if she is on crutches. Nick is their english driver who gives them rides to and back from work says he will drive her to Florida and take a vacation too. Naomi says she will go with her grandmother too to help her. Naomi fiance says she can't go but Naomi plans to go anyway. Nick has had a crush on Naomi for awhile but he has not let her know it. He really likes Leah and is a good friend to her. Nick and Naomi spend a lot of time together and their friendship continues to grow. Nick even kisses her and she kisses him back. Naomi fiance shows up in Florida to spy on her. This is the weak part of the story I felt that their was parts missed or cut out of how long was he actually in florida and the break up was too easy. I like the characters and enjoyed reading about Naomi and Nick. Their joy at the simple things.( I like things simple but love electricity and microwave,cars ect.) I was drawn to their story. I was given this ebook to read and in return give honest review of it by Netgalley. Published October 1st 2012 by Abingdon Press 283 pages ISBN:1426714335
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the story and the bitts of histary
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I didn't mind the stitches in time series, however I feel the author tends to hang on to the conflict way too long before resolving. Ok read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
simonsays1 More than 1 year ago
Don't order this book unless you have a strong magnetizing glass.. Sits in my nook, unread .. over ten dollars down the drain ! Doesn't adjust to legal size font . RIPOFF !
MaureenST More than 1 year ago
This meeting with the Cousins Naomi, Anna, and Mary Katherine along with their Grandmother Leah, brings to light a dark subject of Abuse. Whether it is physical or verbal, it shouldn't happen, but does. Naomi is now experiencing this from the man she gave her heart to, and is engaged to marry...John. When Leah takes a tumble and hurts her ankle, Nick their driver is immediately there to take her to the hospital, and wait and help. He learns that she, Leah, has been feeling a bit down and wants to go and visit the Amish Community in Pinecraft, Florida, he decides to take a vacation and take her. Naomi decides that this is a way to take a break from John, even if he has forbidden her to go. Will this finally give her the chance to examine her feelings, and maybe get away from this bad relationship? What Naomi doesn't expect is finding feelings for Nick...that can't be possible. He is English and she Amish. This is a really sweet story, that you feel a sense of danger lurking in the background. Will Naomi come to realize that John's abuse is not love? Enjoy this winter visit to Florida...experience Naomi's first glimpse of the ocean! Pick you morning breakfast off your Orange tree...yum! Think I'll pack my bags!! Enjoy! I received this book from Pump Your Book Virtual Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can't read this on my nook color. The print is tiny even with the print set as big as I can set it.
Heart2Heart More than 1 year ago
The Heart's Journey from Barbara Cameron is the second book in the Stitches in Time Series, and one that everyone can relate to and a true delight if you're a fan of Amish fiction. In this one, the reader is once again transported to the charm of a delightful store, Stitches in Time operated by Leah and her grand-daughters whom we have met in her first book. This time the story deals with her granddaughter, Naomi who is wondering if her upcoming marriage to John is truly what God had in mind. It seems that John is taking his authority of being the man of the house to heart and tries to ensure that Naomi will obey him at all costs, even if it means man-handling her at times. No matter how hard Naomi tries to put on her best smile, however, her grandmother Leah can see right through it. When she confronts Naomi about the relationship, she finally tells her the truth and that John is more than controlling. In fact, he has already hurt her physically but believes he can change, especially after how sorry he felt. Leah reminds Naomi that in the Amish world, once you marry the only way you can get out of a bad marriage is for one of you to die. That hits too close for home for Naomi and she agrees with Leah that perhaps they should break up. When Leah takes a nasty fall just outside of her shop, their Englisch driver, Nick comes to take her to the doctor. It is then that Naomi realizes that not all men can be as controlling as John and sees the true heart that lies within Nick. Opportunity presents itself to head to Pinecraft, Florida with her grandmother to help her pass the time recovering from her fall where the climate is warm and oranges are as close as an arm's reach. Naomi is more than delighted when Nick offers to drive them from Paradise, Pennsylvania to Florida for a mini vacation and both Naomi and Nick discover that something is brewing beneath the surface for them both. However will they be able to find common ground with living in two different worlds or will John find Naomi and bring her back to her senses in more ways than one? I received The Heart's Journey compliments of Abingdon Press and Pump Up Your Book Tours for my honest review and love the blending of the two worlds in the Amish fiction. Barbara Cameron takes the issue of abuse to a new level introducing it to her Amish character and then inviting the reader along for the ride to see how the Amish might deal with such an issue in their private world. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion and can't wait for the third book in this series!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the story line. Think it would be a great book for book club discussions. I liked that it really looked at what is God's will for us. I think anyone who lives a faith based life would enjoy the book. I would read other books by this author.
weatherlover1 More than 1 year ago
Naomi is planning to marry John but he has started to scare her and she is not sure if they should marry. When her grandma decides to head to Florida for a vacation Naomi jumps at the chance to go along to help her grandma as well as figure out what to do with her relationship. Their faithful driver Nick offers to drive them to Florida and Naomi soon finds herself with confusing feelings for the driver. Even if Naomi ends her relationship with John a relationship with an outsider is forbidden. Can Naomi find love with out losing everything and everyone she holds dear? This is book two in the series about three cousins. Over all I really enjoyed this book but there where things about it that seemed a bit far fetched. What I liked: This book was a easy read and enjoyable. It also touched on some issues(spousal abuse) that people may not think the Amish deal with but very likely do. It was interesting to see how a person dealing with something like that would possibly think though and deal with it. I enjoyed the way Nick and Naomi interacted and how he helped her to respect herself. What I did not like: Quite a few Amish fiction books that I have read in the last few months has dealt with a none Amish person coming into the faith. Even if a person was a simple person I think it would be very hard to give all modern things up and live Amish. I am just not sure it would be as easy as it can come across in books. Over all I enjoyed this book and am looking forward to the 3rd and final book in this series. This is a very well written series. I really like the characters and the storylines are quite interesting.
THESELF-TAUGHTCOOK More than 1 year ago
Naomi has mixed feelings regarding her upcoming marriage to John. His controlling ways have her backing away from the relationship. When her grandmother needs a traveling companion to Florida, Naomi volunteers to go along, but she never planned on a mutual attraction developing between her and their Englisch driver. Barbara Cameron has written an Amish fiction novel with a new twist: domestic abuse. As much as we would like to believe that they live in an idyllic paradise, they have problems just as everyone else does. This is a topic that needs to be addressed in general Christian fiction more often, so finding it in this genre was definitely a breath of fresh air. It was handled sensitively, giving the reader real information in a fictional format. Very nicely done. I will be looking for Ms. Cameron's novels at my local bookstore. 5 stars Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Pump Up Your Book book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book. Very well written.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Proluge of Jaywing's Journey ———————————————————————————— Jaykit wriggled next to her two sisters,Ripplekit and Puddlekit.Her mother,Larksong slept beside them.Jaykit finally gave up,and went limp.She could feel the faint rise and fall of her mother's flank.The day had been fun and long.Jaykit and her sisters played snow burrows that day.They had made really good burrows,actually.The night stars glistened out and around the nursery.The night fell so hard and so fast,Jaykit didn't see it coming.Jaykit wondered if she would ever become a warrior.She was only two moons old,that was true.But her body already surged with energy. Thanks!!!!!!!