×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Heiress Effect (Brothers Sinister Series #2)
     

The Heiress Effect (Brothers Sinister Series #2)

4.3 53
by Courtney Milan
 

See All Formats & Editions

Miss Jane Fairfield has made a career of social disaster. She wears outrageous gowns and says even more outrageous things. The only reason she's invited anywhere is because of her immense dowry--which is all part of her plan to avoid marriage and keep the fortune-hunters at bay.

Mr. Oliver Marshall is the illegitimate son of a duke. His acceptance in society is

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Heiress Effect 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 53 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not typlcal at all. Her characters are so wonderfully developed it comes as a surprise at the end of the story to realize you don't actually know them. The story is laugh out loud funny at some points, made me cry at others, and vastly entertaining. I truly was in suspense and couldn't wait to read what came next. I just recently discovered this author and have since read three of her works, and loved them all. I especially enjoy that her characters, who we see as real people with their virtues and their flaws, behave like real adult men and women. Nothing seems forced or artificial, and obstacles are realistic. I have never before seen a villain treated so realistically. You actually end up feeling sorry for the man, a bit. You can see him as someone who is genuinely well intentioned, even, if misguided. Flawed into not being able to see the truth, and too trusting, even. To the author: bravo! Well done!
TulaneGirl More than 1 year ago
Sometimes you just need a good historical romance - and this was a good one. Jane is a social nightmare and she likes it that way. Her enormous dowry makes her the apple of every fortune hunter's eye and she tries her best to repel them. Jane is not in the market for a husband. She has a sister she needs to protect and that means staying unmarried so that she can remain in her uncle's house. To that end, she acts a fool, wears hideous dresses, and is made fun of by the ton. Enter Hugo.  Hugo is a bastard - a Duke's by-blow. He has had to blend in as much as possible so that people forget his questionable lineage. He has political ambitions and doesn't make any moves without very careful planning. When he meets Jane he winces at how everyone laughs at her. He knows what it's like to be made fun of, but he has ambitions and the very people who laugh at Jane are the people whose favors he needs to get ahead.  And so, because this IS a romance, Jane wishing never to experience romance, and Hugo wishing to be with someone who can help him - politically, means nothing. They end up together, of course, but not without a few bumps. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ive enjoyed the earlier books in this series and looked forward to this one. It didnt really live up to my expectations. The caracters were hard to like, the storyline was ok, but it wasnt very romantic. I'll try the next one and hope for a bit better.
AmyWeidenaar More than 1 year ago
This is a heartwarming story in which we watch Jane not only come into her own but reach behind her and bring Oliver out the hold his own past has on him, into the man he once desired to be. It's a story of finding yourself no matter what school, society, or even family expects of you. A lesson that not only Jane and Oliver embrace but others within their group of loved ones as well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One has to read this author's work to know that her work is indeed superior. The plot and characters are unique and the verbiage is aptly used. She uses words that are not commonly used in spoken language but they help communicate the given scenario to the reader. In this realm of anonymity; I'm guilty of being overtly critical of the works of other authors. BUT I would like to say that I buy anything that this author puts her name on blindly. Great work. Excellent author. You will not be disappointed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A supposedly over 700 page free Regency romance book (the Nook scanner skips on page count) of a heiress who executes acted vulgarity to scare away suitors so she can protect her sister, and the politician that sees beneath her disguise. Duplicity, scandal, political maneuveurs, revenge, pettiness, violence, wit, romance, love scenes, and explicit sex scenes. Two excerpts from third and first books also provided.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have enjoyed reading the series. Courtney Milan is a great writer. Dont miss this book.
Crzywymyn More than 1 year ago
Courtney Milan has added a fresh voice to the romance novels. Her heroines have a backbone that is delightful. Yes, her books are mind candy, but how delicious.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyable read! I love Courtney's books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the characters and Jane's amusing antics.  As most romantic novels, the ending is predictable, but it is very enjoyable, light reading.I read Book #1 and the two novellas prior to this story, so the characters were like friends.  I'm looking forward to reading Book#3 to see what happens to Sebastian.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
DKillebrew More than 1 year ago
I loved the entire series and what a breath of fresh air.   I love it that the characters in the series have flaws.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Milan is refreshing. The story was a funny,twisted surprise. Not the usual boy meets girl and falls in love senario. A few dead spots but otherwise very good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the characters, such a variety of personalities, you can't help but enjoy them. This story won't disappoint.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago