×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Hermit Thrush Sings
     

The Hermit Thrush Sings

4.9 11
by Susan Butler
 

See All Formats & Editions

In the tradition of Lois Lowry's The Giver, Susan Butler's futuristic first novel tells the triumphant story of Leora's refusal to conform to the rigid rules set forth by a tyrannical government.

Leora has a gift, and a secret. She can see things no one else can, but can only draw them with her one webbed hand.

Several generations have

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Hermit Thrush Sings 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book so much. I read it all the night we got it, I couldn't put it down. It was enthralling, I was brought in by the same idea as the Hunger Games, even though I read that series three years later, of a tyrannical government but the story took a whole different turn. It was exciting to see how Leora was changed during the course of the book. I can honestly say it was one of the best books I have ever read and I was very impressed with the way that the author was able to bring everything together in a way that was able to appease even the most finicky of readers
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
i think that the authers amigination made you picture a scene in your mind
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book when I was on a canoeing/camping trip in the backcountry of Yellowstone with my dad and sister. We canoed around Yellowstone lake. Anyway, on the trip I read this book! it's was so wonderful I had a hard time putting it down! It grabs you from the beginning and doesn't let up until the end. If you haven't read this book yet you are miss
Guest More than 1 year ago
I absolutely LOVED this book! It even better than the Harry Potter Series! This book has everything a book should have in it... It keeps youre eyes glued to the page. I selected this book for my Mother/Daughter book club... No one had ever read the book! After our next book club i think everyone will have a new favorite book!!!!!!!! I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love this book a lot because of everything that happens. I read it in 2 days because I didn't want to put it down and it was so good! I recommend The Hermit Thrush Sings to everyone who loves a good book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book held in it everything a great book needs.It has adventure,mystery,and fantasy.this is truly a great book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is awesome! I usally don't enjoy science fiction with all its space and time capsules, but this has our future to a diffrent outcome. Leora and her heroric deeds and findings keep you glued to each word and eating up each sentence like it's your last meal. I love this book and really wish Susan Butler would make a sequel to it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the best book I have ever read in my life. I go to the library a lot and I have read a lot of books. This book told the story so well I felt like I was there. It almost made me cry.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Hermit Thrush Sings is the best book I have ever read, and I read a lot! I think this book is even better than the Harry Potter series! I recomend this book with all my heart! Please read it and you'll know what I m