×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Highway (Cassie Dewell Series #1)
     

The Highway (Cassie Dewell Series #1)

3.5 109
by C. J. Box
 

See All Formats & Editions

Winner of the Edgar Award for Best Novel, the New York Times bestselling author of Back of Beyond and Breaking Point and the creator of the Joe Pickett series is back.

"If CJ Box isn't already on your list, put him there." – USA Today

When two sisters set out across a remote stretch of Montana road to visit their friend, little

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Highway 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 109 reviews.
KarenWalters More than 1 year ago
This is a phenomenal mystery/suspense book. I really like C.J. Box's fast writing pace. He keeps the story moving at a really quick pace. There lots of twists and turns. The characters are all very well done.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first C J Box book that I will not recommend. The story is too gory and the language is too rough throughout. The story reminds me of a true incident in the 1980's of a college girl who was raped and murdered in WYoming as she was traveling home on a lonely highway. Too sad.
RonnaL More than 1 year ago
C J Box revives some characters from BACK OF BEYOND to populate this thriller of a mystery story. Once I realized that this is NOT the same style as my favorite Joe Picket books, I quickly got engrossed in this fast passed story that covers only a couple of hair raising days in a few people's lives. Evil travels the highways and I might just need to avoid highways for a few days until I get my breath back!  Cody Hoyt, ex-alcoholic policeman, has bypassed the law again, for all the right reasons, but bypass them he did. This has given his purely politically minded boss just the excuse he needed to fire Cody. Unfortunately, Cody's new rookie partner, Cassie Dowell, was sent to spy on Cody to provide the evidence of his wrongdoing. As a single mom, she felt obliged to follow through, but she also felt terrible doing this to a man she truly respects for his record of closed cases. As Cody and Cassie moan their situations in a local bar, Cody breaks his sobriety. But a couple hours later, Cody's son, Justin, calls to tell his Dad that Justin's girlfriend and her sister have gone missing while they were traveling the highways to Justine's house for Thanksgiving. Cody leaves to check out the situation, even though he no longer has "cop status". Cassie, on her own time, mans the computer to seek information. After a few hours, communications for Cody stops also, and Cassie goes on the search for answers. Troubles they will find, as pure evil shows it's ugly face.  This is definitely a darker story than other C J Box books, but the thrills and "issues" are definitely shining through in this story also. The book is populated with deeply flawed characters whom you will root for, and also with purely evil characters whom you wish never existed in real life---but , unfortunately, they do exist. Fortunately for me, Box manages to give just enough descriptions so that I "got the evil" without lots of gratuitous descriptions of blood, gore, and excessively described pain. The "possibilities" that Box describes are so reasonably likely, that it made my mind race for possible solutions. I love that Box tells a great story, which also makes me think, as well as just enjoy his great mysteries. Could this be a future new series for Box? let's hope so!!!
Duells More than 1 year ago
This was my first C.J. Box book,and I'm not real sure why.I had read alot of reviews on the book,lots of good reviews.So I figured I'd give it a shot.Well to my surprise I couldn't put it down! Needless to say I will be reading more of C.J. Box.I don't want to give away the story but it twists and turns like a rattlesnake.
DiiMI More than 1 year ago
How many times have you heard DO NOT get in a stranger’s vehicle? If The Highway by author C. J. Box doesn’t prove the dangers of that action, nothing will! Teen sisters, Danielle and Gracie Sullivan, in an act of parental defiance, take a road trip to see Danielle’s boyfriend, Justin (Deputy Sheriff Cody Hoyt’s son), but they never arrive. On a lonely stretch of highway, their car breaks down and the trucker that stops to “help” them becomes their biggest nightmare. Known as the Lizard King, this trucker is actually a twisted monster who preys on women for his own perverse pleasure. Will Cody be able to save them before it’s too late? Will the vast beauty of the landscape work against him? The Highway is very dark, an edge of your seat, twisted and gut-clenching battle against an evil so vile, you may want to lock your loved ones away for their own safety! From start to finish, there is no reprieve for your nerves or your imagination! Author C. J. Box has developed his hero with flaws, making him all the more real! He even nailed the teen defiance and daring! When the beauty of the surroundings can become menacing, as well, you KNOW you’ve found some great writing! The pace is quick, the plot is deep and you will be haunted by its contents long after the last page! An ARC edition was provided by NetGalley and St. Martin's Press/Minotaur in exchange for my honest review.
sherrb1158 More than 1 year ago
This novel will definitely grab your attention and hold on to it from the very first page! It is somewhat different from the Joe Pickett novels I love so much. (But, hey! Who doesn't love Joe Pickett and the gorgeous outdoor imagery and character interplay of that series once you read them!) This is more intense in the psychology of the protagonists and more of a who-done-it I would say. It definitely is very dark in places, but not as severe as I thought it might be after reading some of the reviews that I read here on B&N. However, if I had teenaged daughters I would definitely sit them down for a long safety lecture after reading this! This was a great read and you won't want to put it down until you know the outcome. I reserve five stars for the best of the best, (like the Joe Pickett novels!), but this is a really very good read with some great character development! You won't be disappointed! You might want to keep your dog close by though! Enjoy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first book I've read from C.J. and I was impressed. The plot was twisted, but it held my attention. The character development was great and you'll find yourself hating quite a few based on their attitudes and actions. Definitely a must read... but beware, you may start looking at other drivers differently.
Larryb52 More than 1 year ago
this is a depraved book that I read and sorry that I did I would warn anyone thinking about getting it to leave it off your list, just not worth the read worst Box book yet
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I did enjoy this book but not nearly as much as I have enjoyed C J Box books in the past. I think I will stick with Joe Pickett unless I wait longer for many more reviews. I would in hindsight have skipped over this one, as his books are pretty costly. I usually feel they are well worth the cost, as he does write very well, but not in this case.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the book. Did not care for the ending, though.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When I saw the return of Cody Hoyt, I thought, "Oh, a new series by C.J. Box!" Not too far in, however, I realized this was not to be. There was a lot of suspense waiting to see what fate would befall the Sullivan girls. The villains are pure evil, and makes one wonder whom to trust. I recommend this for Box fans, but when you finish you will sure be missing Joe Picket! For my next book, I chose a lighter read, a mental palate cleanser.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
First book i've read by C.J. Box....and half way through I purchased several more.....love this book.....made me feel like I was right there....the killer was one sick twisted person and you felt like you were in the truck with him......Highly recommend
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
very good book u won't be sorry if u purchase. Have never been disappointed with any of his books
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book in two days! It was hard to put it down but I had to because I have a full time job and two toddler boys! It's very dark and thrilling and THAT is why you can't put it down. You just want to know what will happen next. Can't wait to read more of C.J. BOX!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really loved this book! Read it in two days and can't wait for the sequel. Kept me so involved that I didn't want to put it down.
cy-12_34 More than 1 year ago
A thoroughly engrossing story with a little bit of horror thrown in. CJ Box knows how to weave a suspenseful story that keeps you guessing and very involved. I have read many CJ Box stories and enjoyed them all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
you will never what to drive the by roades alone in the dark again
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just not up to his normal standards.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Once again, C. J. Box at his best. Highly recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not for the feint of heart! C.J. Box writes a thriller with a little something extra! Not pleased to have Cody Hoyt no longer a part of his stories!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fabulous book.  Darker than his usual but an effective and gripping story....I listened to it while driving across Florida and every time I passed an 18 wheeler I got a chill up my spine...excellent
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have never been so scared reading a book yet I couldn't put it down. Every time I thought help was on the way well I can't say but the author knows! Oh Oh my heavens what a book. Once in a while very far and few between you read a book like this. Knock down must read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down until I finished it. There is always a surprise ending to his books. Now when I travel, I will think of this story as we drive along interstate highways. His books are always good.
nowhiz More than 1 year ago
Leave it to Box to come up with an irresistable story line. The characters are real and the action is rivetting. We lose an old friend but make a new one. I can't wait for the next installment in this series. At least I hope Box isn't through with these characters because there are more stories screaming to be told from the beginning on the highway.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Moved slowly thru 300 pages. Like other reviewers said, not enough action.