×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Hobbit: 75th Anniversary Edition
     

The Hobbit: 75th Anniversary Edition

4.3 189
by J. R. R. Tolkien, Christopher Tolkien (Introduction)
 

See All Formats & Editions

This deluxe hardcover edition of J.R.R. Tolkien's classic prelude to his Lord of the Rings trilogy contains a short introduction by Christopher Tolkien, a reset text incorporating the most up-to-date corrections, and all of Tolkien’s own drawings and full-color illustrations, including the rare “Mirkwood” piece.

J.R.R. Tolkien's own

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Hobbit: 75th Anniversary Edition 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 189 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Hobbit as most people know is one of many books that precede The Lord of the Rings trilogy by Tolkien. All of the books from the set are my favorite "Go to" books and I keep many of them on my Nook. That having been said there is nothing enhanced about this version. The "artwork" by Micheal Hague could have been drawn by a 3 year old. This artist is the one responsible for the ghastly Tolkien Calendars from the last few years. If someone at the publishing company wants to enhance this book again get rid of Hague and use Alan Lee or John Howe's paintings and drawings. Those are true fans of the literature and know how to do honor to the literary work.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Hobbit is a very adventures book! The begging may seem boring to some people but don't stop reading it you just have to wait until he goes on his adventure! I think all ages would injoy this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The enhanced version was definitely worth it. Just to hear J.R.R. Tolkein read passages of The Hobbit was incredible. Buy it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Buyer beware. This version can only be read on limited number of devices. I can not read it on my nook simple touch or iPad.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The actual story and illustrations are wonderful, just as expected. My frustration is that this version cannot be read on my litttle black & white nook, or my Toshiba tablet. I would appreciate this information from BN when reading the "Overview" so that I could make my purchasing decision with this knowledge. This is the one and only reason this nook book has lost a star.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing just get it read it and enjoy it! If u rate this 1 star then u suck
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best version I have ever seen of this book, and a great reason to show off your nook with the audio files. Highly recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
(Those reviewers saying that the images are too small, you double click on them to make them larger.) The Hobbit is one of my favorite books. I read it first when I was 11 and it is great to revisit this great little adventure book. I like the enhanced version with Tolkien's illustrations and especially the sound clips!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the adventure but the drawings were childlike and not worth the extra cost
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ilove the hobbit
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like the book alot! I beilive it is the longest book ive read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This enhanced version contains not only the story, but the back story of how Tolkien developed the land of middle-earth and discusses changes to the artwork as the book became popular. Some of the e-book pages take a LONG time to load, but they are worth it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A must read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is not compatible with the Nook HD. I just wasted $10 for a book that will not let me read past the sample.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love the book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AnnKY More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed getting to know Bilbo Baggins. He's a Hobbit after my own heart. Bilbo leads a quite contented life in his Hobbit hole, eating several times a day, he always enjoys a good tea time. But oh how he blossoms when presented with an invitation to travel. I love you Bilbo!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am finally getting around to reading this after having enjoyed the movies. Highly recommended!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AtticusesHand More than 1 year ago
The Shire. Nothing else needs to be said.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love The Hobbit. I was thrilled to see this version with the special features. Unfortunately, I found out the hard way that the special features involving sound only work when read using a Nook device that included sound. They're not accessible from the web version. As well, the book won't even open on the iPhone app so if I want to read on my phone or a future e-reader, I'll have to buy another e-book of The Hobbit. (My NookColor died recently and I don't like the Samsung Nook tablets and the Glowlight doesn't have sound so I don't expect to be able to open it.) If I'd known that the book wouldn't even open so that I could read the text on Nook devices or apps that don't have sound, I wouldn't have bought it. I spent some time looking at the difference versions available before decided to go with this one and I'm disappointed that nothing told me that it would only work on limited devices.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After buying this with a gift card I could not find this on my nook iPad app until I clicked on "Everything Else" in the All Items drop down menu. Then the book was displayed with the heading "Content not Supported on this device" Incompatibility not mentioned anywhere on the web page. Will see if they stick to their no refund policy on ebooks
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago