×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Kill Room (Lincoln Rhyme Series #10)
     

The Kill Room (Lincoln Rhyme Series #10)

4.0 129
by Jeffery Deaver
 

See All Formats & Editions

It was a "million-dollar bullet," a sniper shot delivered from over a mile away. Its victim was no ordinary mark: he was a United States citizen, targeted by the United States government, and assassinated in the Bahamas.
The nation's most renowned investigator and forensics expert, Lincoln Rhyme, is drafted to investigate. While his partner, Amelia Sachs,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Kill Room 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 129 reviews.
DonWilke More than 1 year ago
Jeffrey Deaver is a brilliant author. I love his books and this one doesn't disappoint.
Mikeeman More than 1 year ago
Just when you think you have it figured,you don't. Lincoln is the superhero of the handicapped as he uses his condition as a strength. Plot is somewhat convoluted but that is the power of the narrative. Hope Mr. Deaver can conjure up more challlenges for this unusual and super competent team. Excellent Read!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
All in all, a great work of fiction. The character development was excellent. The story arc was easy to follow and riveting.
cloggiedownunder More than 1 year ago
The Kill Room is the tenth full-length novel in the Lincoln Rhyme series by American author, Jeffery Deaver. Lincoln Rhyme, Amelia Sachs and the team are asked to assist in the case of an assassination, but the case has political implications. Assistant DA, Nance Laurel is determined to get a conviction against Shreve Metzger, the head of the Washington-sanctioned National Intelligence and Operations Service, for authorising the shooting of an out-spoken anti-American activist in his hotel room in the Bahamas on insufficient evidence of potential threat.  With no crime scene to examine, and virtually no cooperation from the Bahamian Police, Rhyme and Sachs find it difficult to make progress. And keeping their investigation under wraps is difficult as the NIOS seems to have inside information: possible witnesses and sources are being eliminated even as the team are on their way to investigate, and soon, it seems, members of the team themselves are also in danger.  This instalment touches on several topical themes: the ethics of pe-emptive strike; anger management; the selective dissemination of information; and the use of unmanned aerial vehicles. Deaver has Rhyme travelling to the Bahamas, but handles this much more realistically than Patterson’s excursion to Africa for Alex Cross. There is a wealth of information about knives, guns and bullets, as well as quite a bit on recipes and cooking. Deaver will need to have his own legal team at the ready: there are so many twists and turns in both plot and characters that some reader is bound to sue for whiplash injury. He gives the reader several exciting climaxes and a truly ruthless killer, but nothing is quite what it first seems in this Deaver page-turner. 
BlueForever More than 1 year ago
I'm giving it below Average probably only because I expect better regarding Lincoln Rhyme stories. I don't understand what other reviewers are referring to about the twists and turns because I found this book very boring. Seemed to be filled up a lot with explanations about intricacies of guns and those lists of evidence. I didn't find this book engrossing and I laboured to finish it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I WAS an avid fan of Jeffery Deaver - not any more. This was his worst novel. The story was just plain silly, poorly written and full of inconsistencies and major flaws. The past Lincoln Rhyme novels have been engrossing, well written and intelligent. This novel had none of those characteristics. I wouldn't waste my time reading it. Such a disappointment from what was one of my favorite authors. It reminded me of a very poorly written, made-for-TV movie.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It has a good plot but it is much too long and wordy. A little complicated compared to his other work. I also zoned out every time the "chef" references were thrown each time his knife was in play. Snoozer...
Anonymous 12 months ago
One fine read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fans of Lincoln Rhyme and Amelia Sachs will not be disappointed. Well written with all the twists and turns expected with a Lincoln Rhyme story. All the clues are there for you to figure this out, but you likely won't. I could have done without the short lecture on the second amendment, but overall very much enjoyed this latest chapter in the Rhyme series.
sandymi More than 1 year ago
This was a good book but not as good as some of the others I have read. It didn't seem to have as much action as some of his other books and it got rather long.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a far cry from the familiar and engaging Lincoln Rhyme series, which I love. It's as if somebody else wrote it and not very well. After 1 week and only 168 pages, it's still very hard to believe in the characters or care about the story. Formulaic and ineffective. It's a surprising disappointment.
Larryb52 More than 1 year ago
Just. Ok
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Annefj More than 1 year ago
This story moved along swiftly, the plot was beautifully thought out and the characters, as always, wonderful and interesting. I'm trying not to "binge out" and read them all too quickly so there'll be some more to look forward to.
Aelius More than 1 year ago
He has written much better novels. A pity he was out of form. Maybe he should find a better editor.
Tracey_R More than 1 year ago
A little different as far as Rhyme and Sachs stories but it was good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
customer2 More than 1 year ago
This book was very cheesy and boring. Would not recommend. Also it is overly predictable and tries to hard to seem like an adult novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great one with Lincoln & Amelia!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cloak mutters something to Veil. Veil nods dryly, rolling her eyes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Liberal agenda. Deavers, stick with fiction and not your stupid political views.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago