×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Kingmaker's Daughter (Cousins' War Series #4)
     

The Kingmaker's Daughter (Cousins' War Series #4)

4.1 111
by Philippa Gregory
 

See All Formats & Editions

In this New York Times bestseller that inspired the critically acclaimed Starz miniseries The White Queen, Philippa Gregory tells the tale of Anne Neville, a beautiful young woman who must navigate the treachery of the English court as her father, known as the Kingmaker, uses her and her sister as pawns in his political game.

The Kingmaker’s

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Kingmaker's Daughter 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 111 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There is very little of Gregory's work I don't enjoy (wasn't too crazy about the Mary, Queen of Scots novel, for instance) but her latest efforts with "The Cousins' War" novels have been exceptional. Told from the perspective of Anne Neville, wife of Richard III, we see the tragic and horrific consequences of being a woman and used, almost inexclusively, as a political and sexual pawn for men deperately trying to keep or gain a crown. Gregory has such a superb approach to her work it's just a great read from beginning to end. This novel is a bit shorter than some of the others (probably out of necessity as Neville died young at 28) and keeps a fast, engaging pace. Characters are generally easy to keep track of--that is sometimes a barrier in these historical novels--and if you have read her previous "Red Queen" "White Queen" and "Lady of the Rivers" you should not have much problem following this angle of the War of the Roses. That being said, the countless Edwards and Richards--good Lord, every other man was given the same name...so you have to pay a bit more attention there--and as I read I kept thinking that skimming through the "Queen/Rivers" novels again would help jog a memory or two. However, as a whole, Gregory continues to write literate, readable historical fiction--she's very dependable, which I so appreciate. Am also looking forward to the next installment as she says in her "Afterword" it will present some of her ideas on what happened to the two royal princes who disappeared from the Tower...maybe or maybe not at the hands of their uncle, Richard III.
Mirella More than 1 year ago
Anne Neville was a lesser known noblewoman and queen of England. In The Kingmaker’s Daughter, Philippa Gregory brings Anne to vibrant life by writing about her difficult life and subsequent rise to glory as Queen of England. What is most heart-wrenching about Anne’s story is that she and her sister, Isabel, were pawns to the men in their lives whose quest for power was relentless. Although Anne is not the spirited, feisty heroine of other historical biographical novels, she is truly fascinating. It is important that these women’s lives are written about, not only to show the extent of their suffering at the hands of the men surrounding them, but to clearly reflect the true status of women and their lack of rights in all eras of history. What is important is that Philippa Gregory has written a true and accurate accounting of this woman’s life, and that is what I applaud highly. Her conflict with Elizabeth Woodville is deep and all encompassing throughout the novel and makes for a fascinating story-line. Although Anne is not the fiery heroine, the conflict surrounding her is all consuming and makes for fast page-turning. The novel captures the reader’s interest from the very first to the very last page. It is eloquently written with believable characters, an incredible amount of brilliant descriptions, and wonderful emotion. The Kingmaker’s Daughter is the fourth book in a series about the women in Cousin’s War Series - Elizabeth Woodville, Margaret Beaufort, and Jacquetta Woodville. It is not necessary to read this in any particular order. It is fascinating to see how the author moves between these characters, fairly depicting them and their personalities, despite their faults. Fans of Philippa Gregory will definitely enjoy this novel set in a disorderly and dangerous period in England’s rich history. I highly recommend this! What a wonderful story!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The cousin's war is an excellent series The characters are well developed, enjoyable, and memorable In this novel the king makers daughters are developed in a similar fashio to the bolyn girls Both are born and bred to be queen, yet only one is truly corrupt enough to cast aside those who really care Great read and helps with the understanding of the fued between the families for the crown
Jai0411 More than 1 year ago
If any book by Philippa tells the story about the "role" of women during this time period, its definitely this book. I'm so intrigued to go back and read all books in this series again just to re live the intertwined relationships of the fascinating Isabel and Anne Neville, Margaret Beaufort, Elizabeth Woodville and even Margaret of Anjou and Jacquetta. From beginning to end this book had me captured!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the story of Anne Neville, the daughter of Warwick, the Kingmaker. She became the wife of Richard III and died young. It is told is great contrast to her novel The White Queen, which is the story of Elizabeth Woodville, queen to Edward IV and mother of the Princes in the Tower. The whole novel takes place during the Cousins War, or what becomes known later as the War of the Roses. I read this book in 3 days. Fantastic read. I felt as though I was in 1400's and in the middle of all the battles and intrigue.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
History from the woman's perspective, imagined but I would imagine close to the truth. Women shaped the times from behind the scenes and I have a better understanding of all the people of that time through this look through the women. This applies to all of Phillipa Gregory’s books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another winner in the series! If you like her other books you will love this as well. She has a great way of turning history into a nonstop pageturning drama. I end up reading until the we hours of the morning even if its the 15th time ive read that particular book. If you like historical fiction and have never given this aurthor a try, any of her books are worth a read. And whats great about her Tudor and Cousins War series is that you dont have to read them in the order they were published, especially the Cousins series. So enjoy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read many books by this author and this will rate as one of my favorites. This book tells the story of the War of the Roses as seen through the eyes of Anne Neville. I would give it 4.5 stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Here is history from an unexpected point of view victim or owner of her own destiny, anne neville turns out to be a very likable character and offers another point of view on this chapter of english history and leaves you wondering who was right and had the right in this war, must read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book revisits characters from several of Philippa's others set in this time period, but from a different character's perspective. I enjoyed it very much!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a great fan of Philippa Gregory. I have read almost all of her books and I love the way she combines fiction with English history
UCFJennybean More than 1 year ago
I love almost everything Philippa Gregory writes. The Kingmaker's Daughter, to me, was only so-so and not the strongest in the Cousin's War series. Anne comes across as a ninny and unimpressive throughout the book despite all she overcame and dealt with. I far preferred the portrayal of her 2nd husband, Richard, as he has not always been portrayed well in other books. Although the witchcraft around Elizabeth Woodville is not new to the series and is being portrayed from a different perspective in this book, it did not lend itself to the same excitement as in other books. I became tired of Anne's constant whining about Elizabeth Woodville being a witch. I did not find Anne a sympathetic or relatable character; she felt childlike and overly naive throughout the entire book. It is not a terrible book but it is not one I will re-read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best historical fiction writers around, Gregory does an amazing job combining fact and fiction. I love the aspects of witchcraft she weavea through the stories. You'll learn about history without even knowing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it
zss19 More than 1 year ago
This is the fourth book in the Cousins' War series and it did not dissapoint. It is interesting to relate the events in this book to the events in the other three books, The White Queen, The Red Queen, ad The Lady of the River, and track the lives of these women. Amazing how Philippa entiwnes her tales from the different perspectives.