×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Kite Runner (10th Anniversary)
     

The Kite Runner (10th Anniversary)

4.3 65
by Khaled Hosseini
 

See All Formats & Editions

The #1 New York Times bestselling debut novel that introduced Khaled Hosseini to millions of readers the world over.
 
The unforgettable, heartbreaking story of the unlikely friendship between a wealthy boy and the son of his father’s servant, caught in the tragic sweep of history, The Kite Runner transports

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Kite Runner (10th Anniversary Edition) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 65 reviews.
KatherynD More than 1 year ago
When Afghanistan went to war and was saved by the Taliban who turned out to be just as bad, Amir Agha and his father Baba moved to America. They had trouble when they moved and went through changes which eventually made them better people. When they lived in Afghanistan Amir grew up with a boy named Hassan and his father Ali, their Hazara servants. Amir and Hassan grew up as best friends or so Hassan, the kite runner, thought. Because they were fed from the same breast, an extreme consequence was hidden deep in ones thoughts after an event to horrible to watch was reaveled . But in that exact sentence is a hidden secret that would have changed their lives if it they would have known at a young age. Unfortunately the information came too late. The secrets that were kept were so very important that without them the end never would have been. There was this one boy named Assef; he and his friends tormented the neighborhood kids and eventually become an essential part of the story. Then without warning contributed to the twist ending that excites the readers with amazement and wonder. Without that wonder and without Assef becoming an important part of the plot, one of our themes never would have been relevant; Stand up for yourself and others. This is a very good life story along with if you can’t stand up for yourself you’ll never stand up for others. Something was promised to be done and ends up being lived through by another very closely related. The book has a very exciting and intriguing climax and will blow your socks off. If you are only for a certain religion and don’t like reading about someone taking place in another religion or praying and practicing another religion then the book is not a top choice for you to read. Despite the religious content the book is astoundingly intriguing and contains life lessons that everyone should learn even the wisest of us all. Another theme is life can be cruel and forgiving if you don’t forget or give up. The biggest lesson to be learned from the exciting twist ending is no matter what has happened and what you’ve done you can still redeem yourself. Never give up is another moral that is pertaining to the book The Kite Runner.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really a well written, beautiful story. It really gave me a lot of understanding about middle eastern culture. A  heart wrenching story of friendship, family, betrayal, and redemption. A must read. I'd say mature teenagers  older, as some of the content is pretty intense and disturbing. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had to read this book as part of my summer reading and I can honestly say that it is one of the best books I have read so far. I thought I was not going to like it because the description says that it deals with the country's political standings at the time and redemption and such (which may sound boring), but it was actually great. The first few chapters are not that interesting since they are describing the background and such, but as you go more in depth in the book, you grow to love it. I loved it so much that I read it again and even did my Individual Oral Presentation on this novel. After you finish reading it, you can watch the movie (dont watch the movie before you finish reading the book, because the movie is not as amazing as the book and it leaves many vital parts out). Overall, I would definitely recommend this book to everyone because of the successful job that Hosseini does when he mixes historical information, issues between father and son, and a friendship that leads to betrayal and later the search for redemption.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you had a chance to be good again would you take it? The kite runner is a short novel if you get to finish it, when you get an idea of what happed in a scenario it might be easier to put in to words that explain every moment and detail in space, that way you know what is going on in a scenario. I had never read a book with such curvature in the scenes that you imagine while reading.  For a book difficulty of reading I would say the grammar is varied. If you’re the type of person that gets in to reading and would like to get a sample of a hazzara boy that had a unreliable friend and Pashtuns treating him like a joke because of his home town he grew up in. his brother was the unreliable friend that destroyed a huge secret brotherhood, yes they were brothers that came from the same baba (father) but one brother dies not knowing and while the other still living in his midlife crisis finding out the truth of what is real and isn’t. well back to the one of many lesson learned in this book is that you always get a second chance to be good again, and that’s what the living brother is trying to peruse because his guilty conscious is trying to fix what has happened that made everything go wrong, tough luck is heavy when it rests on your shoulder, time grows bigger but weaker, a never ending cycle. He continuously asks for attention when clearly the attention should be his own given. if you live saying I am weak you will be weak. Try not to think about what is but what it isn’t. Fight for what is right, even if you’re afraid in the pits of danger.in the end it’s not what you have that counts it’s what you did to help. If you have read all this the text I have typed then you won’t have trouble putting yourself in The Kite Runner and you will learn the major knowledge that may assist in your life to come.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The “Kite Runner” is a great story that talks about the author Khalid Hosseini the Sunni Muslim that was born in Kabul, Afghanistan in 1963, and then moved to the U.S to San Francisco, CA in 1980. His father “Baba” calls him “Amir”, and his mom died when she gave birth to him. Rahim Khan Baba’s friend tells Amir in the beginning of the story “there is a way to be good again” and this quote is the main idea of the story. The story is mainly about two friends, Amir the Sunnis Muslim and Hassan the Shi’a Muslim, but because they are from different religious, that culture will prohibit them from being friends, but they always were together. Assef the boy who is stick to his culture didn’t like that, so he wanted to hurt both of them, and when he had the chance with Hassan he took it, he rapped him so that Hassan will understand that he is a man who stands for his culture and Amir saw everything but didn’t do anything, so he betrayed his friend because of his weakness. After a long time period, Amir had to go back to his country to find out that Assef has his own half brother’s son Sohrab and that he had to fight Assef so he can get Sohrab back, but Amir like always is weak and get beaten up almost to death until Sohrab saved him. This showed Amir the what happened around him was mostley because of him and that’s why Rahim Khan told Amir that “there is a way to be good again” so that he recognizes what he did when he was young and the difference between the feelings of Hassan towards Amir when he saved him and Amir towards Hassan when he betrayed him. That’s why what goes around comes around. I liked this novel, because it shows us that no matter how far a person goes or how much money a person can make, it’s always going to be the time when life shows that person that what he/she did was wrong so that every time this person remembers what happen to him, will remember what he/she did. But even if life showed Amir that what he did was wrong and he had to pay because of how he treated his own childhood friend that turned to be his half brother, Amir will not change and will stay the same person that he was when he was a child, because a person who won’t stand for himself will not stand for anything else. I honestly recommend this novel to everyone, even if I didn’t like the main character Amir which is the author, but it’s still a great story that talks about our daily life with others and the responsibilities that we have to take towards the people we love.
BeachChairReader More than 1 year ago
One of the saddest books I have read in quite a while. The author does not pull any punches, or leave anything to the imagination. I liked that the author used italics for the afghani terms that some westerners may not be familiar with. This book was bought for me as a gift and I really enjoyed reading it
PaperRoxas 6 months ago
I read this book back in high school and I have to say it's one of the few books that they made me read in high school that I actually enjoyed reading. Sounds weird, right? Definitely on my wish list to obtain so I can read it again.
Anonymous 7 months ago
Ok to start off, my review cannot begin to describe the greatness of this story. This book brought me to tears and I only hope that everyone would give this book a chance and read it themselves. It has so many life lessons and the ultimate lesson to me was about redeeming yourself.
BlackHeartedRose 9 months ago
Book rating: 1 star out of 5 Story Line: I give the story line 1 out of 5 stars also. I really hated this book with a burning passion. I had to read it for school. I have nothing positive to say about the story line of the book. A lot of this book was disturbing/confusing. Rape disturbs me in general...and having to picture this happen to one of the characters really made visualize it. I know that wasn't the main plot...but it happened... Characters: 1 star out of 5. I hated every single character that were mentioned in this book. I have nothing positive to say about any of them. Writing Style: 2 out of 5 stars. The writing style wasn't as bad as the book, but I still hated it. I will never pick this book up again.
Batyariyah More than 1 year ago
This book i could not put down once I started reading. I cried like a baby, the story was so touching and moving. It also shed a lot of light to the movement of the Taliban and how it has truly crippled the beautiful country Afghanistan. It is a must read
JimRGill2012 More than 1 year ago
My immediate reaction while reading this transcendent novel was frustration—I was peeved at myself for having waited so long to enjoy Hosseini’s masterful storytelling and sublime sense of humanity, love, and redemption. Make no mistake—The Kite Runner is an exceptional work with all of the hallmarks of great literature. The story of Amir, the novel’s admittedly imperfect narrator, begins in Kabul in the 1960s and early 1970s, where he grows up with his privileged father (his mother dies giving birth to him) and their servants, Ali and Hassan, who is just two years younger than Amir. Ali and Hassan are Hazaras, members of a marginalized ethnic group in Afghanistan. Despite Amir’s strong friendship with Hassan, the difference in social class and economic privilege damages their bond—both physically and emotionally—and the Russian invasion of Afghanistan in 1979, along with the rise of the Taliban, irrevocably transforms their relationship. Years later, Amir—now married to an Afghan woman and living in California—is summoned back to Afghanistan for a chance to redeem himself. The ensuing narrative, despite some improbable but not entirely implausible plot developments, constitutes some of the most harrowing and emotionally powerful scenes of atonement and reconciliation imaginable. Hosseini’s ability to tell his story and develop complex characters who exhibit all too human flaws while striving for compassion and a sense of peace left me in awe. His talent as a writer is obvious, but even stronger is his understanding of emotion and its impact on behavior. This novel moved me to tears numerous times. Faulkner once said, “The past is never dead. It's not even past.” The Kite Runner exemplifies that idea in ways that few novels ever have. I highly recommend this novel to anyone with a pulse. Read it now—it will make you a better person.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was an incredibly sad, moving, inspiring story and I absolutely loved it. Educated me on the war in Afghanistan and the Taliban and the remarkable resilience of people. We may be born in different places, in different decades, but basically most of us want to live in peace, love our children and hopefully make it a better place for them. Please read this book, very moving. It will have to sobbing. Unforgettable. Very, very moving.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mizztique More than 1 year ago
This book was indeed an emotional roller coaster for me. The e main character, Amir had me feeling anger toward him for not saving/protecting Hassan . Then in another turn I felt sympathy for him. Very detailed at times I felt as if I was there with them. The book also talked of how Afghanistan has changed from carefree to militant...and how the story line came full circle. Also I learned to see these characters differently from what is displayed and told worldwide. I also enjoyed the overall theme of redemption, love and forgiveness. Also enjoyed the plot twists and turns. A roller coaster indeed. I will definitely recommend this novel as it is a great read.
Shawscribbles More than 1 year ago
The Kite Runner has been one of my “to-read” books for years but for some reason I never got around to actually reading it. Along with The Book of Negroes and The Book Thief, as soon as I finished Hosseini’s novel, I asked myself why I waited so long to read it. If you haven’t read this book, you should. If you have, then you will know what I’m talking about. I’m not sure if you would categorize this as a young adult book. It definitely would depend on the maturity level of your teen. But for most kids I know, this is the kind of book I want them to read. It covers very difficult topic areas in a way that is relatable to readers of all ages. To be honest, this was a book I could not put down. If you have a mature teen on your holiday gift list, consider purchasing this book. It will be a sure hit.
hmin More than 1 year ago
great insight.
kenjacks2 More than 1 year ago
Read it Freshman year of college. By far, one of the best books I've ever read.
ASassyChick More than 1 year ago
Amy Yates More than 1 year ago
This book kept me turning the pages. You get close to the characters. This book has its emotional ups and downs but it is well-worth reading to the end. Interesting information on Afghanistan and the Taliban.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
NinaNicole More than 1 year ago
Very slow more often than not. Disturbing at parts, very disturbing. Main character is unlikeable and a coward.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was way better than expecting. I usually don't read books on topics like this because politics are boring to me and this was about another country so I just assumed that it was just a very boring book, but I had to pick a book in a certain genre for a project. So I picked this book just for the heck of it. I’m very happy I did! The beginning started kind of slow but then it makes a lot of since later on in the story. Then I started to like it more and it was hard to put it down and go to sleep. I grew to the characters and got involved with the story. I felt like I was in the story (like I was a character) that’s how good it was. I like this story because family is the only thing that will be there for you anytime. Two brothers stuck together throughout the whole book through thick and then. So I would recommend this book to anyone, any age. It might not sound entertaining at first but give it a try. They say don’t judge a book by its cover, so don’t judge this book. Read it and you will love it!
ReadingAddicted More than 1 year ago
Beautifully and sensitively written. Addresses the elemental actions of most people - self-preservation or altruistic action. This book focuses on the failings and redemption of Amir. In the end Amir becomes a stronger person for his ability to deal with those weakness and rise above them due to his willingness to look at his guilt - not hide from them. The people in this novel are 'flesh and blood', I needed to see what happens to them next and when the book is finished it felt like I had lost a family member. It was not a book to sit and read at one setting as the violence made me have to put it down until I could come to terms with it before picking it up again. If you want a thought provoking book about the reality of the choices humans face and how they can be addressed this is for you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It really opened up my eyes to the difficulties in a seemingly whole other world. I never really knew just how complicated life could be when there's danger around every corner encouraging rash decisions. It showed me how greed, love, and life intertwine and wind their way into a person's life, molding a person into who they are. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago