×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Last Christian
     

The Last Christian

4.2 36
by David Gregory
 

See All Formats & Editions

In the future, it’s possible to live forever—but at what cost?
 
A.D. 2088.
 
Missionary daughter Abigail Caldwell emerges from the jungle for the first time in her thirty-four years, the sole survivor of a mysterious disease that killed her village. Abby goes to America, only to discover a nation where Christianity has

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Last Christian 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 37 reviews.
AAR More than 1 year ago
THE LAST CHRISTIAN by David Gregory is an Inspirational Sci-fi thriller set in the future, the year 2088. It is well written with depth and detail. It is very deep and overwhelming at times but it has a great message throughout the book. It is also full of bible references. It is a throught provoking, and very interesting in "what if's". It has betrayal, suspense, sadness, action, faith, a little romance, intrigue and religious themes. The characters will pull you in and keep you there. They are exciting, strong and innocent. There are also evil characters in this story. If you enjoy sci-fi thrillers, and throught provoking that leave you wondering about the future of Christianity in the modern world this is definate the book for you. This book was received for review from Waterbrook and details can be found at My Book Addiction and More and Random House Publishing.
JodyJ More than 1 year ago
My review of the book The Last Christian. In the future tolerance has come to pass and Christianity no longer exists. Abigail Caldwell grew up in a remote jungle in Papua New Guinea. A disease killed her village, forcing her into a real world that she has no connection to. It is almost scary how easily the reader can imagine the circumstances in the story coming to pass. It is a little eerie to think this may not be so far in the future anymore for us. The faith aspect of this story is very thought provoking, the reader will definitely look at the gospel in a brand new light. There is a heavy focus on life, a little love, and tolerance that is not so tolerant. This book was provided to me for review by the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group.
wanttoreadBM More than 1 year ago
A good read with enough action and mystery to keep you reading. The Christian message is clear as you progress through the story. I would recommend it.
John Resler More than 1 year ago
It is not a great leap to see a day when Christ's message is viewed as hate speech. The criticism and ridicule of a non-conformist are accurate and Orwellian. A good read for anyone but reassurance for the Christian.
Chella Charles More than 1 year ago
Good books entertain you. Great books make you think in ways you never have before. The Last Christian is a great book.
bridget3420 More than 1 year ago
It's the year 2088 and Abby is the only person to survive when a strange disease spreads. Abby goes out in search of others survivors. Her grandpa sends a word telling her to spread the word of Jesus. Little did she know, the entire human race could obtain eternal life and her grandfather was partially to blame. The brain replacement project is already in use. Will Abby be successful in her attempts to remind everyone of a higher power or will the humans play God and end up destroying everything? The plot is amazing and the author really delivers on each page that you turn. A total thrill ride.
Richele More than 1 year ago
If you read one book this summer.choose one book to throw in your beach bag.choose one book to bring on your plane ride.choose The Last Christian. From the moment I read the summary I was intrigued. I had high hopes that his book would be excellent. I was not let down! From the first page you will be taken on a ride to rival any roller coaster. Be sure to start this book when you have the time to devote as you will NOT want to put it down. Not only is the book exciting, it is well written, characters are realistic and well developed and concept though wild draws you in and never lets go. I would mark this as my favorite summer read and summer had barely begun!
AnAvidReaderNJ More than 1 year ago
When I agreed to review this book, I was not thrilled about it to be honest. I do not like science fiction, never have. But I have to say this book was amazing. They way the author tied together the past and the present was seamless. Abby Caldwell was the perfect leading lady and the flow of the story was excellent. From a Christian perspective, there are many lessons to be learned: Abby's bravery and steadfastness about confessing her faith, people making the ultimate sacrifice for others, the thought of what could happen if we remain cavalier about our Christian faith. I would highly recommend this book and I just may read it again myself! This book was provided to me by Waterbrook Multnomah for the purpose of review. The opinons expressed are my own!
FaithfulFoliosvLogReviews More than 1 year ago
Vertical Reach = 4 Abby doesn't give thorough details about what she prays or what passages she reads in her bible but I love that she acknowledges doing them at all. Lotsa CBA christian fiction doesn't even elude to this I liked this character so much she was real to me. Ministry Message = 3 The message I believe is to have faith in God and spread his word no matter what. I hope I didn't miss it the storyline held me so captive I didn't really grab a lot of message. Craft = 5 I love good plot and great characters. This novel has both not to mention it has captivating details and dialogue. This is the only end time novel I believe I've ever enjoyed. Aesthetics = 5 If I saw this book in a book store the title and cover alone would make me stop and pick it up. Good job Waterbook Press design team. LOVE IT!
harstan More than 1 year ago
In 2088, the unknown disease has devastated the small Inisi village. Desperate, Christian missionary Abigail Caldwell leaves the jungle for the first time in eight years seeking help for those surviving. She is found dehydrated and taken to Meriden Hospital in Lae where she is treated by American Dr. Kate Sampson. The two women fly by helicopter to the village only to find everyone dead. Grieving as she loved the villagers, Abby goes to America after receiving an odd missive from her neuroscientist grandfather, an inventor of brain transplants. She is stunned to find Christianity is dead in America, but she vows to lead the crusade to bring it back from the grave. However, her grandfather is also dead. His death leads her to History Professor Creighton Daniels, whose father like Abby's grandfather and villagers suddenly died. The duo join forces to investigate what is going on. They soon discover a plot to evolve mankind into eternal non-believers transhumans with silicon based brains and no one will stop them; not even two people grounded in faith that God created Adam and Eve. The Last Christian is a terrific futuristic thriller in which the religious elements come across (no pun intended) as powerful and refreshing while the political spin felt mechanical, a rehashing of early twenty-first century DC paralysis. Fast-paced with two strong believers as champions, sub-genre fans will want to join these David's as they battle Goliaths with plans to make mankind in their image. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
No good story line
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story was great, the writing was pretty good, and I loved the message.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ilovemy5kids More than 1 year ago
Abigail, a lady who has lived in a jungle has had her whole tribe mysteriously die from a death and she is forced back into a world so different. Times have changed but has Christianity? This book was very hard for me to read. In fact, I started over twice and read aloud to my husband just to make sure it wasn't just me. He said "Are you getting tired Dear?" - meaning you are putting me to sleep - please quit reading. This book did not inspire me and it was difficult to follow. I could not recommend it especially as an easy read. I also could not recommend it for younger readers just for the material that is suggested. Blessings to you! You are loved! Note: I was sent complimentary copy for review purposes only. This review has not been monetarily compensated. The review was my honest opinion and views and not influenced by the sponsor in any way.
Katieb38 More than 1 year ago
I am torn on how I feel after reading this book. On one hand, I really enjoyed it. I thought it was fast paced and gripping, and the idea of a world without Christianity was interesting. There was certainly a lot going on in the book and I had to be sure to concentrate so I wouldn't miss any important hints or reveals. With the exception of the two main characters, Abby and Creighton, the characters weren't really well developed, and I was left wishing I knew more or heard more from certain ones. I enjoyed the gentle and modest romance that grew between Abby and Creighton. On the other hand, I was disappointed that the author didn't spend more time having Abby trying to spread the word of God. She had a few chances, but I was hoping there would be more of an emphasis on it since that was pretty much the premise of the novel. The technology aspect of it was almost overwhelming to me. Imagining a world where everyone is connected by a chip in their brain and can meet up with anyone, anywhere in Virtual Reality is just too much for me.
Jennmarie68 More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing. It had a little of everything in it. The technical aspect of the book was very interesting to me. The idea that all people can be connected to each other constantly was very interesting. It added a new level of intrigue to the story. In this story technology has tried to rid the world of the social ills that had once existed. However it seems that technology has taken one thing away from the culture... The story was pretty faced paced, right from the beginning. And while the technology was really futuristic it was feasible. I think I was able to understand the technology because it is, I think, where technology is currently heading, so it wasn't difficult to imagine. I loved how the story combined the technological society, and that of a non-technological religious society. Seeing the differences between the religious society and the technological society was quite eye opening. The path that was explained in the book as to how society became non-religious is very sobering. The writing was very good. It was easy for me to connect to the characters in this story. They were well written and well developed. I loved Abby, based on the culture she was thrown into she was quite naive, however she was actually a very intelligent character. I really loved this story. I was so easily drawn in to it.
christian_chick6 More than 1 year ago
In 2088 AD, Abby Caldwell emerges from the Papua New Guinea jungle where she was raised as the daughter of missionaries after her entire tribe dies of a mysterious illness. She moves in with her cousin Lauren, a US congresswoman, and soon discovers that Christianity has all but disappeared in America. Abby quickly decides two things: 1) She needs to spread the Gospel in America, and 2) she needs to learn more about her grandfather Ray's death and the cryptic message he sent just days before he died. With the help of Sabin, Lauren's "life partner," and Creighton, a history professor, Abby delves into the mystery while trying to preach the Gospel--and finds herself hunted by a dangerous man. I really enjoyed The Last Christian ... probably because it was largely science fiction! The America Abby returns to is one where people spend large amounts of time in virtual reality, where cars drive themselves, where disease is nearly eradicated, and where even brain transplants are becoming available. One of the aspects I enjoyed most was the challenge Abby faced when presenting the gospel to people who have no concept of sin or of their need for a Savior. While Gregory's world is fictional, many things he describes could very well be in our future ... and with this book, he challenges us to take another look and the Gospel and reexamine our own beliefs. As for the plot, while I enjoyed it, I felt that parts were lacking. The "resolution" was fairly unaffecting, and I wasn't emotionally involved with the characters. Still, this was an engaging read that I would recommend.
WeeShare More than 1 year ago
I don't normally read books set in the future. There is a certain science fiction/ fantasy element to futuristic books that I don't really care for. However, I was really drawn to the plot of this book. I have read the Left Behind series, and this seemed somewhat similar, only more extreme. I had a really hard time getting into the book. The first few chapters threw several things at me- the introduction of the brain transplants, information about numerous characters, and lots of references to various technology of the future. I was having a hard time keeping everything straight! I met one character, Abigail Caldwell, who would become a main player throughout the book. Her story is what kept me reading. Upon meeting her, I immediately wanted to know more about her. Her strength and passion were intriguing to me. I knew that Abby was going to try and bring the Christian faith back to America and I was very interested as to the persecution she would face and how she would continue to strive to fulfill her goal. As the story unfolded, I found myself more and more interested. The things I had not understood in the beginning began to make more sense as I learned new facts and details. I began to see all the characters come together. I really disliked some, but my heart went out to others. The author did a fabulous job with character descriptions and I was vividly able to picture them in my head as I read. It was really emotional to read what Abby was going through. I cannot imagine the feeling of being the very last Christian on Earth and all of the opposition and hate that Abby faced. It was uplifting as well. If Abby can find the courage and will-power to share her faith in a world where she is the only one who believes, then surely we can as well. We live in a country where freedom of religion is practiced and we are free to worship and share our beliefs as we choose. Abby found out she could be imprisoned and worse for just sharing what she felt in her heart. I felt like I was reading about Daniel and the Lions Den all over again. I don't want to spoil what happened to Abby and how she strove to overcome ever obstacle she faced. David Gregory does a much better job of telling the story.
quilldancer More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! I wasn't certain I was going to when I first started reading because the prologue and first two chapters didn't seem to relate to each other - oh but they do, and when they all come together the realization of what is going on will absolutely blow you away. The Last Christian, by David Gregory is a spell-binding read. The futuristic setting is wholly believable and easy to comprehend. Although there is much science in the novel, I would classify this as a medical thriller rather than a science fiction novel.