×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Last Great Game: Duke vs. Kentucky and the 2.1 Seconds That Changed Basketball
     

The Last Great Game: Duke vs. Kentucky and the 2.1 Seconds That Changed Basketball

4.4 20
by Gene Wojciechowski
 

See All Formats & Editions

New York Times bestseller

"A compelling narrative about the people who produced the most spine-tingling moment in modern college basketball history.” –Seth Davis, Sports Illustrated and CBS

March 28, 1992. The final of the NCAA East Regional, Duke vs. Kentucky. Millions could say they witnessed the greatest game and the greatest

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Last Great Game: Duke vs. Kentucky and the 2. 1 Seconds That Changed Basketball 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Growing up up in Kansas, I wanted desperately to go to Duke. I got in, but when the scholarship and financial aid package came through, it just wasn't going to be enough. I would have been a freshman with Grant and Thomas Hill, and since I played trombone and tuba in the band ( as I did 4 years later when I went there for law school), likely would have been at that game and the Final Four. Instead I watched it on tv from my dorm at SMU. But had I been there in person, I would have an incredible sports memory, but would not have my wonderful husband, family, friends, and my own college memories from here in Dallas. So I am happy to experience The Game watching replays every March and reading this engaging book. So of course I loved the behind the scenes detail. But I also enjoyed the Kentucky story. I don't really remember them being so down and out, and how likeable that team really was. If their heart can take it, I would recommend this to a Kentucky fan too, and anyone else who loves college basketball.
RMAHOOPS More than 1 year ago
One of the best sports books that I have read in years. Even though I knew most of the story, it was a great re-visit and well woven together......an outstanding read!
OldWahoo More than 1 year ago
An entertaining story of the two coaches and teams that played in the memorable NCAA Eastern finals game in 1992 in the Philly Palestra. Particularly intriguing is the story of the rebirth of University of Kentucky basketball under Rick Pitino after scandals had kept them out of post-season play for a couple of years. I went to college in Kentucky and I know Kentucky state pride revolves around UK hoops.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a HUGE kentucky fan! Even though we didn't win that game we did win the 2012 National Championship! OH YEAH! Big blue nation! l:D
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book I am a Duke fan all the way. Even if you don't like Duke or Kentucky, this is a great book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book descrbes much more than just the 1992 regional finals game between two schools with storied basketball history. The reader will be introduced and learn abouth the personalities of key players on each team. Not only do you learn about Jamaal Mashburn's journey to escape the projects but also about Grant Hill's persoanl demons despite his more comfortable childhood. The Untouchables for Kentucky is also a great story as those players helped to bring Kentucky basketball back from purgatory. My only criticism of the book is that it glosses over much of the regulation portion of the game itself. Yes we all remember Wood's bank shot and then the legendary pass by Grant Hill and Laetner's shot...but there was much more that made it one of the greatest sports events of our time. The in-depth stories of the playersand coaches more than make up for that proble, however and I would recommend this book for any college basketball fan.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Terrific book. Love the backstories about all the players. Duke is one of my favorite basketball teams and is tied with Johns Hopkins for my 2nd favorite lacrosse team. Inspiring story about Grant Hill. Only bad thing is there is an abnormal amount of swearing in this book. 13 years of age and up. Overall though I give it 5 stars.
Jay_Andrew More than 1 year ago
Loved the back stories to all the people involved with the 1992 game. I can still remember where I was when I watched that game, and the book was a great way to relive some of the past. Was a fast read and it did a great job of going back and forth between Kentucky and Duke and how they both got their teams to Philadelphia in March of 1992. Highly recommend this book to basketball lovers everywhere.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Perfect for any college bb fan. I was a kid when the game went down and have always wanted to learn more about the inside of the programs and that game. This book quenched that thirst Big Time! An all time favorite for sure.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book very much. The author did a great job of looking back at this unforelgetable game, the people involved, and the events that preceded and followed the game. It brought back a lot of memories while adding new information. I couldn't put it done.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
*In game play announcing* "Kentucky should force hill to the left side to get less better shooting range. There's the pass to laettner puts it up. YEAH OH MY GOD!"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SmithDoug More than 1 year ago
Solidly researched. Well-written with personal but not overtly biased style; the best part of this book is how compelling of a read it is despite the fact that the outcome is so well known. Worth the read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best bbbbbboooookkkk eeevvveeerrr
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dukewife More than 1 year ago
Ok, I'm a die-hard Duke fan, my husband was one of the original blue faced Cameron Crazies from 1982...but I have to say whether you hate or love Duke basketball this is an outstanding sports book about a once in a lifetime game. Duke was the perfect storm in 1992. They shut up the ever mouthy Kentucky obsessive fans and then simply outclassed the Michigan five (no way I'll call them fabulous). Wojciechowski writes with as much respect and passion for both KY and Duke programs. Players come alive and you can feel the excitement of each moment of the season and this game. It was a time that no longer exists in college basketball....now they play one then gone... The beauty of college basketball has certainly changed and not for the better. But Duke fans will always have those two back to back championship seasons and now have this book. Thanks for the memories of this wonderful game Mr. Wojciechowski!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book doe hard duke fan austin rivers now christi lattnear before duke all the way
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cool