×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Last Israelis: an Apocalyptic Military Thriller about an Israeli Submarine and a Nuclear Iran
     

The Last Israelis: an Apocalyptic Military Thriller about an Israeli Submarine and a Nuclear Iran

3.1 18
by Noah Beck
 

See All Formats & Editions

Apocalyptic military fiction with a powerful message. Iran has nukes. Israel's leader is hospitalized. History is now up to 35 Israelis. Ethnically diverse. Ideologically divided. On a nuclear-armed submarine.

*
• *

WHAT CRITICS SAY:

Gripping, chilling...brings to mind...Crimson Tide, The Hunt For Red October and U-571. You'll feel

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Last Israelis - an Apocalyptic, Military Thriller about an Israeli Submarine and a Nuclear Iran 3.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Poorly written. Awkward dialog. Could have been a good book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Timely, thought provoking. Not the best dialog but ok. Did have some unneeded offensive language which detracted. Do not agree with the author's basic premise that Israel can be annihilated, does not agree with Biblical prophecy, but they can and will be attacked.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A good plot but horribly written. Unfortunately this book is a first class bore.
friendship1 More than 1 year ago
I found the diversity of the characters interesting. Had never given serious thought to citizens of Israel having different views of how to handle the safety of their country. The overall view of complete devistation with the country's leader out of the country, in a coma and waking up at the book's end is a bit much. In fact, the entire ending is rather unbelievable.
Largo37 More than 1 year ago
Being a person who cares very much about Israel and wondering how it can continue to exist with so many surrounding countries wanting to "wipe it off the map", and knowing that these countries are trying to acquire nuclear weapons, this book brings out how the future might present itself. It definitely makes you think about how things are progressing in the Middle East.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great book but does get a bit lost in the characters opinions at times. However, it is very tuned into the current situation between the USA, IRAN and ISRAELIES.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book and i enjoyed the story even though i do not believe this will happen to Israel in the end-being a Christian I believe differently and I think God will protect Israel However, this fictional book IS a good warning for every country to consider the very dangerous regimes in the Mideast that want to destroy Israel!!! WAKE UP WORLD because nuclear weapons are either already in the hands of Islamic terrorists or soon to be in their hands and there is no love lost towards Israel AND towards the USA!! The fleshing out of the charecters was pretty good but stilted at times. I would like to see what a sequel could bring to this story because Jews have always fought back to continue their presence in the world community. There is always hope.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
agneshh61 More than 1 year ago
A highly-recommended, must-read book one hopes will stay a work of fiction. Buried amid all the seemingly urgent hyperbole of current events over the antics of ISIS, Hamas, and a myriad  other Islamic players and the reactions they illicit on the global stage; is the slow, persistent yet aggressive march  of IRAN towards realizing FULL NUCLEAR WEAPONS CAPABILITY. While the world’s media and general population are kept breathless and preoccupied by “always fresh” reports of  bombings and beheadings; IRAN has gradually recovered most of its money once held by sanctions. It has also  managed to delay nuclear disarmament talks repeatedly. The smokescreen is working! The Last Israelis by Noah Beck is a work of fiction but, as I monitor the simultaneous events spanning the globe,  it eerily edges closer to reality. In my youth I enjoyed and savored the science fiction, short stories of Ray Bradbury. Who would have known that  almost everything he wrote about would become so ubiquitous in our day, just a few decades on? I shudder to think that what Noah Beck wrote as a warning to our world leaders would go unheeded and we would  awake one day realizing it has become non-fiction. Noah Beck writes intuitively but with a firm grasp of current events and human nature. There are many lessons about choices and the far-reaching effects of the decisions we make today that we can  learn from The Last Israelis…time will be well served if we read it; if only to make sure that it does stay a work  of fiction.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought the read was great and gripping.  I would love to see a sequel to the book.   
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thank god I was given this book, or I would have been really upset for having paid real money for it. I only got through like 2 chapters before I threw it across the room. The characters were shallow,all the drivel about people's backgrounds was tiring, and some of the assumptions were terrifying in their lack of knowledge.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed reading this book.  It left me with a desire to research current events and look at  a complicated situation from numerous points of view.
bcass More than 1 year ago
I looked forward to this volume but found it somewhat amateurish and heavy with self-serving "news" releases from the past. The history chapters were tossed in with little regard for what was happening in the story plot. This is not a criticism, but the book seems written for 12 year old youngsters who were unaware of events in the Middle East since 1948. The story of the men on the sub and their torn loyalties as soldiers of Israel and world citizens is gripping. I did finish the book and had a generally good feeling about it. The author needs practice, practice, practice. I hope to see something from him in the future. There are far too few stories coming out of Israel. We need more.
getaway More than 1 year ago
A look at what could happen in the middle east in the real world. Well worth reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
90% of this book is how everyone recollects memories and history of Israel, and totally ridiculous the way they handle a crisis....really?! We're going to run a military submarine democratically? Lets vote to nuke Iran?...duh!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
`
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was supposed to be a book about submarines and missions, it is actually 2/3 geo political rantings about Israel, Iran and Middle East instability. It shouldn't even come up as a military genre.