×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Last Princess
     

The Last Princess

4.2 72
by Galaxy Craze
 

See All Formats & Editions

Happily ever after is a thing of the past.

A series of natural disasters has decimated the earth. Cut off from the rest of the world, England is a dark place. The sun rarely shines, food is scarce, and groups of criminals roam the woods, searching for prey. The people are growing restless.

When a ruthless revolutionary sets out to overthrow the crown, he makes

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Last Princess 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 72 reviews.
chapterxchapter More than 1 year ago
I fell in love with The Last Princess the moment I glimpsed the cover and the title of the novel. The title has this aura of mystery in it that had me begging to get started. Lucky for me, when I did begin reading The Last Princess, I immediately did not want to stop reading. It started with a fast pace prologue that introduces us to the darkness that has consumed our world in the future as well as the fact that in this future murders will occur. This is an evident fact when Princess Eliza’s mother is murdered in the prologue. Sure it was dark and grim, but I ate it right up and continued on with the novel. From that point on, I was sure that the opening chapter wouldn’t manage to top the awesome-sauce prologue… Boy was I wrong. Immediately after the first couple pages, we watch as Princess Eliza goes on a hunt to find her sickly younger brother, Jamie, and to prevent him from committing suicide. That opening chapter not only tugged on my heartstrings, but it had me falling in love with the story even more so. Death was a concept that was constantly used in the novel. People are dying of starvation and illness, and eventually people who supported the royal family are murdered as well. As the novel progressed, I have to admit that the story did not manage to lose my attention. At. All. Every single detail cannot be missed! Galaxy Craze wrote the story with so much beautiful detailing and thoughtfulness that you feel compelled to read more and I can assure you that you won’t want to miss a thing. Personally, one of my favorite scenes was during the Buckingham Palace overthrow, when the Tudor army murders the king and kidnaps Eliza’s family. From that moment on in the novel, the reader really gets to see that Eliza is a much stronger, smarter and braver character than we all assumed she was from the beginning. Especially when, to save her siblings, Eliza joins the Tudor army where we see just what Cornelius Holister plans on doing to the world to help “save” it. As a good quarter of the novel was spent from Eliza’s POV within the Tudor army, we were introduced to two new characters. One an antagonist: Portia. The other a love interest: Wesley. I found that the romance between Wesley and Eliza was adorable; it was cute and also dangerous. The only thing that I was cautious towards was my cut instinct on the fact that Wesley might not be exactly who he says he is…. I would recommend this book to (obviously) fans of dystopia and as well as people who enjoy the story of Anastasia because really, that’s what this story reminds me a lot of. I cannot wait for the sequel to the novel, especially since the novel ended on such a dramatic high note that tells us that Eliza’s story is far from over…
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read the preview and was very excited to buy the whole book when it came out, which I did. I had high expectations for this story as I enjoyed the preview. I was disappointed however by the general lack of character and story development. It is hard to have a full and engaging story with only 182 pages. I enjoyed the authors writing and wish I could of had more. This book should have been 4-5$ not $10. If you want a quick read I recommend this book, but if you are looking for a story to get lost in this is not the book for you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS BOOK!!! I got caught at least 4 times in school reading it. I couldn't  stop reading it. I can't wait to purchase the second one when it comes out in spring of 2013!!! :D Galaxy Craze does a fantastic job on setting the scene of what is happening. This book is full of suspense, a little bit of romance, and action. In my opinion it was one of the best books I have ever read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It wasn't really worth reading. The events were forced and the plot was terrible. Half the time I only continued reading to see if the book would get better. Not worth ten dollars. The only really good part was the story line. It was orignal and creative.
shae_carcar More than 1 year ago
Overall Thoughts: This was such an inspiring story about a courageous girl looking for revenge in a hopeless and bleak world! The Last Princess is about a sixteen year old girl named Princess Eliza who suddenly finds herself alone when everyone she loves is devastatingly ripped away from her by one man - Cornelius Hollister, who killed both her parents and captured her brother and sister. The world of London, England has seen better days especially because it's experiencing things like natural disasters, food scarcity, and revolutionary revolt groups. To Princess Eliza, these are the least of her problems because she plans on throwing away her crown and secretly joining the rebels in the hopes of gaining the upper advantage so she could avenge her family's downfall on the one man who is responsible for it all. But what happens when Princess Eliza falls irrevocably in love with his son... who has a little secret of his own. What I liked about this book: Princess Eliza! I loved that she starts out as a sweet and innocent girl who is used to everyone fighting her battles for her and by the end of the book she turns into this powerful, unyielding warrior. Also, I really adored the ending. It has the "happy every after" feeling to it that you'd expect from a story about a princess, with a world-stopping twist that would make any Dystopian novel proud! What I disliked about this book: Um... it ended? Verdict: This was such an empowering novel that will make you want to fist pump until you've finished it!
Icecream18JA More than 1 year ago
This book really reminded me of the Romanov's minus the complete death sentence. I loved how the author described the dystopian world, complete with evil murderers and a faction against the crown. Eliza is a princess in this torn apart world. Her family lives very grandly, but sometimes it seems like they may be ignoring what it going on right outside their front door. The prologue itself is enough to draw a reader in; the reader will have to know just what happened and why...but all will be revealed soon. Eliza was an interesting character. She felt dynamic to me, as if she actually matured during the course of the novel. She is brave and stubborn; she could be accused of being hard-headed at times. The other characters in the book have an impact on the plot, but not so much on the reader. The reader will probably only feel a true attachment to Eliza. The love interest is perfect and somewhat unexpected in this dystopian. The author does a good job of keeping the reader in the dark until the last possible moment. The plot was very fast-paced. The reader will have the opportunity to meet Eliza at a very young age and then meet her again later on. Eliza is constantly in motion, rarely stopping to think or plot. She keeps the reader very involved with her thoughts and worries. Overall, this book is a quick and exciting read, recommended to young adult/teen readers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
At a family cook out, my moms friend and I started a conversaion about reading and books. She leaves and then comes back with a book and gave it to me. I forgot about it for a little while. Later I started reading it. I could not put it down!! It was AMAZING!! Even seven months after reading it it continues to be my favorite book!! I read all the time and I think this is the best book I have read and will ever read!!! If you took the time to read this, PLEASE buy it!!!!!!!!!!!! It is one of those amazing things that nobody can completely explain....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This bookis worth the time and money. The wholestory leaves you on the edge of your seat! READ IT READ IT READ IT READ IT READ IT READ IT READ IT READ IT
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was left very dissapointed. There were many times that i had to put the book down and walk away because it was getting to the point that i no longer wanted to read it. I came in with such high expectations and finished the book wanting my $10 back. I do NOT recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So l read this book aboet a year ago and I have read it seven times. At first glance at the cover it looks like gooey lovey book but it really is about a girl who is known as princess eliza. After the sevebteen days her mother was murdered. Years later her family has the anual rose ball where her father is murdered by the sam man who killed her mom and has kidnapped her brother and sister eliza has a choice. Hide and hope to survive or set out on a quest to save her brother and sister and stop evil while discovering love. This story grabs you and doesn't let go. But in this case that is a good thing
MeeraKhaira20 More than 1 year ago
I LITERALLY READ THIS BOOK IN THREE DAYS!!! When I was walking down Barnes & Noble, I was looking in the Science Fiction area and saw The Last Princess. I decided to take it along with the other books I had. I started reading it and was suddenly hooked to it. I definitely recommend this book to ANY high-schooled or middle-schooled girl. 100% the best book I have ever read and touched.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really didn't like the book as much as i wanted too. The plot felt like it was rushed, interesting events where forced and characters popped in and out- i couldn't keep track. I found it hard to like the main character and i felt like she fell in "love" with Weasley in a short period of time. I didn't like her family as much as i should've and that made it hard for me to like the book even more because the whole thing was about saving them. Also i think that the random fast forwards a couple weeks into the future were annoying. And the whole rivalry between her and Portia was stupid and unexplained. Other than that the overall storyline was good, it had alot of action, and it was a fairly short read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was a bit wary when I first saw this book but I absolutly couldn't stop reading it when I got into it. I did buy the book, not the sample, so results for everyone else might vary. Overall this book is an exilerating adventure that is Sci-fi, Historical Fiction, and slightly romantic. I am not much of a fan of romance, but I still loved the book. And as many other reviews said, it is a Romeo and Juliet type of romance, well,(SPOILER) without them both dying in the end. A very great read, will recomend this book to anyone.
FireStarBooks More than 1 year ago
The plot just felt like a heart flatline and it totally needed resuscitation! At the beginning, I really didn't think the book had it. The writing is a little...ummm...not very good. By that I mean, it has a lot of conversation. The world building lacks quite a lot. I mean, it is a setting where world building is key, but Galaxy...well, not very well done. I constantly asked the question: how old are the girls? When I read the book, I felt like they are around 9. They felt kiddish. But as I read on, I started to enjoy the book more, and more. (Funny thing how this reminds me of my After the Snow by S. D. Crockett review, because I had the feelings when I was reading that this book was written from the same level author as S. D Crockett.) That said, I do enjoy I did like how Galaxy didn't go overly crazy about the palace; I always like imagining my own. Yes this sounds like a contradictory sentence comparing to my comment about the setting previously, but this is different. I needed more details about how the world is like, how the sceneries looked. I wasn't sure what to picture when Galaxy described this dystopia London. The setting felt very historic. If I didn't know better, I thought it was set in the 1600-1700. It takes me a moment to realize it is not in the 1600 when I read a "steel street sign". Oh! Right! Not a historical YA fiction...Oops? On to the character...Eliza reminded me of Carys in the Relic Master series by Catherine Fisher. So if Catherine wrote about how Carys became Carys, this book would be it. She was strong and smart. She was also in a...military like of squadron. But Eliza felt one dimensional. Portia is quite the character. I really wanted to punch her. I felt like even though we don't get much time with Portia than Eliza, I felt like Portia had more character. Great job Galaxy for conveying my emotions. :) And as for Wesley...oh Wesley. I just didn't feel my desire for him. I can see he must be a gorgeous guy, but his personality...didn't pull me to him. Guess it is because I don't feel like he is old enough. I personally like older men and with Eliza feeling like 9, Wesley felt like a 10 or 12 years old. Ew? Ha-ha, I did love how the horse was named Caligula! Wooot! Badass! And as for the plot...well...they were predictable. Remember? Resuscitation? Yeah, the plot definitely needed one. I totally saw the thing with Wesley happening and couldn't stop myself from screaming "I KNEW IT!". I did LOVE how short the chapters are. They are the perfect length. I really don't enjoy authors who writes a book with like 6 chapters in them. When I read, I read a small part at a time (since reading is my away-from-homework-break). So the short chapters allow me to "detach" with the book more. Futhermore, I did enjoy like the cover? :) The colours are beautiful and very quite different. I might sound super critical about this book, but I think it is readable. I guess it is easier to write about the flaws of a book than the virtues. There were amazing moments in the book that kept me up reading. This book definitely was good but it didn't have the spark or the shabam like some other books. It just felt more like a MG book instead of an YA. If it is a MG book, I think I would've rated higher based on the fact that it would be more accurate. And I do have my YA standards higher. :P
Anonymous 4 months ago
I wouldn't recommend this book to anyone.
Anonymous 4 months ago
Nice easy reading
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Story felt very rushed and not at all plausible. Characters were poorly developed and did little to add to the feel of the story. Felt like this could have been a good storyline with a little more work but definitely missed the mark. Almost didn't finish reading it and honestly skimmed the last half just to find out the ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.
Addicted_Readers More than 1 year ago
4 Stars THE LAST PRINCESS was a brilliant, and spellbinding adventure, that had murder, chaos, and destruction, all twisted around layers of hope, survival, and determination!! It was beautifully done, with addicting characters, and world building that kept me entertained for hours!! THE LAST PRINCESS was a highly entertaining story, with compelling characters, addicting world that was filled with dangerous situations, tragic events, a deadly dictator, and a forced army that was willing to do their dictators evil bidding's. I LOVED IT!!! BUT, as much as I loved it, I also had some issues with it. Manly that some of the events that unfolded were unrealistic and preposterous. But because of my love for this book, I overlooked them on mostly every occasion! THE PLOT... The world is full of destruction and ruins after Seventeen straight days of disasters brought a Country to it's knees. Only the lucky survived—the ones that were sheltered during the Seventeen days, the ones who are determined to survive. Now, six years later, England is still trying to pick up the pieces of those fateful days their world changed forever. England still remains in ruins, cut off from the rest of the world, unknown of what lies beyond their borders... REWIND SIX YEARS: After the Seventeen days of natural disasters, they royal family and their court rises from their underground sanctuary to find their Country in an uproar. Chaos, destruction and murder fill the streets of England. Hunger and lack of security remain instilled in the peoples hearts. And their are some who feel their are others better suited to wear the crown and rule all of England. Then, on a routine picnic with her youngest princess, the queen is assassinated—poisoned with child in her belly, forced to leave her sickly prince behind in a world where medicine and health care is a struggle, even for the royal family. FAST FORWARD SIX YEARS: After six years, the King of England still fights to regain control of his kingdom and subjects. With a kingdom on it's knees, and war on the horizon, and he's wife's murderer still free to wreck havoc and murder who he pleases, the king feels it's best to keep his two daughters and sickly son in a distant location, secluded from the outside world—shielded from the hard truths of what really lies outside of their save haven. But then all of the king's fears come true, as their is a new leader, Cornelius Hollister, the same man that murdered the queen, trying to rise up and take over England. His army, The New Guard, is gearing up for war, determined to kill off the remaining Royal line, and become crowned as the new King of England. He is terrorizing the already broken people that remain from the Seventeen days, raiding houses and forcing them with force to join his army and fight for him, or be forced to work in the Death Camps where they will be forced to dig their own graves. And then there are the roamers, the ones that roam the Country, hiding from the New Guard while killing what they can, either human or animal, whatever they can find to fill their bellies. When all seems like it couldn't get worse, the same day both the princesses and the young prince come back to England to join the Roses Ball, The New Guard storms the caste and the King of England is murdered by Cornelius Hollister in front of his daughters and loyal subjects. Then while trying to escape, the eldest daughter Mary, now the queen of England, and the young prince Jamie are captured and taken by The New Guard to await their horrific fates. But the youngest daughter, princess Eliza barley manages to escape the same fate as her siblings. And now, she is England's last hope of survival... Now, Princess Eliza is the last free Royal standing, and she plans to fight until her death. She plots to free her sister and brother from the clutches of her parents murderer, and make him suffer for all the pain he inflicted upon her and her family, but also their Country. But as adrenaline fades, and clarity sinks in, she realizes that she is only one person verses Hollister's thousands. How could she possible fight them odds and take down the man who has conquered England with an iron fist? All she has is limited weaponry and fighting skill, and her wits, but how far would that really take her before she is killed and her Country left in the hands of a sadistic killer?? But their is one thing that she has that Hollister doesn't: A pure hatred and determination to destroy the man that has taken everything she loves from her. The Last Princess will rise, and take back what was taken from her, or die trying... That is when Eliza decides the best way to take down the man that's taken everything from her is to infiltrate his army, and work from the inside out. But how could she possible go against thousands? Then she meets Wesley, the same guard who let her escape the night her kingdom was overthrown, and they join forces. Now Eliza isn't as alone as she thought, and she is ready to play Hollister's game, and willing to do anything in order to save the people and kingdom she loves, even if she has to die for it... Doesn't that sound like such a great book?? It was. But like I mentioned above, as much as I enjoyed THE LAST PRINCESS, it had it's flaws. On one hand, I REALLY enjoyed it, but on the other, it had many aspects that were unbelievable, and hard to swallow. But since I really enjoyed the actual story and the plot and characters, I was able to look past them almost every time they would arise, and see through to the actual meaning. So overall, I HIGHLY enjoyed THE LAST PRINCESS, and would definitely recommend it if you enjoy apocalyptic/dystopian type books, with a shattered kingdom on it's knees in the break of war!! I can't WAIT for the next book, INVASION to release in 2015!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the book, had so many suprises in it leaving me almost screaming in tue middle of class mostly because my friend made me think the oppisite, BUT i do reccomend this book, it is AWESOME
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. I liked how there was a lot of mystery in what would happen next. Read in one day. I want book 2!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
8.99 at B&N. But is a really great book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put it down!
Books4Tomorrow More than 1 year ago
I’m tired of dystopian novels but it seems I went through a phase where I accumulated post-apocalyptic books like nobody’s business, and now I’m stuck with it and have to read them all. Luckily for me this turned out to be a surprisingly good book. The Characters: I didn’t really connect with any of the characters, because there wasn’t much opportunity to really get to know any of them, other than making the distinction of which characters fought on which side of the battle lines. The good guys were really good and the bad guys were caricatures of the evil villains we find in every other movie. But, I really liked Eliza and her siblings, Mary and Jamie. What I didn’t like is that it’s never explained why the bad guy has it in for the royals. Yes, he offered a flimsy excuse to Eliza of his motives, but once it is proven later in the story that that isn’t the real reason why Cornelius wants to be king, no other explanation was ever offered to satisfy my curiosity. The Setting: This is the first dystopian novel ever I’ve read which takes place in England and Scotland respectively. That is one of the main reasons I enjoyed it so much. For some reason this author managed to do something no other author whose dystopian novel I’ve read this far, managed to do. Craze made this English dystopian setting feel realistic and possible. For a welcome change the world didn’t end by some unexplainable virus, plague or war. Though the Seventeen Days natural disasters felt a little over the top, I rather appreciated this ending to the world, to the usual.  The Plot: The reason I don’t give it a solid five-star rating is because of three reasons. First, before reading this book, throw all logic out of the window. If you, like me, are going to ask questions about elements and happenings in Eliza’s world, you’re not going to enjoy this post-apocalyptic novel. Don’t expect things to make logical sense. Secondly, the “twists” and “reveals” can be spotted a mile away. Well, I saw it coming a mile away. That predictability sort of dampened my enjoyment of this original tale just a tiny bit. Lastly, a lot of the scenes – especially the execution scene – felt a little rushed. I don’t know if there is a sequel in the works, but I for one would like to know what happened to Portia and her two sidekicks, and to Vashti. I’m definitely not on the series bandwagon, but I have to admit that because the story is rushed in so many places and some parts of it are mostly skimmed over, this would’ve actually worked better as, at the very least, a trilogy.  The Romance: This is not a book I’d recommend to readers looking for swoony romance. I was more than happy to find that the romance in this story was so miniscule, it’s hardly worth mentioning. It was used more as a plot device to get Eliza out of sticky situations, than to move the plot along. Needless to say, I was overjoyed to read a book where the romance was pretty much non-existent (which just proves my point that a book can work very well with little to no romance in it).  Conclusion: Compared to a multitude of dystopian novels, The Last Princess offers the reader something different. I’m always complaining that dystopian novels are all the same, but I was delighted to find that this quick read – which I finished in a couple of hours – had elements I haven’t come across in other dystopian novels. I highly recommend it to fans of the dystopian genre looking for something slightly different, and to those who like their heroine to kick butt and rise as the justly deserving victor after she has been put through hell.