×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Last Summer of the Camperdowns: A Novel
     

The Last Summer of the Camperdowns: A Novel

4.1 19
by Elizabeth Kelly
 

See All Formats & Editions

“A witty, suspenseful tale of murder, marital conflict and agonizing secrets. . . . The exuberant story is transporting and delicious, a worthy summer read.”—PeopleThe Last Summer of the Camperdowns, from the best-selling author of Apologize, Apologize!, introduces Riddle James Camperdown, the twelve-year-old daughter of the idealistic Camp and his

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Last Summer of the Camperdowns: A Novel 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. It is narrated by an adult lady reflecting on the summer she was 12 years old. At times the book loses its flow, but it quickly recovers each time. Overall I really enjoyed this book and recommend it. The author, Elizabeth Kelly, is a very good writer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A very good novel about the problems of the uber rich.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I truly enjoyed this book about the short comings and preoccupations of the wealthy. Having it narrated by the adult version of Riddle makes it very interesting. The author has a certain dry wit that keeps the novel moving.
anniemichelle More than 1 year ago
If I did half star reviews this book would get 2 1/2 stars... I found this a little hard to get into.. I guess maybe it was the writing style or maybe the characters or maybe just me. I did however love the name of the main character…12 year old Riddle James Camperdown, called Jimmy by her dad. And named after Jimmy Hoffa, quite the name for a little girl to tote around. The story takes place in 1972 on Cape Cod with Riddle and her self centered and caustic parents, the mother Greer who I must say I did somewhat enjoy her dry, nasty wit and her loud overbearing father who is running for office but, most of the time I just felt sorry for 12 year old Riddle. Riddle witnesses a crime in her neighbors barn and her inability to do or say anything about it is what keeps the story moving along even if it is rather slowly… Everyone has secrets in this book and they are all hiding or keeping them for or from someone else, and this can have interesting and devastating consequences for everyone involved. all in all it is a good, if somewhat slow read
Mam3 More than 1 year ago
Great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had seen some great reviews of this book and I thought it was just another beach read. However, it was so much more. Couldn't forget it after I finished it. Go and buy this one now!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Every sentence has a comparison.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a great Read with twist at the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
anonomas More than 1 year ago
Good summer read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Besides the twist at the end, this novel was rather boring and slow. I did like the main character/narrator and the author's style, though.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a bore! Don't bother.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gxhhjgffdgxxvvjmfhchrcufssvghgxyhiiyxdhhcdcvbmhvtycdexh Rfdxrfdcchchrsfdtezsxtezstdydtdhfdgfffdyxfggxgxxxtrsxgxdxhdyxxygdfdrdfxgfxdvxfrydryrxrjjjjccjjjyjyjjjyjyjxrgxdyrxcjcrccjjhhmxcrydryjjyddjdynryxxgfryccyddfdgffgbgxbxgcryddgfbddrcgfgdhfftyfhutttfrderctfggbuubbyyvvddggxfxxbbbxxbbxcfxgfccrxxfcbgtrxcfgfgxgdsdxggrxrcrthdbbcdgfxdyygcastyvgttedttvuyhhbrtxyhhvrtxeerfyvgyhbgguububbg gr Fvugvdasxsrvyygswffgcbyuubfzcvvdgvfxgdgvccfrxrbvvbfdfnvc c cbccffbvcddgvbdxfgdhdfcbcvvbcbcgdhfbfgdyfghfvb bdgdhfbvcdhbcdhdrffbfhhdyryfcbnhvbcddddrdtcfbvcbfgxrdydtfhfbcftcrxtffxgcgdxxfgxdxdddgxxcgfxbxbxbcxxxbcgdcdxbxbcxbgfdgxrryfbcbxgfgdgdcbcgrhvbcbcdtrtdhdhbfcbcbdgrgdgstsedrdvvvggumhbmvgchutftfddzfzfaraasrsssazeetrgdgfdddrrcfbbcdrddgcbchtdrdrdgcbddsasdhvhtudrsectcyxexyzevyvxe gcrcyvtfvvydewestfecrvf Bvvysrervygfxwecx Qhdufjgchvvfhccfjjxfcjyvfhfxcjvjterfycvjyvgtcygd ihgfh,cgyvbuhgygvucggcuvjv