×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Legend of Bagger Vance: A Novel of Golf and the Game of Life
     

The Legend of Bagger Vance: A Novel of Golf and the Game of Life

4.4 35
by Steven Pressfield
 

See All Formats & Editions

In the Depression year of 1931, on the golf links at Krewe Island off Savannah's windswept shore, two legends of the game—Bobby Jones and Walter Hagen—meet for a mesmerizing thirty-six-hole showdown. Another golfer will also compete—a troubled local war hero, once a champion, who comes with his mentor and caddie, the mysterious Bagger Vance.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Legend of Bagger Vance: A Novel of Golf and the Game of Life 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 35 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book lived up to its positive reviews, and then more. The movie was good, but the book delivers so much more. It's not about just the game of golf...but about life and the art of living it to your fullest potential. It is one I will re-read.
UglyPar More than 1 year ago
Upon finishing this book I immediately returned to the first page and began reading it again. When reading, it is a good idea to keep a pencil handy for marking many of the dialogs and passages for future reflection. It is a shame "The Field" was not explained in the movie because it is so important.This omission diminishes much of the cohesion and texture of the story. Unless simply an error, I do not understand why "Junah" is the book's spelling and "Junuh" is the movie's spelling. The movie's Junuh spelling is seen only once when the scoreboard is shown. Surely, I cannot be the only one that noticed that. The movie's ending was poor and should have contained the same much better ending from the book. Anyone who only saw the movie should be strongly encouraged to read the book to truly understand this wonderful story. When others tell me they are just not "readers" I tell them to make an exception for this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I don't play the game but I really enjoyed the story.Well written.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
likesgoodbooks More than 1 year ago
The Gita translated to a golf game... the story is excellent and if you want to dig deeper it is there as well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ctnewyorker More than 1 year ago
It's beautifully written, with an easy, relaxed narrative style you can sink right into. Story-telling at its best. Life lessons galore, naturally developed and completely accessible without being hit over the head. It's a quick, beautiful read that will leave you feeling better about life, yourself and humanity in general.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
L.M._Elm More than 1 year ago
Pressfield hits a hole in one with his tale of three lost souls and how a mysterious caddy helps them find their perfect swings. Recommended even to those who don't enjoy the sport.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cullen More than 1 year ago
The Legend of Bagger Vance by Steven Pressfield was the best golf book I have ever read and also one of the best books I have ever read period. The book was a great mix between the game of golf itself and the idea of the gods involved in the game. Bagger Vance is a golf god in this book and he is caddying for Rannulph Junah in a match between Walter Hagen and Bobby Jones, two of the greatest golfers of all time. They played an exhibition match at Krewe Island golf club in Savannah Georgia. The winner gets 10,000 dollars. That was an incredible amount of money especially since America was in the great depression at the time. The whole match is great because Junah is playing really good but he must overcome bad memories from when he fought in World War one. This book was great and I would definitely recommend it to all golf fans out there.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A thought-provoking story of golf and life, one likely to make you enjoy both better. The film was great, but the book is even more rich and insightful. A good read!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was a bit skeptical because the movie is among one of my favorites. But for those who have seen the movie and are trying to decide wether to read the book, buy it and read it. The book is barely comparable to the movie in my opinion. It is by far much better. It introduces us to things that Redford missed when making the movie which I feel would've made it even better. This is a wonderful book.