×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Lie: A Novel
  • Alternative view 1 of The Lie: A Novel
  • Alternative view 2 of The Lie: A Novel
     

The Lie: A Novel

3.8 35
by Chad Kultgen
 

See All Formats & Editions

With the publication of The Average American Male — and the release of the shocking viral videos that made it a water-cooler sensation — Chad Kultgen became one of the most talked-about authors of recent years. Now, with The Lie, Kultgen returns with an even more salacious — yet also more searching — novel that reaches deeper into

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Lie 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 35 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was seriously amazing. The characters were so well developed, their flaws brought so perfectly to the surface. I was constantly amazed at how stupid Kyle could be to keep wanting Heather; disgusted by how manipulative and selfish Heather could be. Brett was honestly a huge jerk from the start, and his behavior was both shocking and completely amusing at the same time. The ending is a twist I definitely didn't expect, and I was thinking about it for days after reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Never before have I been on such a roller coaster of where I went back and forth hating a book and finding it intriguing. Bravo to Chad for getting me so emotionally invested in one book. Upon finishing the book, I can see why people absolutely hate it and are quick to call it trash. I, myself, still think parts of it are literal trash but I'll spare the disgusting details for the faint of heart but hear me out. This book really does go a lot deeper than just crude sexual acts, drinking, drugs and partying. It takes a hard and very blunt look into the human behavior that is very well in existence in this world and Chad holds nothing back. You have Brett who is your typical rich, frat guy. For some unknown reason (at least I didn't pick up on it) despises women and think they're nothing but of good use for sex and to then be discarded. Perhaps of his wealth and the fact that women flock to him for no other reason might be the reason he hates them so much. You then have Heather who is a narcissist and is willing to do anything and everything for the validation of her peers. Her and Kyle meet, they hit it off because Heather is really only interested in using him to get to Brett. They end up having a 3 year on and off again relationship, breaking up a total amount of 2 times. I won't go into too much detail and spoil the book but after the second time of getting dumped by Heather, we see Kyle get Brett involved in a prank at an attempt to get revenge that ultimately goes very, very wrong for both Kyle and Brett. What's intriguing is, at least what I think, Chad's way of poking fun at humans and their obsession with revenge. Is revenge really so worth it that we're willing to risk it coming back at us full circle? Wouldn't it just make more sense to leave someone alone after being deceived by them multiple times? Who is to say that revenge actually brings any sort of closure anyway? I can completely understand the disgust readers have with this book but I don't think the characters were ever intended to be likable anyway.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome, awesome book! I couldn't put it down until the very end! And my mind was COMPLETELY BLOWN!! Throughout the whole book I couldn't imagine what had happened that was supposedly so 'terrible' to the characters, and I had never in a million years imagined what unfolded in the end. It is definitely not a book for the faint of heart as it is filled with more profanity and disgusting sexual acts than I could even imagine, much less describe, but I think that is what I loved about it the most. It was so raw and just open that it made me feel that much closer to the characters. This was my first Chad Kultgen book, and I will definitely be going back for the rest of his works. I just hope that they are at least close to as good as this one was!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Distgusting book and it takes alot for me to say that. Please dont waste your time reading this trash of a book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There is nothing better than finding a new author thats writing is thoroughly enjouable. After the first twenty pages, there was no putting this boor down. The story and caracters are all well developed. And of course, the college life is right on the money,from greek life, dorm like andd expectations. However, this book may come off as offensive to some. To me, it is a purely enjoyable work off fiction with some twists along the way. It comes with the perspective of the shy academic type, the shallow sorority girl and the rich frat guy. I will be looking out for more of this author's work in the future!
meshell26 More than 1 year ago
Wow!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you're looking for a book with pure entertainment value, then look no further. If you are easily offended however, stay far, far away. This book holds nothing back as it details the protagonist's transformation from a hopeless romantic into a misogynistic pig thanks to the emotional roller coaster that is his three year college romance. Cringe-worthy yet impossible to put down, this book is a highly recommended, thoroughly entertaining journey into the mind of three uniquely twisted college students.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Will Gardella More than 1 year ago
much better developed than his earlier 'average american male', The Lie is the story of three friends whose lives are inextricably intertwined. Admittedly vulgar, though i found the vulgarity added great value and humor. Told through alternating first person accounts from the three main characters. Its a shame that a lot of what is embellished here about college life is in fact not far off base. Brings clarity to the mantras: no girl is important enough to ruin a friendship over; and most importantly, Hell hath no fury like (even a vapid) a woman scorned... Fun read. I will never send my daughter to a college with greek life after reading this book...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amanda Pennington More than 1 year ago
His second book is awesome! I love it! Cant wait till he comes out with another. If you love Average American Male, then you'll def. love The Lie.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
daredog More than 1 year ago
Loved it. Read the book in two days. Now to go find a used copy of his first book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
jacmartol More than 1 year ago
Caution: Some profanity in review. The book is told from three points of view. Kyle, Heather, and Brett. Kyle is our protaganist. He is inlove with Heather. Heather is a slut, and Brett is Kyle's rich best friend. I found Kyle to be annoying and needy for a guy, Heather your typical college sorority girl, and Brett is the typical rich douche, but he's my favorite character of the book. I think the shenanigans they get themselves into are pretty ridiculous. I didn't find the book laugh out loud funny, but it is entertaining. Guys would like this book. The ending is a good twist, which is why I think it would make an awesome movie. In the end, everyone gets what they deserve, sort of.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago