×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Lost Goddess: A Novel
     

The Lost Goddess: A Novel

2.3 13
by Tom Knox
 

See All Formats & Editions

“A globetrotting adventure with shades of Dan Brown and Indiana Jones.” —Suspense Magazine

In the silent caves of deepest France, young archaeologist Julia Kerrigan unearths an ancient skull with a hole bored through the forehead. Shortly after, her mentor is brutally murdered—by a seemingly supernatural killer. Meanwhile, in the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Lost Goddess: A Novel 2.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Knox takes the rich vein of 70's marxists and the Khmer Rouge and cranks out a trite, predictable pot boiler with " twists" at the end that will make you want to chuck the book against the nearest wall.
rhonda1111RL More than 1 year ago
Review: The Lost Goddess by Tom Knox 4 STARS I have mixed views on this book. Their is a lot of history in here that I really did not know about. All the violence of the past is painful, scary and the numbers are hard to believe. But if we do not learn from the past we will repeat it. The mystery and suspense some of it or a lot of the science bits I did not totally understand and I really hope that part if pure fiction but know some is probably true. Their are two parts of the story and how they switched threw me some and had to realize that they had switched again. Julia was a archaeolgist working in a cave underground in France at the begining. I liked her but wanted more emotion from her. I felt a little detached from her. She was trying to put the pieces together and came up with a theory. Jake was a photographer who was working on photos for a coffee book when he wanted to find out more of what was happened in the past That Chemda was trying to uncover in Cambodia. So Jake went with her to the Plain of Jars and their escape to figure out the past and stay alive began. I had a hard time caring about Jake and Chemda I don't know if it was I could not totally escape into the book or if just a bad day for me to connect. I am thinking it was because I was more concerned about the real victims in the history of the region that I could not enjoy the book more. I know that I want to know more of the region history and have already looked up and read more about the Plain of Jars. The history and the discriptions of the region were real and I could envision it. 02/02/2012 PUB Penguin Group, USA
colo48 More than 1 year ago
Although the author mixes the real historical details of Cambodia and archeology, and knows his technical information, the plot is so unbelievable, its hard to swallow. Almost have to read it like science fiction. The story finally became so outlandish, I simply couldn't finish the book. Totally beyond any resemblance of plausibility. Waste of time.
Beauty_in_Ruins More than 1 year ago
The Lost Goddess starts out interestingly enough, with an archaeological discovery in a French cave, followed by a mysterious assault in the dying artificial light deep underground. For me, that opening scene was the highlight of the novel, which is a definite problem - that level of tension and suspense is simply never recaptured anywhere else within the story. A lot of the action seemed to be mere padding, such as the extended tangent of police chases and family squabbles that nearly brought the middle of the book to a halt. What I had hoped would be a fun archaeological adventure (akin to Matthew Reilly), though, and was even willing to accept as yet another pale imitation of Dan Brown, simply got bogged down by way more religious fanaticism and politics than I cared to wade through. Where it completely lost my interest was with its heavy-handed approach in equating 'faith' with all that is good and pure in the world, and 'atheism' with all that is evil and cruel. There is actually a line towards the end of the novel where one of the characters calls atheism "a form of dementia . . . a mental illness." It's a shame, because the Hands of Gargas and the Plain of Jars are definitely unique MacGuffins to explore, and there are hints of competent writing here. If only the the history hadn't been wasted in info-dumps, and then overshadowed by the social/political commentary and religious fanaticism, it could have been an average thriller. All-in-all, a rather disappointing read, and an author I certainly don't care to revisit.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The worse novel I have ever read. This book was so boring it took me a month to get through it. The characters would have to be superheroes to get out of all the trouble they found themselves in, and they must have had millions of dollars to be able to travel all over the world to get into more boring trouble.
YonkoJB More than 1 year ago
BEWARE of this book,,,,,it's the same book as Bible of the Dead by Tom Knox -- just a new title and a little editing!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While not my favorite book by Tom Knox, I don't share the harsh opinion of other readers. The link of several often obscure real elements into one narrative is certainly strained and far-fetched at times, and it!s sometimes hard to believe that these characters could survive all their adventures. Also, this author is not for readers who are squeamish. However, I always find his work interesting and his descriptions compelling enough that I think about the places and ideas presented long after I finish the books. Bible of the Dead is a much better title than The Lost Goddess.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Irish60 More than 1 year ago
While the story line was interesting, the writing style was so awful that I was angry to have wasted my money on it. I was caught up in at first, but I kept wondering how this hack ever got to publish a number of books. I just couldn't force myself to get through the last quarter of the book.