×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Lost Ones (Quinn Colson Series #2)
     

The Lost Ones (Quinn Colson Series #2)

3.9 15
by Ace Atkins
 

See All Formats & Editions

Fans of Justified and James Lee Burke will love Mississippi lawman Quinn Colson in this Edgar(R) Award Nominee for Best Novel from the author of The Ranger...

When Army Ranger Quinn Colson, the new sheriff of Tibbehah County, is called out to investigate a child abuse case, what he finds is a horrifying scene of neglect,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Lost Ones 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Twink More than 1 year ago
I first 'discovered' Ace Atkins with last year's release of The Ranger - the first book featuring Quinn Colson. I loved it and have been eagerly awaiting the next in this series. The Lost Ones is newly released and is just as good (or better) as the first one! After ten years as an Army Ranger, Quinn Colson returned to his home town of Jericho in Tibbehah County, Mississippi. He's now the new sheriff in town. When a local doctor calls him about a child brought in with a head injury, Quinn and his chief deputy Lillie Virgil head out to investigate. What they find is an empty, filthy house. It looks like the residents were running a puppy mill...and a baby trafficking outfit. Donnie Varner, an old friend of Quinn, is doing his own trafficking as well - in guns. As Quinn and Lillie investigate, it looks like the two cases might have something - or someone - in common. Atkins draws his characters so well. I have a firm picture in my mind of Quinn - a tough, loyal, cagey lawman who knows his county well. And umm, did I mention he's kind of (okay a lot) sexy too. Kind of that holdin' out for a hero vibe. Lillie is firmly planted in my mind as well - she's a female version of Quinn, although we see some vulnerability this time round. We also get to know some of Quinn's back story with flashbacks to his younger days with his sister Caddy. The supporting cast is equally well drawn, with one-armed Boom standing out for me. In fact I found myself rooting for one of the 'bad guys', hoping he would get a break. The dialogue really fleshs out the mental pictures I've created. A lot of it is short and snappy, and quite humourous at times. Anything more involved would detract from the atmosphere Atkins has created. The setting is just as much of a character. Stark and gritty, Atkins brings to life a county beset by poverty, abuse and corruption. The plotting is excellent, zigging just when I thought it would zag. Lots and lots of action, kept me frantically turning pages until I finished the book far too quickly. So pull up a rocker, grab a glass of sweet tea, put your feet up on the railing and be prepared to set a spell. It's a hell of a read - one you won't want to put down. Fans of television's Justified and Raylan Givens would enjoy this character, as would Jack Reacher fans.
Man_Of_La_Book_Dot_Com More than 1 year ago
The Lost Ones by Ace Atkins is a novel tak­ing place in the fic­tional Tibbe­hah County, Mis­sis­sippi. This is the sec­ond bookin “The Ranger” series, which was also the name of the first book. Quinn Colo­son resigned from the Army Rangers to become Sher­iff of Tibbe­hah County, Mis­sis­sippi, his uncle’s old job. A Mex­i­can car­tel is seemed to be get­ting guns from a gun store his friend owns and at the same time an abused child case sends the sher­iff and his deputy to dis­cover a child boot­leg ring. The Lost Ones by Ace Atkins returns famil­iar and new char­ac­ters in the series. Quinn Col­son, a for­mer Army Ranger, his fam­ily, friends and neme­sis. Ace Atkins, in my opin­ion, is one of the best and active Amer­i­cana writ­ers. I have read sev­eral of his his­tor­i­cal fic­tion books (many set in the 1920s) and enjoyed them tremen­dously. Mr. Atkins’ foray into fic­tion proved to me that he is a capa­ble writer and is here for the long haul. The author has an uncanny abil­ity to paint a pic­ture with few words. It’s amaz­ing that he describes a scene or a per­son with just the right amount of ver­biage let­ting the reader do most of the work accord­ing to their understanding. Atkins draws county where “new in town” means you’ve been there for only ten years, Sonic is the go to place to get a meal and you still think of girls you knew with their maiden name attached. There is a lot going on in this book, Mex­i­can drug gangs, child abuse, baby rack­e­teer­ing, fam­ily drama and small town cor­rup­tion yet the book moves along slowly, well paced let­ting the reader take in the mul­ti­ple sto­ry­lines as if strolling in the park on a lazy sum­mer day. The char­ac­ter of Quinn Col­son is bound to become a phe­nom­ena in pop-culture much like Jack Reacher or Cot­ton Mal­one. I can see a fan based built around this char­ac­ter who is a peace­ful war­rior who has many issues most of us have. Mex­i­can drug gangs are just as big an issue as a dis­turbed sis­ter or an Army buddy who needs a job. That is how life is, there are no small prob­lems – it’s all personal. While I never vis­ited the Deep South, this novel was still a plea­sure to read. Mr. Atkins has a way of por­tray­ing his char­ac­ters in a believ­able, mov­ing man­ner. The sto­ries take on a life of their own with the excel­lent dia­log and char­ac­ters’ moti­va­tions while the sus­pense and implied vio­lence kept me at the edge of my seat.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good read.
akrosie More than 1 year ago
I totally wasted my money on this book. The plot was good but the language and innuendo's were over the top. I read halfway through the book and put it down. Such a disappointment!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had to put this book down after about 75 pages. I really had no attachment to any of the characters and the plot moved too slowly--probably gave it more time than it deserved.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great small town Southern setting and characters - a good read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hello. Can I help.