×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Martian
     

The Martian

4.5 734
by Andy Weir
 

See All Formats & Editions

Six days ago, astronaut Mark Watney became one of the first people to walk on Mars.

Now, he's sure he'll be the first person to die there.

After a dust storm nearly kills him and forces his crew to evacuate while thinking him dead, Mark finds himself stranded and completely alone with no way to even signal Earth that he’s alive—and even if he could

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Martian 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 734 reviews.
Karen_Benson More than 1 year ago
First, a big thank you to NetGalley for sending me an eARC of this book. The Martian is described as Apollo 13 meets Castaway. I had the honor of meeting Astronaut Jim Lovell, have a signed copy of his book about the Apollo 13 mission (which I've read 3 times) and I loved Castaway! And... One of my mild obsessions is Mars! I want to go to Mars. I talk to my grandkids about how they need to be astronauts when they grow up so THEY can go to Mars. When I read the description of The Martian, the science geek in me that loves reading and/or watching everything I can about the Apollo program,and who loves Mars... well, you can say I got just a tad bit excited. Alright, maybe more than a tad bit. And then I settled in to read. Wow!! Amazing, amazing read. It's completely believable and in my mind I was right there with Mark Watney as he solved one disastrous problem after another after another. This book was written so I was never bored with the science whatsoever, even though a lot of it was way over my head. Astronaut Mark Watney is a cheeky, oftentimes, hilarious botanist/engineer with a lot of McGuyver ingenuity. I seriously had a hard time putting this book down and even though it's been several days, I still cannot stop thinking about this book. Author Andy Weir has really crafted a well thought out, exciting thriller of a story which includes all the science of NASA and space travel. I couldn't get enough and sure hope he continues writing in this genre. I will definately be first in line to pick up his future books!! Well done, Mr. Weir!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was the best, most exciting book I have read in a long time. The engaging character of Mark Watney makes the book. Readers who are not normally Science Fiction buffs will still enjoy this book immensely.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a 65 year old grandma. I love science fiction.  When they start selling tickets to the moon or Mars I'll be the first in line. I loved this book. Held my interest the whole way. I read it in a day & a half. I might it again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gravity meets Castaway. Funny, exciting, and a little bit nerdy, this book is a real page turner. Well paced and cleverly written, I found myself cheering for Watney. I have no doubts this will become a movie because it is almost tailor made for Hollywood.
Sheri333 More than 1 year ago
I didn't think I would like this book at first especially the way it was written but found it hard to put down until I finished reading it and then I wasn't ready for it to be over!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the book.  I am not a techie and there is a lot of technical concepts and hardware in the book.   Regardless, the book held my interest to the point that  did not want to put it down.. Great read.  
Scott_Kennedy More than 1 year ago
Highly readable as a sort of extended McGyver episode. While I found the characterization of this book weak and the narrator at times annoying, I still found it compulsively readable as a detailed "What if" scenario. It takes being stranded seriously, and applies the science of the situation rigorously. And science is really what makes this book stand out. It can make you love science again, for at its most basic it is applied ingenuity, and this book is full of that. The main character here really isn't Mark Whatney, stranded astronaut. The main character is science. I would give the book a much higher rating if it weren't for the first person Mark Whatney sections, where I think the writer's inexperience shows. The tone of voice there as narrated by Whatney seem much more filled with the writer's enthusiasm for his ideas than the astronaut's. I just never bought the astronaut's tone of voice, which remained unchanging throughout his long ordeal. I actually think the whole book would have been stronger in third person voice, because I often found myself wondering why Whatney would be writing in this way. However, I gladly overlooked all that in order to experience a relatively realistic space scenario, that replaces standard action movie clichés with the rigorous safety protocols a trained engineer would use in such a situation. As a licensed scuba diver and the son of a pilot, the constant safety steps really rang true to me. And if you've got a kid anywhere near you at all interested in science, please do give them a copy of this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A wholy entertaining work. A lot of technical enginerring and chemistry (l've no idea if most is real) but the author makes it exciting.and.a lot of fun to read! Wish I had had professors in college that had made that stuff as fun! Bottom line - a terrific read!
lovelybookshelf More than 1 year ago
Believing he is dead, Mark Watney's crew leaves him behind as they are forced to make an emergency evacuation. But Watney survives, and finds he is completely alone and stranded... on Mars. The Martian details his determination to beat impossible odds and attempt to survive. Watney makes MacGyver's ingenuity seem like child's play, and Tom Hanks's situation in Castaway feel like a dream vacation. Andy Weir knows how to write for the layperson and gives his main character a wonderfully quirky sense of humor (Watney calls his habitat "Little HAB on the Prairie" hahaha). Scientific and technical details are never tedious. There was not one moment I felt bogged down; in fact, I was completely absorbed, flipping page after page, devouring the story on the edge of my seat. I felt like I was reading a movie! Once in a while, the humor and informal tone got a bit too silly, reminding me of Red Dwarf (which admittedly, is awesome in its own way). But you know, I can live with that, because The Martian is exactly how I like my sci-fi: plenty of science, technically satisfying without being stodgy, entertaining, and not without humor. Loved this one. I can't wait to read more by Andy Weir. I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Quite honestly, this has probably been one of the best books I've read in a VERY long time. I couldn't put this one down! It had me on the edge of my seat and rooting for the main character every step of the way. There were even times in the book that I actually starting sweating because I was so nervous for him! You felt all of his frustrations and experienced every triumph right along with him. The main character, Mark Watney, has a very dry sarcastic sense of humor that I loved.  It really breaks up the tension in the book and makes you relate to the character more.  I will warn you that there is a bit of profanity in the book, if you are sensitive to that kind of thing. I have been recommending this book to everyone I know....including my husband! haha! He's started reading it and is hooked now too. Definitely a must read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A very captivating and hilarious novel. The author was able to give the reader a glimpse into the mind of a stranded smart-ass who, at the end of the day, is just trying to get home alive
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! The author makes the science so readable and interesting. The pacing and problems the main character had to continually face reminded me of John Grisham's "The Firm." Science fiction fan or not, this book will keep you reading long into the night. James H.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Don't give up. Science can be very useful. When your whole world falls apart, comedy helps. Never quit. There are always alternatives. Keep on trucking. Just when things are at their worst, the real trouble begins. Laugh, and don't give up.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fun to read, even with all the math. Now I can't wait for the movie. I hope they don't screw it up.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the best science fiction book I have read since running out of Heinlein and Asimov years ago. Thanks, Andy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Looking for more books by this author. This one actually made me chuckle audibly a few times.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written! Felt as if I was actually there. More more!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Should the scientific minds of this time have the capability to send manned missions to Mars, this is how it could be done. The storyline is compelling, the science seems plausible & the characters embody the qualities one would expect from space explorers...calm under pressure, ingenuity, great intelligence & the drive to succeed or die trying. A great read for anyone who has an interest in space. If handled well this will be a good film.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Initially I thought of the old movie, Robinson Caruso on Mars. Obviously this is much more serious and thrilling. I think there were maybe a few too many issues that Whatney had to deal with, as you kept thinking, OK what is going to happen next. If you think about it Whatney has to survive, how else would the log file be kept. ? I highly recommend this book. The science is sound and the story pulls you along. I was surprised not to see the quote "Failure is not an option." Can't wait to see the movie.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Do it. Right now. No really, like, right this second. This is seriously one of the most interesting, suspenseful, and rewarding books I have ever had the pleasure of picking up (and then not being able to set back down). The plot is winding, the pace is fast, and the characters? Truly magnificent. They're very much the best part of the story, really. You will not regret a single moment of the reading experience (or at least, I didn't, for what that's worth). 10/10 Would Highly Recommend
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Definitely a great read if you're into this genre.
Flo04 More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books I have read in a while. Really, really good. Highly recommend it. Hope the author writes more like this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written, although I noticed some spelling and grammar mistakes throughout. Also, I felt the book could have been a bit more descriptive at times. However, I could not put it down and often found myself laughing out loud. I read this book in three days. A great first effort by a new author. My biggest issue is with the way the book ended. I thought the author could have spent another 50 pages on the return voyage and what happened when the main character arrived back on Earth. I would definitely purchase another book by this author.
Bookworm1951 More than 1 year ago
Great story. The only real criticism I have is that parts of the book were so technical regarding equipment and the needed modifications for survival on Mars that it got really boring in places. While some of these details are integral to the story, they were repeated over and over and over again. Overall, a good read with an easy writing style and good character development.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. I liked it bette than the movie as it was much more realistic. The protaganist has a wicked sense of humor.