×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Medium
     

The Medium

4.3 136
by C. J. Archer
 

See All Formats & Editions

Seventeen-year-old spirit medium Emily Chambers has a problem. Actually, she has several. As if seeing dead people isn't a big enough social disadvantage, she also has to contend with an escaped demon and a handsome ghost with a secret past. And then there's the question of her parentage. Being born an entire year after her father's death (yes, a year) and without the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Medium (An Emily Chambers Spirit Medium Novel) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 136 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was left speechless. At first I was skeptical, but once I read the first few pages I was obsessed. I took an instant liking to emily; shes just an outcast in society and it isnt her fault. I fell in love with jacob as soon as he was introduced. My heart was breaking for their forbidden love. This book will have you smiling, crying, or even angry because it draws you in! I highly recommend this bookto anyone looking for a paranormal book NOT about vampires or werewolves. Definitely buying #2!! (I apologize for any spelling or grammar errors in my review- its late and Im super tired)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really liked this book! It was a refreshing change from the now typical forbidden love between a "dangerous" vampire and a whiny heroine. Emily held her own, but still allowed room for the romance, mystery, and adventure. It intrigued me how Emily was portrayed as an outcast, with her gift and physical appearance, yet she found her true love in the most unlikely situation. Jacob loved her against all odds, which was quite a tear-jerker. I really liked the twist on the classic nineteenth century setting as well. It added to the overall charm and enchantment of this novel. I could've done more with the development of the love between the two main characters, but the "forbidden-ness" was spot on. There were many times that I shrieked, "OH MY GOSH!" and gasped and breathed sighs of relief. It's a definite page turner and I highly recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was pleasantly surprised at the intrigue and suspense created in both the events and characters. There was depth in the relationships and the explanations of the paranormal events. I loved the history without being bogged down by it. This book combines my three favorites: history, romance, and the paranormal! I cant wait to read #2 and #3!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
well written book about a lady who is a medium, moves along a good pace, little twists that leave you wanting to read the second as I expect from a series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think I would have really liked this as a young teenager. As an adult, it is a little too simplistic and not, well, adult enough. Sometimes "young adult" novels span the age ranges (like Harry Potter) but this one doesn't quite reach that level. Admittedly, I read A LOT of books and may be harder to please. It is actually OK but just doesn't have enough going on to keep my attention very well. I have made it half way thru but cannot guarantee I will make it to the end. Also, in all honesty, the characters do not have the 'feel' of the correct period in history. The main character talks like a modern girl and doesn't seem to be aware of the social mores of the times.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Was so good that I had trouble putting down and can't wait to read the next book in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome! I rarely write reviews but I just have to say I can't believe this book is free. The writing is great, the story is interesting and the characters make you want to come back for more. If you like historical paranormal, this is for you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story. The sequels are equally entertaining. Between the three books, the story has great continuity and surprises. Very well written and enjoyable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was dumped in the first chapter. Characters we horrible. Thank goodness this was free!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a well written book and an interesting read - It was a refreshing change from the now typical supernatural books. This writer successfully combines suspense, supernatural, and romantic elements. I enjoyed the plot and the characters and I can’t wait to read 2 and 3.
Teresa_H More than 1 year ago
Emily Chambers is a medium who can summon and talk to the dead. Unfortunately this makes her quite an outcast but she and her sister, Celia, make their living having seances for people. At one such seance the ghost and his widow really get into it and Celia uses an amulet she got from a street vendor to stop them. Unfortunately that isn't what the amulet actually does, it releases a demon into the world. Enter Jacob Beaufort, sent from 'The Waiting Room' in the Otherworld to help Emily find the demon and send it back where it came from. Things get complicated when 1) They have to actually find the demon, and whoever summoned it and 2) They start to develop feelings, after all what could come of a relationship between a live girl and a dead boy? I love these historical people who can talk to ghost type books and this one is no exception. Poor Emily has a lot to deal with since most everyone she meets who knows 'what' she is are either scared of her or think she's a lunatic. I thought it was pretty interesting that she can actually touch the ghosts. The only thing is it just sort of ends, like these ebooks sometimes do, but the actual story is really good. I honestly really enjoyed this and am really looking forward to reading the sequel, which I've already got on my Nook!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very interesting read. It successfully combines suspense, supernatural, and romantic elements. It was a bit of a let down to end so suddenly with so many questions unanswered. However, it succeeded in striking my interest enough to continue on with the next book. Bravo!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book i enjoyed the plot and the characters cant wait to read 2 and 3
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read this and book 2. Both were very good and kept my interest. I can't wait for the third book of the trilogy to see how this ends.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a great love story but had a ton of mystery also. It wasnt nasty and it dont recal bad or foul language. Great tead:)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book, especially towards the end. I can't wait for thr next one to come out on the nook.
Reader_for_LifeTG 27 days ago
Emily and her sister make their living conducting seances. They arrive home one day to find the ghost of one Jacob Beaufort waiting on the steps and get embroiled in a mission to return a demon to the Otherworld. Emily and Jacob get closer as they pursue their mission. But what's a girl to do when the man she loves is dead? And how did he die?
Anonymous 11 months ago
Delightful read. I couldn't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
whencrazypigsfly More than 1 year ago
good book. great characters. I wasn't to fond of the ending. but really liked the book. give it a try. 209 pages!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
quiltingjudy More than 1 year ago
I found it hard to put down! I was really hoping she'd find Jacob. Now I can't wait to read book 2!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago