×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Mockingbird Next Door: Life with Harper Lee
     

The Mockingbird Next Door: Life with Harper Lee

3.3 51
by Marja Mills
 

See All Formats & Editions

New York Times Bestseller
 
“A winning, nuanced portrait. . . . It seems unlikely we’ll ever have a better record of a remarkable American life.” —USA Today
 
"There are many reasons to be grateful for The Mockingbird Next Door….A zesty account of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Mockingbird Next Door: Life with Harper Lee 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 51 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Mockingbird New Door is a remarkably well written book about the life of famed author Harper Lee. To Kill a Mockingbird remains a standard of the American classroom. It is by all definitions a classic. Yet, little is known about its author Harper Lee – that is, until now. Marja Mills presents a detailed view of the celebrated author and her sisters. The writing is excellent. The research is excellent. The book is (you guessed it) excellent.
alan61 More than 1 year ago
It must have been a real joy to live next door to and share the life of the Lee sisters for so many months. Marja must be a special person to have them share so many great stories, and their close personal friends and family. I thoroughly enjoyed reading and learning about a true American treasure and the people she obviously cared about. Truly makes me want to reread "To Kill A Mockingbird" again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a fan of "To Kill A Mockingbird", i was very interested in this book. I found the relationship between the women charming. The book did get repetative halfway through, as if she was struggling to find a way to wrap it up. As another reviewer said, it would have been nice to hear more about Nelle during her TKAM days, what she did in new york, etc. Overall i enjoyed the book and would recommend it to lovers of TKAM.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My favorite book as a teen was To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee, so I devoured the new non-fiction The Mockingbird Next Door: Life with Harper Lee by Marja Mills. It is a reflection of living next door to the Lee sisters for a year and half while the sisters are in their 70s and 90s. The Pulitzer Prize winning reporter does an excellent job of describing their day to day ordinary lives in a small town in Alabama while at the same time sharing their extraordinary lives of accomplishments. The lesser known sister, Alice, was still practicing law and was part of the inspiration for Atticus. If you read the book then you will understand the controversy found in so many reviews of this book. The book was filled with authenticity and kindness towards the Lee sisters and made me want to write to the author to tell her how much I enjoyed the book and how much better I understood why I still loved To Kill a Mockingbird.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed this book! It gives many insights into the personality of Harper Lee as well as the things that shaped her as a person and as an author. I enjoyed the connection between Ms Lee and the author of this book, Ms Mills. If you love To Kill A Mockingbird, you'll enjoy this book!
sandi_l More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed reading about the life and insights of one of my favorite authors. Wonderful air to the book as the story is told.
BluebirdMM More than 1 year ago
Before putting my review down 'in ink' I read the other reviews. I do agree that parts of the book were repetitive but did not find it so much so that it damaged my appreciation for the book. I was grateful to Marja for the clear way in which she segued from past to present and back again. I think what I loved the most about this book is how I came to want to discover almost as much about Alice, Julia, and Tom as I wanted to discover about Nelle. Not that I knew Nelle but it would seem that this is how she would have wanted it - for her reading fans to discover her through those that loved her rather than through herself. Thank you Marja for the great read for my camping trip. Mel
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My initial reaction was the book was well written, but after 100 pages I changed my mind. There is way too much repetition and one is left with a lot of questions. For example, what did Nelle do when she went back to New York for several months annually? Why is Alice living in different care facilities?
elfBP More than 1 year ago
I'm not sure what I expected of this book. This was one of those times when I thought...surely it will get better soon. Unfortunately it never did. The writing was unimaginative and plodding. Sorry I just didn't enjoy the book.
Judebug More than 1 year ago
This story is more about the author than Harper Lee. The stories are repeated so as to fill out the book. I really question how well she knows Miss Lee. I was very disappointed. 
BevCO More than 1 year ago
Read it with a jaundiced eye. This is not an authorized biography, one that Harper Lee denies collaborating on. To think that after 50 years of silence, Harper Lee would allow a relatively unknown journalist live next door and write about her is pretty unbelievable. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book was well written by Marja Mills, who had an amazing experience when Harper Lee and her sister Alice opened their door to her.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent book about the life of Harper Lee, most well known for her book To Kill a Mockingbird. Loved it!
Mcfan97 More than 1 year ago
Not quite what I thought it was going to be about. Did not really have anything to do with what was going on with Harper Lee at the time "To Kill A Mockingbird" was being written. Had more to do with what the 80-ish Harper Lee is up to now.
louise33 More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this read and thought that the writer had permission to reveal all this story. However, after i had finished the book and looked at reviews I noted that some readers were under the impression that this was not truly authorized by Harper Lee. There was a lot about the writer in the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent book about Harper Lee's life in a small town decades after To Kill a Mockingbird. Read before the next Harper Lee book is released in July.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My understanding id that Harper Lee did mot engage this author, to write this book. It said, all the information the author has came from Alice, Harper's sister, who, she said was 100 years old at the time. Are you reading about the Mockingbird, or her sister's take? Harper Lee said, she never once gave an interview to this Author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Luser you
MinnieFalls29 More than 1 year ago
Disappointing. Repititous. Did not reveal WHY Harper Lee wrote her novel. Filled with tedious details of life in the South. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Write now or later im wining this fight
Anonymous More than 1 year ago