×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Ophelia Trap
     

The Ophelia Trap

4.2 9
by Kate Burns
 

See All Formats & Editions

When a former neighbour plunges eight stories to her death in the snow, Julia Henry is convinced her previous landlords harassed the woman to suicide. But as she investigates, another dead girl turns up – with a connection to a series of rapes.

Julia and her husband put as much distance as they could afford between them and the landlords who put them

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Ophelia Trap 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is an easy read with a great twist at the end. A good amount of twists and turns. Its also avail for a lend mne so if we are Nook friends shoot me a request.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was about to give up on it at first as it was very boring at the beginning, but it finally got interesting although there were some things not resolved at the end which was disappointing. A large part of the story was centered around this particular plot point and the author just forgot about it. Bad form.
Picklenose More than 1 year ago
This story really touched me. The lead character, Julia Henry, is very likeable, very human, and familiar (as in a familiar friend). She has realistic thoughts and reactions, so she comes across as a normal person navigating some abnormal circumstances as best she can. The supporting characters, for example Matt, Bergeron, Geneviève, also come across as realistic. The Julia – Matt – Geneviève dynamic also comes across well, perhaps more because this is how people should behave more than how they usually behave. One big part of this book is the atmosphere. Small towns can switch between warm and comforting to claustrophobic within seconds and the author captures this feeling completely. After moving from one small town to another, I find myself constantly being surprised by familial connections and friendships that are not apparent unless you are a life-long resident. In some ways the tone and setting of this novel reminded me of the movie Fargo. Not the characters, the tone or the way I reacted to the tone. Another aspect of this book is that the plot and references are so well crafted. There were several places in this book where the plot could have collapsed, or a coincidence was needed to move the action, and yet the writing carried you along without feeling contrived. It is also clear that the author not only observes people, but questions why we do the things we do. This makes the characters and the reader do so as well. I recommend this book as much as any I have read, and more than most. I think you will as well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sometimes hard to follow but a lot of twists in the story. 252 pages (dw)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago