×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Oracle Glass
     

Oracle Glass

4.0 86
by Judith Merkle Riley
 

See All Formats & Editions

New York Times and USA Today Bestseller!

"Absorbing and arresting." —New York Times

"Fascinating and factual." —Los Angeles Times

"Chilly, witty, and completely engrossing ... great, good fun." — Kirkus Reviews

"An outstanding historical novel of 17th–century France ... based on a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Oracle Glass 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 86 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I borrowed this book from the library and ended up with so much overdue fines and worse I had to pay for the book cause I refused to return it. It was that good! This book has EVERYTHING. A great historical theme,a strong and brilliant heroine, an intellectual and lovable hero and a delicious lovestory. Who could ask for more? One more thing, I always love Ms Riley's thorough and very realistic approach to historical settings. She does the best research and puts them into pen and paper with just enough breath to make them oh so alive for her readers. This one in particular is her best work ever! This is a must read!
Guest More than 1 year ago
i can't say enough wonderful things about this book. as an avid reader of eveything from romance, to Star Wars, to nonfictional world history, i would still have to say that its one of the best books i have ever read, if not the best. Ms. Reily has presented a marvelous, well-written story, full of unforgetteable charaters, and just the right mix of romance, intrigue, magic,betrayal, and emotion. Any collection is empty without it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Strictly picky about my reading choices, I was turned onto JMR by another author. Riley has a mastery of detail and history that makes not only the fictional characters life like but the true ones too!!! A beautiful blend of Parisian history, sorcery, romance and adventure. The story turns like a serpents head but never leads you far from your path. A must for the historical novel reader! I recomend it so much I've already given my copy away to a friend.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book and read it diligently from the moment I found it. The characters are well written and realistic, the plot really lets you know where the book is going, and it's a wonderful ride the whole way through. I loved the Marquise de Morville, otherwise known as Genevieve Pasquier. It is well worth the read. If you enjoy tales of sorcery, you'll be learning about seventeeth century Paris while you read as well!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love this book. The characters are rich, the details are accurate, and the story is inspiring. JMR is a genius, and I love all her books. I loved all the characters, especially Astaroth/Sylvie. They are so hilarious and vivid.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Like some other reviews, I found the story a little slow. But that it was based on facts made it an interesting read. I purchased either as a Free Friday or a Daily Deal and thank B&N for the selection. My friends that enjoy occult, witchcraft will enjoy this 1600's story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lobve the story the characters the plot lines the writing....altogether profound and delightful
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read
Tina_Chan More than 1 year ago
Book Review: The Oracle Glass June 1, 2013 Rating: **** Title: The Oracle Glass Author: Judith Merkle Riley Genre: historical fiction Review: Enjoy reading historical fiction with a dash of magic? This book is for you!   The novel takes place in France during the rule of the Sun King (Louis XIV).  There is a sharp contrast between the poor and the rich.   During this time, many Enlightment ideas and philosophies are being spread across the country, despite the government’s attempt to keep such radical ideas muffled.  As far as I could tell, the details of 17th century France are all accurate.   The main character, Geneviève, is introduced to be a wily young lady who is sick of constantly being overshadowed by her sister’s beauty.  Born with a twisted foot, her mother dismisses her as a good-for-nothing daughter.  Luckily, Geneviève has her father to go to for comfort.  From her father, she learns all about the philosophies of the ancient Greeks and Romans.    One day, Geneviève meets Florent d’Urbec, a radical Enlightment thinker who is one of the few who can challenge Geneviève in a game of wits without humiliating oneself.  d’Urbec nicknames Geneviève “Athena”, after the goddess of wisdom due to the fact she was extremely smart for a time when most women weren’t well educated.   However, tragedy strikes Geneviève when her father—her sole protector in a harsh world—dies.  Her mother and uncle are convinced that he had left Geneviève a hidden fortune because she had always been his favorite child; in truth, he had left her nothing.  However, her uncle doesn’t believe Geneviève when she tells him that she wasn’t hiding any money from him; as a result, he begins  to abuse her.  One day, Geneviève decided she’s had enough and plans on committing suicide.  Right before she jumps into the river to drown herself though, she is saved by La Voisin, a fortuneteller and the Shadow Queen of France.   La Voisin see potential in Geneviève and decide to taker her under her wing.  Geneviève can’t help but feel that there is something sinister about the Shadow Queen, however, her desire for revenge for her uncle’s mistreatment wins out her gut instincts.  The Shadow Queen promises Geneviève great power and the ability to extract revenge on her uncle if she agrees to work with/for her.   The Shadow Queen fakes Geneviève’s death so that she may begin a new life.  Taking the disguise of Marquise de Morville, a supposedly one-hundred-plus year old lady who had the body of young woman due to alchemy, she quickly rises up the social ranks.   In the meantime, Desgrez, an honest and intelligent police officer, can’t help but be suspicious that there is an underground network of assassins, spies, criminals and poison-providers going on in France right beneath his nose.  Eventually, his suspicions  lead him to Geneviève.  Genevive must make a choice: should she betray the woman who gave her a new life or should put the lives of others in danger. Likes:         *very descriptive details that really allow me to paint a picture in my mind         *accurate facts Dislikes:         *the pacing was on the slow side--would've enjoyed if the author had either cut some scenes of sped up the actions
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
best book I have read in a long time
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'd give it two and a half stars if I could but gave it three as I couldn't split the difference. The book is a good concept but could have been written in half the number of pages. At times it is a wearying read and 3/4 through, I was ready to just forget it and go to another book. The writer just pounds her nails too deeply in wandering inner reflections so the book seems to at many times suffocate itself. I love history and long books (Stephen King's 1000+ pager the Stand for example) don't bother me at all. This one just seemed to get tiring. Interesting characters, some not very realistic, and in real life, a lot doesn't just work out as it did in this book. It tries hard but doesn't really be what it tries to be if that makes any sense. It's a bit fantasy guised under fiction clothed in attempt at being "real life" and shrouded in unlikely connections and scenarios. It's ok as a read but not going on my shelf as one of my better books or Nook Book which this one is. Hope this helps someone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent, engrossing, and beautifully written!
AnAvidReader0 More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed reading this book. The main character's struggle to figure out who she is at such a young age is very interesting to read. The book followed her character through adulthood and maintained her character's personality. It far exceeded my expectations, which were admittedly rather low considering the subject.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Took me 24 hrs to read and I just wanted it to go on!
Norma Fuentes More than 1 year ago
This book is beautiful, I love it so much it has a very special spot in my heart now. I do recommend it a lot.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought this book based on all the great reviews. Found the beginning interesting but it began to drag by the middle. It would have been a better read if not so long. The story became tedious.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago