×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Other Side of the Sky
     

The Other Side of the Sky

4.5 27
by Farah Ahmedi
 

See All Formats & Editions

Farah is born just as the war between the mujahideen and the Soviets reaches its peak. Bombs are falling, and her native Kabul is swelling with those looking for homes and jobs. When Farah steps on a land mine, her world becomes much smaller.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Other Side of the Sky: A Memoir 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 27 reviews.
abby888 25 days ago
The Other Side Of The Sky is an amazing and inspirational story. It was very fun to read. This story is very sad,fun, and crazy. I defenitly suggest you read this story!!!!!
Cookie3 More than 1 year ago
one of my favorite memoirs that I have read. I got mine from a library and its so good that i'm gonna buy it for my bookshelf to reread. It really is an unforgettable story about this girl in afghanistan and how she loses her leg and most of her family but is still determined to achieve and accomplish her goals(going to america).
tayiatheresa 24 days ago
I gave this book a 5 star rating. This novel was very inspiring to know a girl close to my age going through so much. She is a inspiration to me and i hope to learn more about farah and the rest of her journey.
fruitypebbless 24 days ago
cash me outside how bout dat
Marcos985 24 days ago
Amazing. This books shows you a perspective that inspires you to do better in life. When I was reading this book it helped me learn that not all lives are great. It showed me a girl that had bad things happening to her all her childhood. And she turned that childhood, into a gift. Which is this book. A very detailed and inspiring book. One of the best memoirs I've ever read. Mainly because of how she started very rough and made it up there. Even better than some Americans today. If you are reading this review. I'd recommend this book to you. When you first read it. You can't stop. That's how good it is.
Anonymous 25 days ago
This is a story is very inspirational because it tells a story about a girl who has lost her father and sibling and who only has her mother but does not let that stop her from doing what she wants in life.
SakibAdil More than 1 year ago
best book ever
willyGC More than 1 year ago
The other Side of the Sky is a truly inspirational story. The book is about the trials and tribulations that a young Afghan girl, Farah, goes through. The way she overcomes the obstacles placed in front of her is admirable and inspires the reader to do the same. I personally have not dealt nor have I met many people with any difficulties that come close to what this brave young woman had to deal with and overcame. That is why her story is so inspirational. The story, however, is still very sad. It is sad because of the events that shook this girl's life. What's sadder is that these type of unfortunate events are commonplace is certain parts of the world. I highly recommend this book not only because it is a page turner, but because it opens your eyes to the way things are in certain parts of the world.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
...Wonderful and interesting. Farah Ahmedi and Tamim Ansary's book was very detailed and touching. I am speechless.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this book is very sad in some parts but, it shows you all the hardships an Afghan girl'like Farah' goes through everyday.it also show you a different perspective of a war from their eyes. i would recommend it to people who like biographies or who are interested in the Afghan culture.
Anonymous 23 days ago
I liked it, it was fun to read
MUSA14 24 days ago
This is very inspirational there are some interesting things in the novel .This is not really my favorite type of book but i liked it.So I recommend whoever is reading this to get this book
mandy8 24 days ago
The other side of the sky is a very inspirational book. One of the things I love about this story is it talks about Farah journey and what she went through as a child but at the same time its also inspiring young kids like her who has been in her shoes and went through what she has went through
kravvictor 24 days ago
I rate a 5 star. this is a great book to inspire a lot of people. this book touched my heart how when farrah lost her family.I think poeple should read this book
_jaydaa 24 days ago
The Other Side Of The Sky was very insightful into what life is and was like in the Middle East. Farah is truly an inspiration and her writing skills are impeccable for just learning to read and write in high school. If you are looking for a novel to make you fly with emotions this is the book for you.
Anonymous 24 days ago
The Other Side of the Sky is an outstanding story, it makes you feel for the people in the story and the person telling the story. Throughout the story, I fell in love with Farrah and her story, she will motivate you in ways you wouldn't believe. I highly suggest you read this story!!!
nriv5599 More than 1 year ago
I chose this book because it looked sad and i caid of like sad books but sometimes i don't like them because sometimes they make me sad so and only from the front cover it seams i was going to like it and i did like it so much and so i did like it so the books seas she used to live with here hole entire family but know she lives with here mom and the y live Utah because and the last place they lived they had a lot of battle and fight so her and here mom moved to Utah were they said of like it  and i did enjoy this book a lot because it was sad and it was happy too at the same time and it was fun to read and fun to toke about and she is about 13 years old or 12 i don't member and yes i will give this book a five because it was a lot of fun  and she was sad because she did not live with here family and never saw here friend ever again that is my story    
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very Compelling In this book you have a girl, a child, who suffered her own disability and the loss of her family and her homeland. She takes care of her aging mother and adapting to this new culture. She comes across many obstacles that she knows how to face because the way she overcomes them  makes you want to admire her and feel inspired by her actions. She herself narrowly escapes death when she steps on a land mine.The wars going on force her to flee, first over the mountains to refugee camps across the border, and finally to America. She's a very smart girl for her age. This book has a wonderful quality of survival and is most compelling. It's as if Farah was a tower of strength. She proves that even in the direst circumstances, not only one human heart can thrive. Farah Ahmedi inspires us all. Inspiring book. 
Adriana-C More than 1 year ago
The other Side of the Sky by Farah Ahmedi is a truly inspirational story that can really open the hearts of many. The book is about the hardships and experiences that a young Afghan girl, Farah, has to go through. This story really portrays Farah’s girlhood in her home country Afghanistan. With her country at war, Farah is forced to endure all the difficulties such as the constant sights of falling bombs. All these events have worked together and contributed to make her the grown up person she is now. The way she overcomes the obstacles placed in front of her is admirable and inspires the reader to face their own problems with such serenity. I personally have not had to cope with any difficulties that come close to what this heroic individual has had to deal with. With the details of each event written so vividly we feel as if we were on this remarkable journey along with her. That is why her story is so inspirational. The story, however, is still very sad. What really breaks your heart is the fact that these type of unfortunate events are commonplace in certain parts of the world. I believe that by reading this book others are going to become aware of the struggles that others are facing from a different part of the world. Hopefully this book will bring awareness to these problems and bring an end to not only the war occurring in Afghanistan but to many of the other wars that other countries are facing. I would recommend this book to young adults and older (12 & up) just because the content of the book includes events that may be gruesome and frightening. However, anyone who's open minded and willing to go through an emotional ride is welcome to read it. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was intersting. the reader was able to see what life was like for this girl in Afghanistan. A different perspective than many of us know about. It was interesting to see how she lived and the experineces that she had living in a world so different than ours. It was interesting to see what her experience was like when she got to the United States. the fear and uncertainty and all the others things that goes with moving to antother country where you do not speak the language and you do not know what is going. The struggle to learn that new language that the desire to really live in that culture, yet not beinga ablt to is sad and makes a person think. This was a pretty good book.