×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Outlander
  • Alternative view 1 of The Outlander
  • Alternative view 2 of The Outlander
     

The Outlander

3.6 69
by Gil Adamson
 

See All Formats & Editions

In 1903 a mysterious young woman flees alone across the West, one heart-pounding step ahead of the law. At nineteen, Mary Boulton has just become a widow—and her husband's killer. As bloodhounds track her frantic race toward the mountains, she is tormented by mad visions and by the knowledge that her two ruthless brothers-in-law are in pursuit, determined to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Outlander 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 69 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The first part of the book was harder for me to get into, even though the book starts out suspenseful. After the first 4-5 chapters, I thought the story built up really well and then I could not put it down. Really interesting snapshot of the time period, wilderness and mountain settlements. Very interesting characters and the choices they make. I think it would make for a good book club discussion. I think this would also make an interesting film.......
Guest More than 1 year ago
I began reading on Saturday evening and read until I couldn't keep my eyes open. Finished it Sunday. I is honestly one of the best stories I have read. Keep on writing Gil.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In 1903, nineteen years old Mary Boulton calmly grabs her husband¿s rifle and fires killing him. The widow knows she cannot hang around not because she fears the law, but her abusive brother in laws would enact vengeance in their vicious style.----------------- Mary flees across wintry isolated Idaho and Montana while knowing in her composed gut they pursue her. On her trek, she reflects on her unhappy but thankfully short marriage exacerbated by the dead child. As her deep depression enables her to remain eerily unruffled, she meets people along the way. First there is the Frontiersman who admits creeping civilization makes him depressingly feel like an anachronism then there is the Reverend who treats her like an adored daughter. There are others some not as kind towards the itinerant female especially after a mining disaster that the locals feel she caused by being there. However, the worst is coming as the brothers are nearing and the Reverend wants to change their relationship to that of more of equal partners.------------- An allegory of a way of life that seems all but vanished, THE OUTLANDER is an excellent historical thriller starring a strong support cast, a spirited lead female, and a vivid picturesque setting. Readers anticipate High Noon is coming, but it is the trip to the final showdown that makes for a deep look at early twentieth century America in a remote part of the northwest.---------------- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Without doubt, this is one of the best books I have read in a while. It will definatly be on my list of favorites! From the opening page it grabs you and keeps you hooked until the very end. The characters in this book are so well developed and the plot keeps you wondering what will happen next. I finished reading yesterday and hope to reread it very soon. As I was reading I couldn't help but think what a wonderful movie this book would make...maybe we will see it in theaters soon!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kept looking for more background story--before Mary "took flight". That was my only real complaint. Nice cast of characters along the way. Need more Canadian historical fiction like this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful story. Just how long do you trudge along to escape your pursuers, and when is it just easier to give up? A true depiction of the real life characters that settled the west in the early years of our nation's history.
Hokie3457 More than 1 year ago
Great story of a woman on the run and her struggles in the great outdoors and inside her own mind.
LoveToReadVW More than 1 year ago
Not since I read The Shipping News has a novel so caught my attention. The descriptions of the mountain scenery are beautiful, as is her knowledge of how to survive in the wilderness. The author's descriptions of how Mary interacts with those she meets along the way show her developing strength and will to survive. Please, Gil Adamson, continue to write fiction!
TheFactory More than 1 year ago
Adamson presents an engaging idea of a widow who kills her husband and sets off into the wilderness to escape the two twin brother's-in-law tracking her to bring her to justice and or kill her. Little is done however, to develop the widow as a character. Nearly a hundred pages into the book one cannot find an explanation as to why she killed her husband, nor does one readily come by the end. It isn't learned until several chapters what her name is. Several hundred pages one knows very little about the main character at all, and has little sympathy for her meanderings, all trivial and forced. One can only guess in the end why the widow killed her husband. Mostly, since the husband is painted very sympathetically, there seems little motivation on the widows part to have done the deed. Secondary characters are given better to full development, like the widow's father, who is mentioned often, enough that one expects to see him, or for there to be a confrontation between him and the widow. Further inconsistencies include the fact the window can't read, but for convenience later she suddenly reads plenty. This is from a lack of development on the author's part, having written herself to a place she couldn't get out of. Overall, the back jacket of the book wooed me, but the book did not come close to living up to it's expectations. It feels as if information was inserted here and there without any pointed direction on the author's part.
katSC More than 1 year ago
After finishing this book I was sweetly surprised. The end of the book took me late into the night before I finally finished it. I thought the plot was well thought out and the characters were striking. When I started the book I was indifferent toward Mary Bulton but by the end I was rooting for her. Good read and interesting content.
10of11 More than 1 year ago
If you have the intelligence to understand and appreciate highly complex characters accompanied by accurate historical settings, this book will keep you enthralled to the end. I only wish the author would write more books of this genre.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book got my interest in the beginning, but by the end I was bored. The whole time I waited for the reason she became "the widow" but I was not amused. The main character was at no point likable nor interesting. You could tell the author tried to develop her character, but it wasn't done well.
scojo More than 1 year ago
Don't confuse this with the American YA series "Outlander." This is by a Canadian author who writes carefully and with poise. Certain facts like what year is it? what is heroine running from - are revealed slowly, later, so you have to be patient - it's truly worth it. I couldn't put it down. I loved the ending. Go Gil Adamson.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The premise of this story sounded really good, but it somehow lost me along the way. I kept hoping for the exciting climax to this book, but never really could get it. The story just sort of fizzled for me and although I liked the characters, it just left me feeling sort of shallow....not really overly thrilled or disappointed one way or the other. Then there was the ending......I felt as though the writer even got tired of the "chases" and "running" and sort of gave up. It just didn't do it for me.....sorry.
Anonymous 6 months ago
Good book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Simply decided to move on to something else.. For me, reading 84 pages of this book was like trudging through thick mud...wondered why i was doing so. Cannot understand high ratings on this book, but to each their own
Booksntn More than 1 year ago
Beautifully written, prose in many places, the only thing being there isn't much a story to hold onto. I didn't really see the purpose of meandering in the pages for so long. Strange ending too. I wouldn't say don't read it, especially if you like well written setting, just don't expect the usual, plot driven question and answer...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Don't waste your time. Characters are poorly drawn, story goes nowhere, and the ending answers nothing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't wait to see what happened to the widow.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kept me interested to the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Save your money and time. This has to be the poorest book I have ever attempted to read. Just no real story or answers as to what this widow was about. I gave up before half way...some thing I have never done. JUST DOWN RIGHT BAD AND BORING.....d
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was immediately taken into the story. The widow's story was sad and her depression was evident thru the story. I was surprised at her ability to push on and was always waiting for her to just lay down and give it all up. Her continuing on seemed at times to be something that was done with no thought but just instinct. It was almost painful to read at times and then I was surprised that it wa.s over.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Confusing from start to finish. Elaborate,descriptions of every thing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is good and can get interesting at some parts
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Characters come alive, haunting novel, can't wait to read more by this author