×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Painted Bridge: A Novel
     

The Painted Bridge: A Novel

3.9 13
by Wendy Wallace
 

See All Formats & Editions

Spellbinding and intricate, The Painted Bridge is a tale of secrets, lost lives, and a woman seizing her own destiny: “A chilling page-turner about the muddy line between sanity and madness” (Caroline Leavitt, author of Pictures of You).

Outside London behind a stone wall stands Lake House, a private asylum for genteel women of a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Painted Bridge: A Novel 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
mrssherrieb1 More than 1 year ago
This will definitely go on my "best of 2012" list. Just the right amount of tension/suspense really kept the pages turning for me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Droning, repeating, depressing. Don't waste your time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was unsure about this book. Thought it might make me depressed. Although the subject matter is dark, it was very interesting. My curiosity was captured.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
VannaLynn More than 1 year ago
I loved the amount of detail the author put into researching various things of the era (example the photography techniques). I was very emotionally consumed by the book and felt angry, excited, and sad for Anna (protagonist). I loved the mystery and the pain that the novel offered. Overall, a great book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent fiction story.
GentryC More than 1 year ago
Well written easy read. A woman's tale i never dremed of. I was angry, scared and happy for Anna. Could not put this onedown.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The premise of this novel seemed intriguing, but try as I might, I just couldn't bring myself to finish this novel. It started off interestingly enough, but as i continued with it, I started to become a little bored. The main character seems a little flighty and weak, and her reason for doing the things she did in the beginning a little unbelievable. The other characters just weren't solid enough to add anything interesting to the story. By the middle of the book, i just didn't care enough to finish it. Maybe I didn't read far enough to get to the truly enjoyable part, but this one just fell short for me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
DSaff More than 1 year ago
Locked away in an asylum? For what? This is the question Anna has to ponder when her husband surreptitiously drops her off at an asylum. "Lake House" was set up to care for women of means who seemed too delicate for the outside world. But Anna? No, she didn't belong there and knew she had to find a way to prove it. The how was the problem, however, as no one was really honest with her nor did they want to believe her. Her husband, Vincent, was determined to leave her there and her doctor agreed. But, there were periodic rays of hope around Anna. One doctor was convinced that he could capture the truth about a person's mind with a picture. Could her photograph prove that she was sane? She had also met others who, like herself, wanted to be free. But would they be able to cross the bridge to that freedom? Come along and read Anna's story and find out just how thin the line is between sanity and madness. Take a trip in time to London in the winter of 1859. What a wonderful debut novel! It is hard to put down and very well written. There is suspense, mystery, and the absolute feeling that you want to help Anna and the others. Wendy Wallace has a very bright future, and I can't wait to read more.
shanbritts More than 1 year ago
I waited months for this book to come out, worth the wait for sure! - I couldnt put this book down, wondering where it was taking me? I kept saying to myself "why, why, why"! Great read, I'm sure you will enjoy it as much as I did!!!!