×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Palace
     

Palace

4.9 10
by Chelsea Quinn Yarbro
 

See All Formats & Editions


Since 1978, Chelsea Quinn Yarbro has produced about two dozen novels and numerous short stories detailing the life of a character first introduced to the reading world as Le Comte de Saint‑Germain. We first meet him in Paris during the reign of Louis XV when he is, apparently, a wealthy, worldly, charismatic aristocrat, envied and desired by many but fully

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Palace 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved these books when I first discovered them in 1978. I still do. .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you like the Vampire Chronicles and/or the Pendergast series by Preston & Child you will really like these books.
CountessE More than 1 year ago
It isn't often that an author so elegantly combines history, vampires, and love in one, but this book does it. This is a must read for Reniassance history buffs, horror lovers, and those with morbid fascination to watch how one charismatic man can turn a whole city mad.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rohanrurik More than 1 year ago
Yarbro throws you into 15th Century Florence.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Palace, the second novel in the Saint-Germain series, provides a look at the religious and political hardships in Renaissance Italy. The book focuses on the underlying struggles of the Pope in Rome and the renegade priest Savonarola, as well as the political up's and down's of the era. Our hero, the ever-elusive Francesco Ragoczy da San Germano, is caught in the middle of these conflicts to the point where he has to flee the city for his safety. For those unfamiliar with the series, Saint-Germain is a Vampire, but not in the way we have come to know of them through other books and movies. He shares many of the same characteristics of the Vampires we know but to a lesser degree; without the flash, the magic, and evil we are accustomed to. He comes from a royal background, has a great scope of influence, is very wealthy, has a strong intellect, and due to his kind and caring nature, attracts the ladies of the time. This novel is rather a sad one, since it focuses around the political and religious pain and torment people had to endure in order to survive. Italy, while in a glorious Renaissance, still was under the strong influence of the Church as well as local changing politics. Being called a Heretic, whether true or not, meant certain death, in a savage and cruel way. It is under these conditions that Francesco Ragoczy has chosen to live and this novel follows several lives within the government, the Church, the local builders, and artists. If books with historical themes interest you, then you will certainly enjoy this book. If you're already a fan of Chelsea Quinn Yarbro, then you're sure to love the book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've often thought that the power organized Christian religion has in this world can be terrifying. THE PALACE explores this with a most fearsome antagonist, a monk named Savonarola. Set in 15th Century Italy, this second of the Saint-Germain novels focuses on the horrors one man can cause in the name of religion. Featuring historical figures such as the de Medici's and the artist Botticelli, THE PALACE is ripe with Yarbro's beautiful, poetic prose, her incredible imagery and fabulous characterization. It's sensual, riveting. A novel that both horror and historical fiction fans can appreciate and now that it's out in hardcover from Stealth Press, we can all enjoy it again.