×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Partner (Russian Edition)
     

The Partner (Russian Edition)

3.9 705
by John Grisham
 

They watched Danilo Silva for days before they finally grabbed him. He was living alone, a quiet life on a shady street in a small town in Brazil; a simple life in a modest home, certainly not one of luxury. Certainly no evidence of the fortune they thought he had stolen. He was much thinner and his face had been altered. He spoke a different language, and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Partner 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 705 reviews.
ChadAaronSayban More than 1 year ago
I must make an admission...I have been a big fan of John Grisham for a long time. I know that this book was written over a decade ago. I'm still playing catchup with my reading. I have four entire shelves of books to be read and I keep adding to the stack faster than I can read them. Such is the burden of a lover of books. Anyway, as with most of John Grisham's other books, this one revolves around a lawyer and the wranglings of the legal system. I have read all of his novels prior to this one (the others are in the "to be read" column). At 366 pages, it is a pretty quick read. As with all of my reviews of fiction, I won't ruin the ending. The story is of a former lawyer - Patrick Lanigan - turned thief...a thief to the tune of $90 million. Stolen from his law firm after faking his own death. the story picks up from the time he is apprehended, 4 years after he fled, first by those who want the money back and then by the FBI. The story twists around through a web of agendas including his reasons for leaving his wife and child. It is a page-turner that keeps a rapid pace with a great deal of action, especially early on. However, compared with the rest of Grisham's legal thrillers, this one is somewhat weak in two areas. The story is pretty far fetched. A great deal of bungling by an awful lot of people is required for this story to work. In addition, it is pretty predictable, especially from the mid-point of the book forward. While I would not go so far as to say that the book was a disappointment, it was not one of Grisham's better efforts. In spite of it's problems, though, it is still a pretty good story.
Praetor More than 1 year ago
After dancing around Grisham for awhile I finally grabbed The Partner and became hooked on his novels. The power of greed and ultimately the impact on people caught up in it are showcased in this book. I enjoyed the characters and the book flowed so well I had to force myself to put it down at night. A legal thriller that was fun to read.
Matthew2ndPeriod More than 1 year ago
The Partner is a great mystery about the search for the truth. I loved this book, as I do all John Grisham novels. The Partner is about a new partner, Patrick Lanigan, to a little firm in Biloxi, Mississippi who finds out about an illegal deal in which the other partners are involved. Patrick learns that the other partners plan to fire him right before conducting the deal which is worth ninety million dollars. Patrick decides he will not let this happen, instead he will disappear. Patrick bugs the entire firm and all the partners¿ offices in order to learn everything about the deal before he makes his move. He decides to also take out a two million dollar life insurance policy for his unfaithful wife and infant daughter (who really isn¿t his). Just before the deal is expected to take place and Patrick is going to be let go, he dies in a fiery car crash leaving behind hardly any bodily remains. The case is pretty straight forward and within a couple of days his charred bones are cremated. The morning the deal takes place, right as the money arrives from the client at a bank in the Bahamas, it vanishes. The money disappears. It was transferred from the bank by an imposter without a trace. The client and the firm hire private investigators and after years and years of chasing, they get an anonymous tip that Patrick Lanigan is living in Brazil. From this point on, the novel is a mystery as we find out how Patrick did it and how his life will turn out after his capture (it¿s not what you¿d expect).
bobwalley More than 1 year ago
I really liked the Partner. It was fast moving and always exciting. I have read many of John Grisham's books and would rate this very high on the list. If you are looking for a fast moving book that will keep the pages turning and the suspense coming take a look at this one.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My favorite part about this book is that it really keeps you interested. I could not wait to see what had happened to Danilo and his past, and how it all would work out for him.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am an avid reader and carefully select my reads. This book had a great story line, and I had a hard time putting it down.there was no way to figure out how the character would make out until it was actually told. I'm only disappointed in the ending, because once it started to unravel, it ended quite quickly. I'd read it again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Quite a few years ago, there was a television show called ¿To Tell the Truth¿ in which a celebrity panel, egged on by a celebrity moderator, would try to guess which of three guest panelists, when quizzed about their lives and circumstances, would turn out to be the actual named person. The game always ended in the command ¿Will the real `John Doe¿ please stand up¿, at which point our suspense was relieved and we all got to congratulate or commiserate on our own candidate of choice. And so with our now famous author, some times I feel like saying ¿Will the real John Grisham please stand up.¿ In Partner, this is not (to my mind, thankfully) the slow-paced dramatist of book one, A Time to Kill, or book five, The Chamber, the latter of which I predicted would never be a movie (wrong!) for its dullness and lack of intrigue (right!). Nor is this the social commentator proselytizing in The Rainmaker (wife abuse is bad) or The Runaway Jury (smoking is bad), although at least these two gave us moderately satisfying page-turners. Nope -- the good news is that our clever creator of Pelican Brief, The Client, and The Firm is back, with all the complexities of plot, action and thrills, even an ironic twist at the end, to captivate our imaginations and keep us up until three in the morning with no regrets. And make no mistake, this movie will be a barn burner -- the only question being how many millions more will it dump into the Grisham coffers. By now, you may have heard snatches of the plot. I hate to spoil the story, but the gist is that a successful young law firm partner ¿dies¿ in an accident, only to be discovered years later hiding abroad with close to eight figures in stolen loot. [Relax -- all that becomes clear in chapter one of forty-three, so I¿m hardly giving away the plot...] What follows are the intricacies of legal maneuvers and one-up-man-ship by our hero, as he masterminds his own extrication from prison, while gradually spinning the whole incredible yarn through various conversations meted out carefully enough to keep us turning pages into the wee hours. So, for me, the best John Grisham has indeed stood up -- with riveting story telling, political and social insight into the mechanisms of lawyering, and a tale that engrosses from start to finish. Can¿t wait for the movie !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago