×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Passionate Mom: Dare to Parent in Today's World
     

The Passionate Mom: Dare to Parent in Today's World

4.9 43
by Susan Merrill
 

See All Formats & Editions

Motherhood is full of uncertainty.
What do my children really need? Why are they doing that? Is this normal? What can I do to help them? How can I know for certain that I am doing this right?

The logistics are easy. Anybody can do laundry and carpool. But what makes a mother the best mom she can be?

It’s not better

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Passionate Mom: Dare to Parent in Today's World 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 43 reviews.
LEMommy More than 1 year ago
What an amazing journey this book has been able to take me on! I constantly struggle with guilt and how I make mistakes in my parenting. I mean, who doesn't want to be the perfect parent right? I read, and read, and READ every parenting book I can get my hands on, and before I know it I am more confused and more frustrated about what I am actually supposed to do, or NOT do. My children are miserable, my husband is miserable, I am beyond miserable and this downward spiral just keeps happening. Then I read The Passionate Mom- this is real folks. Real life. It's a gentle, forgiving and uplifting guide that will help you to be the very best parent you can be! Simply put, raw emotion and real-life expierence from the author reminds us that we are not alone in this parenting journey and that we all have struggles. Although I am not a religious person, Susan has taken simple religious teachings to give us a easy reminder of how to get back to the simple basics. She talks mostly about being passionate but there is such a much bigger lesson to be learned here. Each chapter made me want to go back and read it again, just in case I missed something. It's that good, get this book. You won't be disappointed!
NMahoney More than 1 year ago
Wow. The Passionate Mom is truly a life changing book. I was hesitant when I began reading. Wondering if I would be able to apply any takeaways in a timely fashion.I could not have been more wrong!! This book hits home from page 1. I have been recommending it to other moms since the moment I started reading. This is a must read for any Mom. Love it!
MrsDehn More than 1 year ago
Wow. I have been telling other moms about this book since the moment I picked it up. This is so much more than a parenting book. The 10 P's can be applied to anything one is passionate about. Definitely, a book you need in hard copy to reference and remember all the amazing lessons. Thanks Susan for getting your great ideas out to the masses!
knowltonnest More than 1 year ago
The Passionate Mom by Susan Merrill is a book written for moms who are passionate to parent their children in purposeful ways. Susan's practical and biblical building blocks come from the book of Nehemiah in the Bible. There are ten ways a mother needs to cultivate as parent well: perception, pondering, passion, prayer, patience, preparation, purpose, planning, problem solving and perseverance. Each chapter outlines solid principles with Susan's real life examples, confessions and powerful encouragement to inspire moms to dare to be the parent that God has desired for them. I thought I was a passionate mom, but after reading this book I feel like I've been given the tools to really be the passionate mom I want to be. I was very intrigued with Susan's connection of how to be a mom with the story of Nehemiah. She strategically wrote step by step exactly how to embrace the high calling of a mom and rely totally on God for all that is needed. She identified so many areas that I need to work on and also addressed areas I hadn't even thought of yet like dating, computers, cell phones and social media (my kids are still very young). I was very impressed, encouraged and inspired to pursue being a passionate mom. This book is a definite must have for moms who need biblical, practical and honest truth to pursue God's desire for motherhood in their lives.
KRubio More than 1 year ago
Whether you are religious or not, this book really hits home for all moms. I don't think I've ever read a single parenting book from which I was able to use every tip, pointer, piece of advice. This book is so different. It really doesn't matter how old your kids are, it applies to all! I am a working mommy of 3 kids (8, 6 and 3). This book has made me feel like I can handle it all with PASSION!!
Godly-wifey More than 1 year ago
This book was absolutely life changing and eye opening when it comes to parenting! I am new to parenting and I'm glad I found this book early. I recommend this book for anyone struggling to be more passionate at being a mom.
momof2g More than 1 year ago
I love, love, LOVE this book!!!  It is WONDERFUL and made me take a look at my parenting style.  It's full of great ideas that I started implementing right away that my kids have been receptive to.  Susan Merrill is a fantastic writer and I would buy and read any book she puts out.  It's an easy read (and being a full time working Mom - I don't have a ton of time to read) but I zipped right through this and it was ENGAGING!    DON'T MISS OUT ON THIS BOOK!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a mother to three wonderful children (ages 4, 8 and 18) and also work full-time outside of the home. I know time is precious and I have to say this is one of those books you will want to pick up each time you have that extra time. This book has been such an eye-opener for me in so many ways!!! The Passionate Mom will be changing lives...April 16 can't come soon enough. Feeling very blessed to be a part of this!
S-Shadowen1 More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing! I started making notes within the first chapter and immediately putting into practice some of the suggestions. My boys responded positively! I highly recommend this book!
Kyannap More than 1 year ago
Are you a parent? Are you expecting? Read this book. Then next year, read it again. This book echoes my hope for my children & reassures me that I’m not alone. We are constantly questionning ourselves as moms whether it be our style of raising a child, discipline techniques, or our relationship with each child. This book does an amazing job of touching on so many aspects of parenting and then giving real life examples. You will find yourself shaking your head yes or saying “exactly” chapter after chapter. The author has 5 children of her own, drawing the reader in providing first hand accounts of her experiences. You’ll learn about building your own “wall” for your children. The first brick described is perhaps the most important and a true testament to Susan’s abilities as a mom. Brick #1 is Perception, “A passionate mom must perceive what is happening in her child’s world”. As you read thru the remaining 7 “bricks” you will be captivated with how you relate to each. Regardless of the age of your child or children, you will be able to relate to the content in this book. I will be purchasing this book for my closest girlfriends and I’m hopeful they will pass the book on to other great moms.
Mom_of_four0 More than 1 year ago
Susan Merrill did an excellent job writing a book relevant to parenting today. She validated many of my maternal feelings and intuitions. I love how she not only validates motherhood today, but she also relates it back to biblical principles. This book will help reveal areas of weakness and give practical advice on being a better mother. It’s easy to get into a routine of habit and miss opportunities with our children simply because we are too busy to notice. As Susan says, you must have a BHAG (Big Hairy Audacious Plan). Susan’s words will inspire you to see past your present struggles in a positive mother and your children will thank you for perfecting her 10 P’s! Love, Love, Love this book and author!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put it down!!! Love this book so much!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I’ve read a lot of books on parenting, especially since I was/am a young mom and I wanted to make sure that I wasn’t messing anything up. After all, children don’t come with a book that tells you how to raise them even if some of us wish they did! Everyone has different opinions on how to properly raise a child and you’ll even get opinions from complete strangers. An elderly woman in a store once walked up, plucked my daughters pacifier from her mouth and said in her most matter of fact tone “Babies don’t need these nasty things.” She refused to give it back and it took a manager and two police for the woman to return the item she had yanked from my now screaming infants mouth. There are people who say spankings work best and others say time out, even more say love and positive reinforcement and I’ll  be honest when I hear positive reinforcement it makes me think of dogs but I can understand the concept. With so many theories, how do you know which book will give you the right advice? Well because the right book will jump out at you, keep you on the edge of your seat and make you want to read until it’s done. That’s what this book did for me. The Passionate Mom gives amazing advice and spiritual guidance as well. So if you’re looking for an amazing parenting book then this is the one I would recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm so thankful to have found this book shortly after the birth of my daughter. It has been a blessing and encouragement to me as I enter into motherhood. I highly recommend it to all of my expecting friends.
ReadWorm More than 1 year ago
The Passionate Mom – Dare to parent in today’s world – Susan Merrill There are many parenting books out there aimed at mom’s in today’s world – how to cope with the frantic pace of life that we all lead and to stay on top of raising well adjusted moral children. I must admit that the idea of Nehemiah being the basis for a book about mom’s seemed somewhat out there for me but I was pleasantly surprised. Using for P’s as the framework and structure for her book, Susan Merrill fleshes out what it means to be a Christian mom raising children in a world that does not support the efforts of these champions. Perception, Pondering, Passion and Prayer is the framework for the walls that we build protecting ad providing for our children. A well written book. Very good and highly recommended to anybody wanting to really get to grips firstly with the big job of raising Godly children and secondly a deeper understanding of the book of Nehemiah. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Let’s face it being a mother is the best job in the world, but it can also be an isolating and very hard job as well.  This book gives many real world examples that make you realize that as a mother you are not alone! When you have a newborn, there is a plan for everything, a plan for sleeping, a plan for eating, etc.  As your child grows, things change and a different kind of plan is needed, but what kind of plan and where do you find this plan?  The Passionate Mom gives you a plan and gives you encouragement!! In this book, a step by step plan is outlined based on the book of Nehemiah.  It is a very helpful and easy read.  I highly recommend this book to any Mom!
JamieLynnT More than 1 year ago
Wow! What an incredible book. The Passionate Mom by Susan Merrill is a fantastic book for every mother. This book has to be the most refreshing, honest, thought provoking books on motherhood that I've ever read. She uses the book of Nehemiah from the Bible to draw out wisdom, advice and guidance for being a mom in today's world. She's honest about the trials as well as the joys of motherhood and you feel like you're right in the trenches with her not just reading about a mom who has it all together telling you how to do/be better. Every mother NEEDS to read this book!
amanjules More than 1 year ago
The Passionate Mom by Susan Merrill is a positive book that focuses on the influence of mothers. I wanted to see if this book was any different than all my other "Mom" instruction books, and I found it really was refreshing! The theme is practical with the "bricks" we need for building being qualities we must work on in ourselves. The author is just so REAL in this book about her imperfections as a mom, so when she is handing you these "bricks", you do not feel judged or discouraged. After reading it, you feel positive about being a mom, and you feel like you have some new tools to handle the variety of situations that arise for a mom. I came away being spiritually encouraged and would recommend this book to moms of all ages and even expecting moms as a definite must read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
 I have read many self help, religious, and parenting books in the past. The Passionate Mom by Susan Merrill is just different than anything else that I have ever read. As the mother of three wonderful children, I am constantly searching for the right balance in life. I want to raise my children to be Faithful, Successful, and Independent adults. This book provides an awesome outline with the 10 P's! It is a MUST read...whether you are a brand new Mom or you have been one for years like me!  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As any parent, I question my parenting.  "Am I doing the right thing?"  "How do I know what the right thing is?"  "What do I do next?"  I find it particularly difficult as a single mother, because there are times when I have no one to bounce ideas and problems off of.  The Passionate Mom:  Dare to Parent in Today's World lays down steps on how to parent based off one of the books of the bible, Nehemiah.  This book helped me in several ways: It helped me to see that I need to involve God more in my parenting.  It encouraged me to delve into my bible more and learn about a book of the bible that I had never given much time or thought to.  And it led me me grow more confident in my parenting plan.  This is a great new tool for my Mom Toolbox!  
MrsYoder More than 1 year ago
I have a stack of "helpful" books that I want to read, someday. This book falls into the "helpful" category. However, I am glad I picked it to read TODAY! Moms, be encouraged! Susan Merrill offers hope, support, and practical, realistic advice for parents AND fills this book with enough interesting personal stories to keep you reading. Susan has the experience of a veteran mom and the heart and humor to share it. I love getting the iMOM "Espresso Minute" emails and through these I was introduced to Susan. When I heard that she wrote a whole book, I knew it was a must-read. Pick up this book and don't put it down until you finish it! Moms, take heart! It can be done!
LBateman More than 1 year ago
So much practical, yet incredibly insightful information, packed into this book. I love the way the author shares her own parenting stories and even her "confessions." She's transparent about parenting her five children (two adopted at an older age) who have a range of temperaments. She does not pretend to be the perfect mom - but she provides all of us moms with a vision for parenting our children. She believes that a passionate mom can parent well AND with confidence; and her book provides a plan. "A passionate mom has a plan for parenting her children from birth to adulthood." Although that may sound daunting, Merrill's approach is not. As I stated earlier, the book is insightful and inspiring, yet practical. I would highly recommend this book for moms with children of any age.
JScarboro More than 1 year ago
The Passionate MOM by Susan Merrill This is book was a great read for this mother of four. It challenged me to use the bricks and mortar that make a strong wall through parenting with passion and open gates with a plan to raise wise children to become independent adults.