×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Pilgrim's Progress
  • Alternative view 1 of The Pilgrim's Progress
  • Alternative view 2 of The Pilgrim's Progress
     

The Pilgrim's Progress

4.2 78
by John Bunyan
 

See All Formats & Editions

Often rated second in importance to the Bible as a Christian document, this famous story of man's progress through life in search of salvation remains one of the most entertaining allegories of faith ever written. Set against realistic backdrops of town and country, the powerful drama of the pilgrim's trials and temptations follows him in his harrowing journey to the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Pilgrim's Progress 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 78 reviews.
Beasliffe More than 1 year ago
The book is excellent, but the folks at B&N should be embarrassed to offer this badly scanned nook book edition. Notes and marginal comments appear in-line in the same font as the text and interrupt the flow of reading. Words are sometimes split randomly or shift in their middle between plain and italic. Words that should be bolded aren't. Poetry is set as prose at random. Apostrophes are mis-scanned as question marks. Apparently no one bothered to proofread the scan results. The editorial notes also detract from the text on which they are supposed to comment. since they are often trivial and sometimes plain wrong. This is truly a sorry transfer from text to ebook and unworthy of Bunyan's masterpiece.
Jess_MacCallum More than 1 year ago
There is a reason this book has not been out of print since it was first published in the late 1670s. It remains relevant. One of the most insightful and honest descriptions of the Christian Life, far better than modern writers can even come close. It is the quintessential Christian allegory, ahead even of Chronicles of Narnia. Brilliant insights, life-changing.
John McAllister More than 1 year ago
Though an exhilirating tale of adventure and grandiose excitement if epic proportions it is still so much more than that. NEVER a substitute for the Word of God, but a wonderful contemporary study guide piece that every christian should read and will enjoy when presented with the opportunity!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It seems a lot of the footnotes, etc., get jumbled in with the text. It's frustrating to navigate.
BigBobHev More than 1 year ago
This is a great read of an allegory about a man's travelling the path of life being akin to a man's attempt at travelling the path to religious redemption. The writing style is, of course, heroic-epic; and, the author does an admirable job at staying true to the character and the plot. I recommend it to anyone whom appreciates epic.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book contains a very detailed table of contents, and a different formatting of the inline references (which makes it easier to read than most other versions of this book that I've seen). Great book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wrong book here! This is some other kind of allegory or story--not anything Bunyan would have liked.   Seems a Catholic kind of tale.  It is a scam, as it is NOT Pilgrim's Progress on the inside.   Please correct the title and description of it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Pilgrim's Progress is a wonderful allegory of our Christian walk. It is so wonderfully written, despite the fact that John Bunyan only had an eigth grade education. I love how Scripture is continually intertwined with the characters' dialouge. I also enjoyed the story of Christiana who later falls in her husband's footsteps.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is inspirational and makes me think about my relationship with Christ, but it is a very long, drawn out book and, as a ninth grader, is difficult to always understand. The book is about Christian, as he travels along the narrow road to the Celestial City. It applies all that is said in the Bible about how we should act as we live life and face struggles.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book get 5 stars right off the back. the only set back is reading the old english. basically this book is about Christian going on an adventure to the celestial city, and runs into fearsome dangers.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Very touching and inspirational. The trials of life can be challenging however, faith, hope, and love can lead us towards the kingdom of God to heaven. A wonderful book.
Anonymous 5 months ago
Makes you think and the movie is great also
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is not The Pilgrim's Progress! Do not waste your money
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
At first the story seemed pointless and then as I conntinued, it became clear that the story is intended to show the way to a sinless state of mind in order to achieve life everlasting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A masterpiece. I read it about once a year.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A classic that opens up people miind on what it might be like wen you have two patss to choose from. I realy like this story because it gives you an idea whht it would belike if you went down the wrong path, as well as right path too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The table of contents works well and there are footnotes to obscure words that work good well too. Cant believe its free.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fantastic
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I purchased the ebook version of this book and was greatly pleased. This version is much clearer than the "public domain" version that is available for free. As for the book, it truly is a classic and I enjoyed it immensely. Christians will find it particularly useful but nonchristians can enjoy it as well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a former Catholic I read this book (modern English children's version) for a VBS missionary story time and it turned on the light bulb of salvation. I love this old English version as it keeps true to the time period in which it was written. I visualize the scenes so vividly. It's an awesome book to share with a new Christian.