Customer Reviews for

The Proposition

Average Rating 4.5
( 296 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(192)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Great book

This was a truly great book BUT the ending! This book leaves you hanging until March 2013. You do not know the end until then and that pisses me off.

posted by 9145480 on November 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Lackluster

Maybe I prefer books written from first person point of view, but something about this book left me feeling like there was more to be desired.

posted by Anonymous on December 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 296 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Great book

    This was a truly great book BUT the ending! This book leaves you hanging until March 2013. You do not know the end until then and that pisses me off.

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    AWSOME BOOK !

    I love this book, it was well written, not filled with nonessential information. It has a great flow to it and I couldn't seem to put it down. It truly kept me wanting to read more ! My biggest complaint is that it' s in two parts and I have to wait til March for the other half. If I had know it was a two parter, I probably would have waited to read the first so I could have read them consectively. With that being my only complaint I'm left impatiently waiting for the next one and will probably have to reread this one to contine the flow. The autor is talentd and I look forward to reading more of her books. I don't remember being forwarned about this book being in two parts but would have appreciated knowing so beforehand.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved the book! Well written, sexy, a bit of an unusual subject.

    Loved the book! Well written, sexy, a bit of an unusual subject. Both characters seem fully developed and like real people. A hot hero, a shy heroine, and great chemistry between them. It does have an annoying cliffhanger ending, but there is a book 2 out! Yay!    


    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    TiWi

    WoW great...short story 200+ pages & the last couple chapters upset me...but still worth the $ can't wait for the sequel !!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    WHY!!!!!

    OMG you left me hanging. WHY?

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2012

    I loved this book. I read a lot, and this book got my heart pou

    I loved this book. I read a lot, and this book got my heart pounding in my chest, crying and laughing. I seriously can't wait until March 15th for the next book to come out.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    You haven't read The Proposition yet?!  You don't know what your

    You haven't read The Proposition yet?!  You don't know what your missing.  I fell in love! In love with the story and the characters. This book is funny, it is romantic, it is sexy, it is sweet with the right dose of drama and angst thrown in. Oh the sweet agony of two people struggling against the inescapable fact that they belong together! Everything that an avid reader of the smexy genre could want.  The ending will leave you absolutely wanting more. Don't worry Book #2 is called The Proposal and available now.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    A bit let down

    I had high hopes for this book. By the end I was glad it was done. Cliche in area's, overly predictable throughout and overall just flat. I mean seriously the agreement portion was too easy, the transition from agreement to wanting more to love was ridiculously simple. I expected more. Three stars for writing and tone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    It was ok....

    There were things I liked about this book and others I didn't. The main character Emma was waaaayyy too emotional and cried too much for me. That was annoying. I liked the premise and plot of the book though.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Lackluster

    Maybe I prefer books written from first person point of view, but something about this book left me feeling like there was more to be desired.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Wish i knew it was half a book

    Its really good but how do u make it half a book and dont even have the next part finished yet its dumb if i woulda known i wouldve waited because the next part wont b out for 5 months ill prob forget by then

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Partial Book

    It reads more like a partial book then one of a series. The ending is left too open.
    I liked Aiden but feel like the heroine at 29 is too young to worry about her biological clock.
    A good read just leaves you hanging.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    I cannot wait until March??

    I cannot wait until March??

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Disappointed,

    Did not live up to reviews

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS BOOK

    I love the everything about this book. I cannot wait for the next book to come out.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Love it

    I loved this book didn't want it to end then bam it was over Im ready for march 13 very good read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Katie Ashley combined romance with lust and laced it with humor

    Katie Ashley combined romance with lust and laced it with humor to debut a spectacular book that I can't get enough of. You'll love the characters and the friends and families...well, maybe not Aiden's friends so much. But, the characters are life-like and can be easily connected to, and the story line is realistic and very well done. This book is not without its angst or tears. I felt a range of emotions from tears to laughter to anger to full blown lust. Near the end, my heart just about stopped, and to make matters worse.....cliffhanger! But, this is a cliffhanger I didn't mind, because it actually contributed to my love for the book. What should you expect? A smoking hot hero that you want to pulverize one minute and love him the next; a sweet and shy heroine that you will cry for and want her dreams to come true; a story that will have you reeling in emotion and loving every minute of it. What do you get? All that and a big bag of chocolate! I cannot wait for the sequel, The Proposal, to be released in January, 2013.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2014

    Love the series !

    Love the series !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Great book

    Cant wait for the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Proposition is the first book in The Proposition series by



    The Proposition is the first book in The Proposition series by author Katie Ashley. I really liked this story. It is sexy and endearing. As noted in the book's synopsis, the female lead Emma wants to have a baby but she is not in a relationship and she does not want to use a sperm bank. Her gay best friend initially offers but then backs out. The male lead Aiden offers to help but he wants something in return...his stipulation is that they have to conceive naturally. “I’m talking about a little proposition for us both to get something we really, really want. I give a little, and you give a little.”

    I really liked Emma's character. She is sweet and she has a good heart. Aiden's character has an interesting layering to him and he quickly grew on me throughout the story. The question in this book is: Can a "baby-making" agreement like Emma and Aiden's stay nonemotional? Can a womanizer like Aiden change his ways? The Proposition ends on a cliffhanger and I immediately started searching for the next book in the series, The Proposal. I recommend this book to fans of sexy adult contemporary romance stories who don't mind hearing a woman's biological clock ticking...loudly.

    My favorite quotes:
    "A MWF sex schedule? How efficient," he mused. "Please be serious." A wicked grin flashed on his face. "Fine, pencil me in. I'll be ready and erect whenever you need me."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 296 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15