×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Purification Ceremony
     

The Purification Ceremony

4.5 16
by Mark T Sullivan
 

See All Formats & Editions

Diana Jackman, a mother, environmental engineer and expert animal tracker, is on the trail of a vicious serial killer in the snowy wilds of British Columbia. A Los Angeles Times best book of the year. Nominated for the Edgar Allen Poe award. "Superbly written. Uniquely scary." -- London Literary Review

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Purification Ceremony 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Where have they been hiding Mark T Sullivan? This is the second I've read from this extraordinary author; both are 5 stars. If it wasn't for one of my favorite authors, T Jefferson Parker, I would have missed out on an important contribution to my life!
elpolloflatulato More than 1 year ago
Exciting read! Probably should rate it a 5-Star but I had a little trouble following the spiritual aspects at times. The protagonist was everything you want in a female lead but just a bit too tragic for my tastes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well worth reading! Even if you hate the idea of hunting, you'll find a personal journey in this book that is physical, mental, cultural and spiritual. The plot line is familiar, as are many of the characters, but you won't be disappointed in the tale. Gentlemen: don't let the fact that the main character is a woman make you think this isn't a book for men. You'll appreciate the choices she has to make in the end. Ladies: you'll find a female character who, though written by a male, is as whole a woman as we all wish we were.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
rmd270 More than 1 year ago
I found this story and the storytelling to be 1st rate. I was not sure if this would be my cup of tea but the vivid writing style used by Sullivan especially to describe the physical and spiritual worlds that blend together in this book were excellent. It kept be captivated and interested to read more. Told from a 1st person perspective the story was deep, troubling, enlightening and uplifting all in one. A must read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book about 13 years ago and i loved then and loved it just as much this time. Very good murder mystery.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
wecos More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the book very much. It was a really good concept, the writing wasn't quite as good as I am used to, but it kept my attention.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was flabergasted at the text of this awesome book. It was great I am a hunter myself and I could some what relate to this book. Thrilling. My heart was always pounding like as if it were a movie.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I picked this book up because it had a great cover (hard cover). I bought it because it sounded interesting and fun. You know what I was right. This is a wonderful book. I do not feel that this is a ¿guy¿ book. The main character is female, just different from most females. Diana is a strong and powerful female lead. The kind that you have to have in a book like this to make it work. I think that Mr. Sullivan did a great job in working out the plot. I was totally engrossed in this fine piece of work from the beginning. OK the author did mess up with the scalp thing. But some times that is a part of the fun. Finding a mistake that everyone missed and they get paid the big bucks! (No pun intended.) This did not take away from the story and was not important to the plot. So you are forgiven Mr. Sullivan for one little bitty mistake. I¿m looking forward to more by this wonderful author. Keep them coming, Mr. Sullivan. I highly recommend ¿The Purification Ceremony.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was great! It takes you into a frame of mind that very few people today can relate to. Sullivan's story-telling was amazingly clear and I found myself easily picturing the setting along the Dream. As a fellow female hunter I feel this book will appeal to a wide ranging audience.