×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Real Lincoln: A New Look at Abraham Lincoln, His Agenda, and an Unnecessary War
     

The Real Lincoln: A New Look at Abraham Lincoln, His Agenda, and an Unnecessary War

3.8 47
by Thomas DiLorenzo
 

See All Formats & Editions

A New Look at Abraham Lincoln, His Agenda, and an Unnecessary War
Most Americans consider Abraham Lincoln to be the greatest president in history. His legend as the Great Emancipator has grown to mythic proportions as hundreds of books, a national holiday, and a monument in Washington, D.C., extol his heroism and martyrdom. But what if most everything you

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Real Lincoln: A New Look at Abraham Lincoln, His Agenda, and an Unnecessary War 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 47 reviews.
Brian Yanoviak More than 1 year ago
Matches my 30 years of research from first edition sources at the time prior, during, and immediately after the war of northern aggression!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Dr. Dilorenzo's work is the perfect example of suspect historical scholarship. His agenda is clear, which leads to his cherry-picking, and distorting, the record to support this agenda. The first thing one learns in a historiography class is not to do what Dr. Dilorenzo has done. It is a disappointing work.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book does not deserve even one star. Although it purports to be history, it is a grotesque distortion of the historical record. For example, DiLorenzo quotes primary source material which impugns Lincoln's motives. If you are not a historian and are unfamiliar with the sources, you would likely accept the conclusions that the author draws from the quotes he cites. However, if you take the time to check the sources, you find that DiLorenzo has lifted phrases out of context, and even attributed words to one person that were clearly uttered by another. It is clear that this book was written with one aim in mind: to 'prove' that Lincoln was a tyrant who started the Civil War in order to impose Whiggish economic policies on the South. Lacking proof, DiLorenzo is not above deliberate distortion and misinformation. In short, beware of 'history' written by those who have a political or economic axe to grind.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book shows Lincolns real agenda. Which was a massive Federal Government, and the destruction of the opposing political power. Lincolns party-The New Republican party, which was formed in 1856- was a totally sectional party. The Republicans hated Southerners, and everything Southern. Lincoln was backed by the wealthiest Northern people. Lincoln spent his entire political career, advocating more power for the wealthy Northern people. As an Account, (PhD) the author breaks it down, in very clear terms to dollars and cents. Myths are not popular when they are exposed as 'myths'. This book is a good start to understanding 'The REAL Lincoln' I also recommend: 'Lincoln, the Man'--Edgar Lee Masters' 'Tariffs, Blockades, and Inflation'-Mark Thornton and Robert B. Exelund Jr.;'Lincoln Takes Command'-John Shipley Tilley;-'The Real Lincoln'-Charles L.C. Minor; 'Forced Into Glory, Abraham Lincolns White Dream-Lerone Bennett Jr.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Along with, 'When in the Course of Human Events: Arguing the Case for Southern Secession.' finally present Lincoln and the North's 'Watergate.' After the War the standard rule applied, which says 'The victor writes the history.' This viewpoint has preveiled for the last 138 years, but is starting to be challenged. If you as an adult, read how a standard High School textbook treats the War you would be shocked. There is no balanced treatment there, so only in books like these can we get the -- rest of the story.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I¿m always amused when professional historians suggest that lay readers should not waste their time reading this or that book. This is like basing your movie viewing preference on the local movie critic¿s opinion! I would suggest that you read as many Lincoln books as you please (by historians - if you wish) and then read DiLorenzo¿s book last. DiLorenzo is a libertarian and an economist, so it is only natural that the book is written from that perspective. You may not agree with his conclusions, but the book is well written, entertaining and thoroughly documented. A free and active mind should be open to all thoughts and perspectives on any given topic, how else can you make an informed decision about any subject? So what, if Lincoln was not the saint historians have made him out to be ¿ get over it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Although the information Dr. Di Lorenzo presents is not new, the clarity of its presentation amidst constant and forceful reminders of the Founders' own views and ideas about the relationship between the Federal government, the States and the Citizenry leaves no doubt that Mr. Lincoln turned the American Foundation on its proverbial ear: the ineffectual and bloated self-importance of today's Washington establishment is, along with the rather tangential (for Lincoln) good of abolition, one of the other important Lincolnian legacies. It is a shock to the system to realize that the haze of idolatry in which the mythical Lincoln has been wrapped for so many years has served to conceal a concept of government that was so completely alien to the Founders' original intent, a concept that because of the legacy of Mr. Lincoln's dictatorial behavior has come to be viewed as an ideal. Having read The Real Lincoln, one understands as never before why so many totalitarian 'leaders' have held the 16th President in such high esteem. Messrs. Davis and Lee (was there any doubt about the Honor of General Lee?) are looking better and better!
DannyfromTupelo More than 1 year ago
Like many others, I've always wondered to myself why Lincoln got a "free pass" in history because he led the Union to victory in the War between the states. I really never knew whom to blame for the countless loss of life on both sides of the war. Lincoln's uncomprimising quest for centralized government cost this country deeply and Lincoln has really never been held accountable for his ridiculous actions during his tenure in political office. I realize even more after this book that Lincoln is not someone I would have voted for now or then. Mr. DiLorenzo pulls no punches in this great history book. If you want the real truth no matter how uncomfortable it may make you feel, I suggest this book. If you refuse to see Lincoln on any platform other than a hero, you probably won't get past the first couple of chapters. With everything going on in Washington D.C. today, I think the states rights message pouring from this book is very timely. Great book that I hope my children will read and embrace one day. Danny Littleton Tupelo, MS
Guest More than 1 year ago
Five stars says it all! Makes one ponder that we would probably be two nations today if JWB had killed Lincoln before the '64 election.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Honest Abe didn't pull any punches back then. His own words and actions show that indeed he had his agenda of abolishing states rights rather than slavery. Its silly to think that he trampled on the Constitution to preserve it, thats the most far fetched statement I have ever heard. Read it, it will open your eyes and help you see why things are happening in our day.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The horror of this book is that another Lincoln could arise in the future, and there might not be another Booth. How have the Lincoln apologists succeeded so well in blinding us to the real career of this madman? Everyone should read this book.
Traction_Bob More than 1 year ago
Good research, a fascinating topic, and a reframing of the Civil War that provides some much-needed perspective.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You have to admit, no politician has anyone's best interest at heart. They are always out to prove themselves at the expense of the American public. This is an important read. For those of you who disagree with the information of this book, you must also believe in the fable of Washington chopping down his imaginary tree that was stuffed down our throats thru out our school years. I pity you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SFWriterJM More than 1 year ago
They say history is written by the victors and nowhere have I found a better illumination of the victor's lie than in The Real Lincoln. Contrary to popular belief, Abraham Lincoln did not go to war to free the slaves. Rather, he intentionally and irrevocably denied Americans the freedom that was established by the founding fathers, from the 1860s straight into modern times. Lincoln defenders have, for years, argued against these facts with nothing but their denial to back up their claims. Thomas J. DiLorenzo shatters the myth of "Honest Abe" with dignity and transparency, thoroughly documenting every quote, argument, and opinion at the source. Clear and easy to understand, this book sets our history books straight with the real facts about our Great "Emancipator."
guitaoist3 More than 1 year ago
factual and no nonsense
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Totally false and poorly written.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Russell_Kirk More than 1 year ago
Worth the time and money to read; get the perspective from the other side of Lincoln. I enjoyed the thesis presented.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago