×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving: A Novel
     

The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving: A Novel

4.5 12
by Jonathan Evison
 

See All Formats & Editions

In The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving (releasing June 24, 2016 as a Netflix Original Film titled The Fundamentals of Caring, starring Paul Rudd and Selena Gomez), Jonathan Evison, author of the new novel This Is Your Life, Harriet Chance! and the New York Times bestseller West of Here, has crafted a novel of the heart, a story

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving: A Novel 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found this book to be thoroughly enjoyable. The main character was just the right mix of unlikeable and yet redeemable. I found myself rooting for him. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a story about a man trying to pick up the pieces of a life that he was solely responsible for derailing.
Kataman1 More than 1 year ago
I really tried to like this story, especially having read so many positive reviews on Amazon. But I just couldn't get with it. Firstly I tried to like Benjamin Benjamin Jr., the main character but seemed to find him too much of a loser. He spent many years with no ambition and then when his funds are running out, he takes a job as the caregiver to Trev, a boy with a degenerative disease at virtually minimal pay. Benjamin and Trev like to make fun of other people and ogle women at the mall. They use expressions that were hard to understand even knowing the reference like "I would like to give her a Gaylord Perry." Now I know that Mr. Perry was a baseball player known for putting foreign substances on baseballs but I couldn't figure out what it meant in the context of the story. Benjamin's and Trev's conversations are rife with expressions like this. I did find slightly interesting the map that the two put together of interesting places to visit and Trev's weird encounter with the lady "acrobat." Things like this kept me from rating this book lower but I still struggled through this book and found it dragged in many places. Overall I give it three stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written and a good message
Redheaded-Janeite More than 1 year ago
With each new novel, Jonathan Evison proves that he can’t be pigeonholed as an author. You want an atypical bildungsroman? Read his All About Lulu. Looking for an ambitious historical epic? Read his West of Here. You want a buddy, road trip story that transcends that clichéd description? Read his new novel, The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving. Evison writes with humor, honesty, and a snappy cadence that propels you through the story even when you’d like to take your time relishing his rich characterizations and vibrant landscapes. Each of his characters is trapped by circumstances that are seemingly beyond their control but the joy of this novel is to see how they all begin to wrestle that control back from the beyond, little by little. They are all ready for it, they just have to find the courage and tenacity to do it. Evison reveals a true knack for writing these wayward, flawed characters in such a way that makes them completely relatable and worth rooting for. He writes with depth and heart and even a little bravado, showing the beauty in tragedy, the humor in life, and the power of connection.
Anonymous 11 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wph.mlehz
pupper More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the book and was surprised with the ending.
ordinaryreader More than 1 year ago
I THOROUGHLY ENJOYED THIS BOOK WITH ITS CLEVER ROAD TRIP FORMAT, ENGAGING NARRATOR, AND ITS THEME OF REDEMPTION.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gk
Ariesgrl More than 1 year ago
Benjamin Benjamin is in the middle of a typical mid-life crisis. Hoping to make his life change, he decides to take a class on how to be a perfect caregiver and is assigned to teenage Trevor, who suffers from muscular dystrophy. Benjamin begins to realize that life alone is the teacher and sadly there is no class to prepare him for the lesson. The road trip to visit Benjamin’s past will help change and strengthen his and Trevor’s relationship, with several hilarious bumps along the way. Jonathan Evison weaves an emotional tale of finding one’s self, while facing the past and caring for someone who uses humor as a way of coping. Readers will find themselves laughing numerous times and they will impatiently read each page as they search for the truth behind Ben’s past. Flashbacks and quick-witted responses will keep readers on their toes. Recommended for fans of emotional life stories with light-hearted twists, who are willing to take a road trip called life. Notes: This review was written for My Sister's Books. This review was originally posted on Ariesgrl Book Reviews.
OurBookAddiction More than 1 year ago
I wanted to like this more but the characters felt a little one dimensional to me until the last quarter of the book. If the first 3/4 would have had the same emotional punch as the remainder, I would have given it 4 stars. I had trouble connecting with Ben until more of his past was let out.