×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Risk Pool
     

The Risk Pool

4.4 44
by Richard Russo
 

See All Formats & Editions

A wonderfully funny, perceptive novel The Risk Pool is set in Mohawk, New York, where Ned Hall is doing his best to grow up, even though neither of his estranged parents can properly be called adult.

His father, Sam, cultivates bad habits so assiduously that he is stuck at the bottom of his auto insurance risk pool. His mother, Jenny, is slowly going crazy

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Risk Pool 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 44 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not one of his best...dragged on in spots.
bbqbill More than 1 year ago
I read The Risk Pool shortly after original publication, and have re-read it three or four times since. It's one of the most enjoyable reads I've ever experienced. I have read all of his books, and The Risk Pool is Russo's best work. He creates word magic with phrases such as, "He put out what was left of his cigarette with what was left of his thumb". You can't go wrong with this one!
adabelle22 More than 1 year ago
The characters and the storyline brought back fond, and not so fond, memories of the small Louisiana town I grew up in. I recommend reading Mohawk first, then this follow up. The writing is superb! Another winner for Russo.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The kind of book that keeps you up for "5 more minutes..." until you pass out and cant wait to start reading again as soon as you wake up
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JustMyTwoCents More than 1 year ago
Really a 3-1/2 star novel--the question was whether to round up or down. After reading Richard Russo's recent memoir which focussed on caring for his mother well into adult life, I thought I should revisit some of his  fiction. I had read Empire Falls and enjoyed it very much, so since then I picked up from the library his collection of short stories, and after that Bridge of Sighs. Risk Pool is the last of his books I plan to read for a while. While I enjoy them, his stories seem more to me to be less about plot and more about its characters. The settings so far have always been in small, failing mill towns in upstate New York. While I enjoyed the read, it seemed to me to be far too long, and I eventually tired of story after story after story about the narrator's father, his drinking exploits, and his negligent parenting. I simply didn't like the father, and felt annoyed that Russo seemed to want me to like him or at least feel sorry for him at the end. I didn't. At the same time, isn't that how life is? Sometimes the people who do all the wrong things are the most beloved because they are "fun" and the people who do all the right things, are treated with far less admiration. I felt that way about the lawyer who eventually married Ned's mother. Long suffering, and patient, he seemed to me the only one in the story who really looked out for Ned both as a child and into adulthood. Yet Ned seemed to have little appreciation for him. His mother never loved him. And his father beat him up. Unfortunately, while I didn't like a lot of the character's behaviors, they also rang true to life and Russo was adept at making that point--like it or not. Still, at the end of the novel, I closed the book and was done with it. I felt no sadness that the story had come to an end. For that reason, I found it a good story, but not a great one.-
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I need a mate
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Join snowclan at red icy. Stonestar
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Name: Lotus Description: A white shecat with pinkish ears, tail, paws and stripe down her back. She has green eyes. Age: About 25 Personality: Caring, Compassionate, Funny Bio: She and Blaze were kittypets until their twolegs house burned down. Other info: After the fire, Blaze taught her to hunt and fight. She misses her twolegs. Although Lotus isn't the best at anything, she truly tries her best to be good at everything. __________________________________________________________________________ Name: Blaze Description: A black tom with strange orange eyes. Age: About 25 moons Personality: Quiet, Kind, and Protective Bio: Same as Lotus Other info: Blaze was glad when the fire happened, and had already learned to hunt and fight. He is espically good at hunting, and would do anything to rid himself of the horrible nightmares he has every night.
bigbox2610 More than 1 year ago
I have read everything Richard Russo has written and this is absolutely the BEST. So good in fact, this is the second time I've read it. Probably not the last. Do yourself a favor, get this book, and read it.....at least twice!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hd
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
DOES ANYONE REMEMBER ME? Of course not.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Oh my
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hello! And Skylar my real name is Skylar! And my nickname is Sky. I am a girl. U? And its uncommon for Skylar to be spelled with an a!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hello.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I didnt enjoy the sample.It was kinda gross.....woulda given 0 stars if I could.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hey ppl
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The young blind shecat secretly creeps in and whispers to the leader accidently scares him/her. "May i join and become the med cat apprentice?"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ggggggggg
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
God i hope u get this....go to the book next to ours....it explains everything...i miss youu teww baybe. So much. Idk how im even getting wi fi right now bcuz i nvr do....i really hope u read this tho. And if youre reading this nd know where dustin is...can u help? I got kicked off his nd my book. So like this says...i need him to the book next to his nd mine. Thnx.