×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Road to Mercy
     

The Road to Mercy

4.6 12
by Kathy Harris
 

See All Formats & Editions

Josh Harrison, a contemporary Christian singer, and his wife Bethany face a difficult decision that also tests their faith. A rupture in Beth's carotid artery leaves her on the brink of death even as she's pregnant with their first child. While Dr. Ben Abrams urges her to terminate the pregnancy to save her own life, she and Josh step out on faith and decide to carry

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Road to Mercy 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Diana0 More than 1 year ago
The Road to Mercy By: Kathy Harris This is my first book by Kathy Harris I really enjoyed it. It kept me wanting to read and not put it down. Great Characters. Josh and his wife Bethany are faced with some major decisions they need to make. Can they make these decisions based on being Christians? Not knowing if Bethany will make it through the decision they make. The decision they make is based on faith. Only god's mercy and their faith can get them through this trial in their life. I love Christian fiction Kathy did a wonderful job with this story. Looking forward to her next book.
loriweller1 More than 1 year ago
The Road to Mercy is an excellent book. Josh Harrison, a Christian singer, is on the road most of the time. Bethany, his wife, has a life threatening health issue along with being pregnant. Even though an abortion was recommended, Bethany decides she wants to maintain the pregnany. She also has a secret she is keeping from her husband. Trust and mercy is stressed throughout the book. Kathy Harris has done an excellent job with this being her first book. I will continue to follow anything she writes. I recieved this book from The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion.
Cheri5 More than 1 year ago
I have been wanting to read The Road to Mercy for a while, so I was excited when BookClubNetwork offered it for my honest review. What a great book! Ms. Harris wrote about tough subjects so effortlessly, transporting us back and forth between a 50-year span without missing a beat. I loved the suspense and mystery that she added to the storyline for more intrigue and to keep the reader involved, but I also loved the complexity of the characters’ emotions as they were dealing with their own hurts from the past. Road to Mercy will appeal to so many and I’ve already begun recommending it. I look forward to reading more books by Ms. Harris and am so glad I had the opportunity to read this one. I received this book for free in exchange for my honest review.
AnitaTN1 More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book very much. The characters are very true to life and you come away from this book feeling like you know these people. This book handled the difficult subject of abortion with tact and grace, showing God’s love throughout. The faith of the characters in the book are very inspiring to me. If you enjoy Christian fiction, you will love this book. I received this book for review purposes from The Book Club Network, Inc. for my honest opinion.
ARS8 More than 1 year ago
The Road To Mercy is a tale that is relevant in our day and age. It first starts out with a plane crash some years before in the prologue and then we are dropped into the lives of Josh and Beth Harrison's lives in the present day. Josh is an up and coming singer, songwriter in the Christian music business and currently on tour when Beth is rushed to the hospital. We find out that Beth has a very serious conditon, one of her arteries is partially dissected. Beth is in a great amount of pain and her life is in danger. On top of that they find out that she is pregnant with their first child. The doctor, Dr. Ben Abrams, suggests an abortion as his first concern is Beth. Beth is adamant that that will not happen and Josh stands by her side. There were so many areas in this story that I thought Kathy Harris described well. The pain from Beth's affliction and her body's dependancy on the pain killers, Josh's tour on the road and the dealings with his band mates, to the next door neighbor and the paitence she had in becoming Beth's caregiver when Josh could not be there. I felt for Beth and became frustrated with Josh. However, I did understand how Josh would feel then I would become frustrated with Beth. All in all this was a page turner and had so much more going on than I have even mentioned. I really liked how the author really showed us the lie that so many women are fed today and how this lie really does affect them for the rest of their lives. I also liked that in this story everything happened for a reason even if it seemed very tragic in the beginning. I recieved this book from The Book Club Network Inc. and the opionions are my own.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Aspiring contemporary Christian singer, Josh Harrison, has a career on the rise and a happy life with his beautiful wife, Beth. Very soon into the story they must face a life-threatening health issue, complicated by a pregnancy that presents a difficult decision for them. Their faith is shaken, and they struggle with their faith journey. A secret that Beth has kept from Josh also threatens their marriage. Josh's music in concerts witnesses to thousands of people, but Beth and Josh's lives impact a certain doctor who had chosen to live a life based on science, not religion and admits that he's an agnostic Jew. Moreover, Beth discovers a God "coincidence" linking their two families many years before. The Road to Mercy is a story written with compassion and truth. God's grace and mercy are open to everyone who asks. The minor stories woven within Beth and Josh's are just as intriguing and touching as theirs. Kathy Harris's novel will lift your spirits and reaffirm your faith in God's endless love. I received this book through The Book Club Network in exchange for an honest review.
dhiggins4 More than 1 year ago
What a thought provoking novel! Josh Harrison is a contemporary Christian singer and his wife Bethany is pregnant. Bethany also has a serious condition that could take the life of her , her baby, or both. Bethany has a secret that she needs to tell her husband. Bethany's doctor also is somehow connected with this couple. Throughout the whole book, the theme of forgiveness is seen. This book has a wonderful Christian message and is a very easy read. I would definitely recommend this book to everyone! I received this book from bookfun for my honest opinion.
inspiremichelle More than 1 year ago
Josh Harrison is a rising Christian singer, he’s on top of the world. His wife Bethany suffers a spontaneous dissection of the carotid artery, that rocks their world. Soon after they discover she is pregnant. Her doctor Ben Abrams encourages them to terminate her pregnancy for her own healthy. With the weight of the world on their shoulder they face some life changing decisions. This was a good book that touched some hard subjects, like abortion, forgiveness, trust in Christ, His mercy and faith. The back cover says it better than anyone could, “Tragedy, Love & Secrets meet on a journey of faith.” This was my first book by Kathy Harris I have read. I found it to be well written, well researched and the characters flowed flawlessly. I give this book 4 stars and must warn you it will pull at your heart strings. I recommend The Road to Mercy to all lovers of Christian Fiction lovers. I want to thank the author Kathy Harris and publisher Abingdon Press for bringing good clean Christian books like this one to readers like me. I would also like to thank The Book Club Network Inc. for providing me with this book in exchange for my honest review. I am grateful for their generosity.
sherrijinga More than 1 year ago
Road to Mercy took me a while to pick up. Every time I’d think about starting this book, it seemed like such a heavy topic so I would lay it aside. I prefer historical romance, as well. But when I finally decided to read it, I was so glad! The heroine, Bethany, suffers from a rupture of her carotid artery. My best friend suffered from a subarachnoid hemorrhage a few years ago so I was instantly drawn in to this story. I related to what the heroine was going through in her recovery. Bethany is married to Josh, A Christian musician who travels a lot. They have a great relationship but the trials they go through cause much stress. They each have decisions to make, secrets that need to be told, and a faith that will be tested until the end. This book is about forgiveness and faith. I believe it’s a great debut novel by Kathy Harris!  I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher to review. I was asked to give my honest opinion.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very thought provoking
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
VicG More than 1 year ago
Kathy Harris in her new book, “The Road to Mercy” published by Abingdon Press takes us into the lives of Ben Abrams and Josh and Bethany Harrison. From the back cover: Tragedy, love and secrets meet on a journey of faith Dr. Ben Abrams, rescued as an infant from a fiery crash that killed his family, turned his adversities into success but lost his heritage of faith. Fifty years later Josh and Bethany Harrison face a difficult decision that also tests their faith. A rupture in Beth’s carotid artery leaves her on the brink of death, even as she’s pregnant with their first child. While Dr. Abrams urges her to abort the baby to save her own life, she and Josh step out on faith and continue the pregnancy. During the next few months, Josh, a contemporary Christian singer, struggles with his faith while Beth hides a secret that may destroy their marriage. She also discovers a decades-old connection to Dr. Abrams that could change his life forever. “The Road to Mercy” is a drama that explores real life events in a fictional setting. What sets it apart are the outstanding characters that Ms. Harris brings to life. Dr. Ben Abrams and Josh and Bethany Harrison are individuals who we may know from work or who live down the street that is how real they are. When they go through their pain and suffering we go through with them. God said we would have trials but that He would give us the victory so when these three experience their victory we let out our victory yell that will rival anything heard at a sports stadium. “The Road to Mercy” provides encouragement to keep working through our problems with God’s help. Kathy Harris knows how to tell a story and she has given us an amazingly beautiful story of how God can take our hurts and turn the bad into things that are good. I liked this book and look forward to more stories from Kathy Harris. If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and business professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand. To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Abingdon Press. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”