×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Shadow and the Rose
     

The Shadow and the Rose

4.5 35
by Amanda DeWees
 

See All Formats & Editions

Book 1 of the Ash Grove Chronicles. In the breathtaking Blue Ridge Mountains, Ash Grove High School for the Performing Arts draws the brightest and most talented teens. But beneath the peaceful surface, supernatural forces are at work...

Sixteen-year-old Joy, a plain but feisty junior at Ash Grove High, is plunged into a dangerous romance when a classmate's dare

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Shadow and the Rose 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 35 reviews.
vampfan56 More than 1 year ago
Amanda DeWees wrote an excellent gothic historical in Sea of Secrets. Since her Regency voice was pitch perfect, I was curious how she would make the transition to contemporary YA. I actually like this novel even better. Her heroine, Joy, is feisty and fiercely loyal to her friends. Tanner is the beautiful, seemingly unattainable hero, similar to Edward in the Twilight series. The secondary characters are funny, snarky, and smart, and their dialog is one of the best elements in the book. Joy and Tanner face some devastating and terrifying obstacles, and the villain of the book is unique and fascinating. The story is fresh, fast-paced, and will leave you wanting more.
Anonymous 10 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed this, the first book by Amanda DeWeese i've had the pleasure of reading•
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed Reading !!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have always been a fan of The Ballad of tam Lin since reading an earthly knight. To add to it that this is a modern retelling of a classic ballad was amazing. It is better then any other retelling of Tam lin that i have read and I have read quite a few. I would recommend this to anybody who likes a retelling and who loves a love story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Maybe I was impatient, but some parts seemed a little slow. Overall, I enjoyed this story! Would recommend
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed it. Good characters, nice scenes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Keeps you on your toes the whole time
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is the perfect length for the young adults it is intended for, at 200 pages it is a fast, moving and enjoyable read. It is a paranormal, mystery, romance which will thrill the reader. It is about a naive newcomer to a progressive high school for talented teenagers. This is a boarding school. Her father is in another state, in the hospital, undergoing cancer treatments. Her mother is deceased. This 17 year is described as a plain jane. She gets caught up in an urbane legend and to disapprove it, she picks a forbidden rose off a grave in an old abanded cemetary. There she meets, insecure, handsome Tanner, shares a kiss with him and both their worlds are changed. This is a paranormal book with a very smooth and realistic style of writing. I am not a fan of the paranormal, but this book was so well written, I could picture each event and became lost in the storyline, instead of viewing it with my usual skepticism. I have several problems with this book, even though it was amazingly written and enjoyable. This made it hard for me to decide which rating to give it. First it is a YA book with hot, steamy sex. Second, the sex results in an unplanned pregnancy. Third, this is viewed as a perfectly normal and accepted practice by all the adults in the the book. I know teenagers have sex and this happens a lot, but there are so many ways to prevent pregnancies. Safe sex is good, people! Pregnancy, especially at such a young age, without the parental support of the teens' parents is a huge responsiblity and should be viewed as such. Instead everything is all peaches and cream. Teenage pregnancy is not an easy matter and should not be accepted as such. It is a hard road to travel and brings as many tears as blessings. I was told to keep an alka seltzer between my knees and if it dropped to the floor, my legs were too far apart. Thank goodness, teenagers today have more and better options. There are also several topics which are adult in nature, but I will not give more of the plot away. There is violence, which was a bit gritty at times, but not on the Twilight or Hungar Games level. More of a Harry Pottor type. Because of this book being geared to YAs, yet having rather explicit adult events was a rating conundrum. It is very well written and edited, a nice length, very entertaining, unique with many surprizes tucked into the chapters, when the reader least expects them. I am going to give this book five stars, which I rarely do, but with a parental warning, young readers should be at least sixteen, because this book is adult explicit. AD
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
THIS WAS AMAZING!!!!! ROMANCE,THEATER,DANCE,MUSIC,PARANORMAL,SEXY,MAGIC,WITCHCRAFT, AMAZINGNESS!!! What else do you really need in a book?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
And it is also well-written and frer of gramatical errors. :) Good book. I plan on buying the other two.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
good book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
indiebrag More than 1 year ago
We are proud to announce that "The Shadow and the Rose" by Amanda Dewees is a B.R.A.G.Medallion Honoree. This tells a reader that this book is well worth their time and money!
thesmboyce More than 1 year ago
The Shadow and the Rose is a magical story filled with romance and a strong heroine, all set in the modern age. It’s a story about standing up for the man you love, even when everyone else gives up on him. Though I didn't quite connect with Tanner (the leading man) and sometimes agreed with the people who wanted to give up him, this is truly a traditional romance with a modern, magical twist. I think romance fans will love this one.
dowies_place More than 1 year ago
I  was given this as an ebook by the author for an honest review. I love that in this books we are seeing characters who are more like the people you would expect to see on the street. The development of the main characters is phenomenal, and the writing truly makes you feel some strong emotions from the start.  I really could see my younger self identifying with Joy, who really just wants to fit in and be liked.  She has a lot of issues dealing with living in the musical shadow of her deceased mother and her teacher father who is very ill, as Joy is an average person with nothing too extraordinary going for her. You really hate Melisande before long and you wonder what in the world are these people thinking? But the key here is, it makes you wonder.   It does take a little bit to see just what is going on and it really draws you in!  Once the story really gets going, it does not stop! I loved it! Due to some of the more mature things in this book, I do suggest discretion in letting younger ages read this one.  If you like your novels with drama, mystery, action, romance and  a paranormal touch, then I highly suggest this one! The Shadow and the Rose is the first in The Ash Grove Chronicles and I highly suggest that you line these up in your library and read on!
grandmareads102 More than 1 year ago
The Shadow and The Rose is a well written YA novel that will appeal to readers of all ages. Amanda DeWees captures the angst and uncertainty of being a teenager and combines it with a suspenseful paranormal tale. Joy wants to belong but she thinks she doesn't have the talent to succeed at Ash Grove High School for the Performing Arts. On a dare she goes to a grave yard at midnight to pick a rose. There she meets Tanner, a famous teen model. They are drawn to each other but Tanner is controlled by supermodel Melisande. Will the lover's fate be controlled by good or by evil. You don't want to miss this story. The characters are finely crafted and intelligent and the ending delivers a surprise. I was gifted The Shadow and The Rose by the author for an honest review.
MommaLubSimpson More than 1 year ago
This was a great read. I am a HUGE Twilight fan, so of course I LOVE the paranormal YA heroin reads. I didn't in fact think it was that type of book until I dug further in.  I could really see myself being Joy and living that life. And...well HELLO... TANNER is certainly a benefit!!!!! Didn't quiet see that working out so well, or...together. But that was wicked. The story just flows, I love a book that flows in reading and that allows you to just escape, and I can honestly say that Amanda DeWees captured me in the book!  Ready for more!!!! Highly recommend to my friends and fellow readers!