×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Smoke at Dawn: A Novel of the Civil War
     

The Smoke at Dawn: A Novel of the Civil War

4.4 35
by Jeff Shaara
 

See All Formats & Editions

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER 

Jeff Shaara returns to the Civil War terrain he knows so well, with the latest novel in the series that started with A Blaze of Glory and A Chain of Thunder. In The Smoke at Dawn, the last great push of the Army of the Cumberland sets the stage for a decisive confrontation at Chattanooga that

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Smoke at Dawn 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 29 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
RCCnLA More than 1 year ago
Jeff Shaara's Civil War books bring big and small players together in major events. This approach of going from generals to privates gives the reader unique perspectives.Another great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another gripping novel by this author
Bastaraki More than 1 year ago
Excellent Reading
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
oldman66 More than 1 year ago
The Smoke at Dawn may be the best work so far from Jeff Shaara. Hard to fault anything about this fine read. A nice touch at the end is the final results of the characters, those in fact and those of fiction.
CaptFrank More than 1 year ago
Makes you believe you are there in the middle of history not reading a novel.Well researched and very well presented. This stage of the Civil War sealed the defeat of the Confederacy and severed the South's supply lines. Great book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
terrythehortmajor More than 1 year ago
Jeff knows how to write a book. I have never been disappointed when reading his books - I have every one that he has written and they all deserve a 5-star rating.
John_T29 More than 1 year ago
This book conveys a lot of information relating to the generals, soldiers, and politicians behind the American Civil War.
sawdusttm More than 1 year ago
yes, it is fiction, but seems to follow the actual history of the war.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was purchased as a gift for my husband. He has read every book Jeff Shaara has written (all the historical war books/series) and enjoyed every one of them. He is about three quarters of the way through this one, and when I asked him if he liked this book more or as much as all the others, he said this is an excellent read just like all of Jeff's books. I have also read many of his books and find them very engaging because you really feel like you are there experiencing the times and the real life events with the characters. I highly recommend this book and all of his books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Shaara continues to make the Civil War "personal," i.e. you feel like you're "there." Great research and detail, combined with superb creation of characters and conversations brings the action and reality right to your armchair! #3 in his series, this is another excellent effort and I eagerly look forward to the concluding volume.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
cmp53 More than 1 year ago
There is no doubt that Jeff Shaara has become my all time favorite author when it comes to wars and the details of the battlefield. His research is tremendous and you really get a great feel on why these battles played out the way they did. The Smoke at Dawn continues the great tradition of Jeff (and his dad)...every one of his books has been an enjoyable read.
os_mo More than 1 year ago
This book upholds the high standards that father & son have established. It is a solid portrayal of the armies and it's leaders at Chattanooga. It is a little light on the use of the rail systems to reinforce and re-supply the army of the Cumberland after Chickamauga. But the imagined dialogs and historical research is strongly valid.
mikeyg58 More than 1 year ago
Another great read from Mr. Shaara on the civil war. Excellent for those who like historical fiction and such a quick read. I signed up for the pre-release and got the signed book the day after it came out! A win-win experience for sure!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just what I expect from these books. A good story, absorbing writing, and new perspectives on historical figures big and small.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The brown tabby tom padded into the clearing. "I am looking for Dawnflower." He mewed, his green eyes sweeping around the clearing.
renalto More than 1 year ago
this book is written as all his works are.Brilliant.He goes to great length in his research and his writing grabs you and you cannot let go until you have reached the end.And then tell yourself this one of finest novels I have ever read.Do not fail to buy any of his books without worrying about anything.