×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Sound of a Wild Snail Eating
     

The Sound of a Wild Snail Eating

4.0 54
by Elisabeth Tova Bailey
 

See All Formats & Editions

While an illness keeps her bedridden, Bailey watches a wild snail that has taken up residence on her nightstand. As a result, she discovers the solace and sense of wonder that this mysterious creature brings and comes to a greater understanding of her own confined place in the world.

Intrigued by the snail's anatomy, cryptic defenses, clear decision making,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Sound of a Wild Snail Eating 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 54 reviews.
SAHARATEA More than 1 year ago
"...the snail had emerged from its shell into the alien territory of my room, with no clue as to where it was or how it had arrived; the lack of vegetation and the desertlike surroundings must have seemed strange. The snail and I were both living in altered landscapes not of our choosing; I figured we shared a sense of loss and displacement." Elisabeth Tova Bailey was in her mid-thirties when struck with a mysterious illness that soon led to her complete incapacitation. Without knowing the cause, much less the cure or the course that it might take, the disease was a frightening visitor. One day, a friend stops by with a rather odd gift. A snail, from out in the yard. First placed in a flower pot and eventually a terrarium, the snail becomes Bailey's constant companion. Because of her lack of mobility and energy, much of her time was spent observing the creature. You might think this would be dull, or worse, that you'd be stuck listening to someone bleakly describing their every physical complaint. Not so. This book has very little to do with health issues and far more to do with curiosity and resilience. Bailey is not a complainer, actual details of her health are few and without self-pity. She doesn't simply give up either, she makes clear she wants to fight this unknown assailant on her life. That she does so with the help of a small snail is astounding. The first surprise is that snails have a daily routine. They have certain times to eat and sleep and travel. They often return to the same place to sleep, and they sleep on their side. (!!!) As she watches the daily activities of the snail, she manages to study research on snails in general and in detail. Turns out snail research is pretty deep...volumes have been written on every tiny detail. As in: snails have teeth, 2200+ of them! Seriously, if they were bigger you'd think twice about stepping on one. They also have a special talent for when the going gets tough in their little world: they start a process called estivation. It's not hibernation (they do that too!) but instead it allows them to become dormant when the weather goes bad, or they lose their preferred food source, etc. Some snails have been known to estivate more than a few years. The process of sealing off their little shell is fascinating, and a study in insulation. Then there's the romance. Researchers have studied that too, and I won't go into too much detail, but let's just say lady snails are not complaining about romance in their life! Male snails really knock themselves out on the charm aspect. So much of the research that is out there is fascinating, and Bailey sorts through it and shares the most interesting details. This isn't just a science project for her, she sees parallels in her condition as well as the snail's. Illness took her out of her social circle, and her life seemed slow and inconsequential. And snails usually are a typical example of slow and inconsequential living: "Everything about a snail is cryptic, and it was precisely this air of mystery that first captured my interest. My own life, I realized, was becoming just as cryptic. From the severe onset of my illness and through its innumerable relapses, my place in the world has been documented more by my absence than by my presence. While close friends understood my situation, those who didn't know me well found my disappearance from work and social circles inexplicable."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is unlike anything I have read before. At first description I thought it might be odd but I like unusual things and decided to take a chance on reading this. It has bound me to it's pages! Being familiar with ill health, I can identify with the author's frustration at not being able to move from her bed. When she begins to care for a snail that was brought to her by a friend, the story takes on a very sweet aspect. I don't think I will ever see a snail again without thinking of this account. I am halfway through the book. I read a few pages at night and it is very interesting and soothing to contemplate the relationship between living things. This will be on my list of favorites to read again.
AudreyCooper More than 1 year ago
I bought this book because of its title. I work in a greenhouse and am a little sentimental about the various creatures that are often called pests. Snails, especially, intrigue me. This book really is about snails and there is a great deal of information about the complex little mollusks. But it is also a memoir by a women confined by illness to a small world and her struggles with chronic fatigue syndrome. It is a soothing narrative and one that I recommend highly to anyone who wants a relaxing read about an animal we rarely think about, or befriend.
idajo2 More than 1 year ago
Elisabeth Tova Bailey's The Sound of a Wild Snail Eating is rife with finespun, and fascinating, detail about a "white-lipped forest snail" and its person. The small snail captured my heart from the moment s/he munched on a withered purple flower petal! I saw the snail as a lifesaver during the long days and nights the author struggled to come to terms with her devastating and debilitating illness. For those of us who love this book, the snail might well be described as a lifeSAVOR. The Sound of a Wild Snail Eating changed my perception of gastropods ~ forever. I will never view snails in the same light again nor will I ever intentionally harm a snail!
gmanpma More than 1 year ago
I usually read WWII history, but the title grabbed me. A great relaxing read. Read and enjoy.
juleecm1 More than 1 year ago
I couldn't imagine enjoying a book about observing a snail. How could I have been so dumb? It's a fascinating, lovely, delicate book about a woman's horrific health problems, and how the introduction of a little, forest snail into her life allowed her to participate in something other than her illness. Her inability to even get up led to a severely restricted existence, and by quietly watching this little snail, her horizons broadened and she felt as though she was participating in life again. And guess what? You CAN hear a snail eating, if only you are quiet enough and really listen. A wonderful reminder of the powers of quiet observance and healing. Marvelous book, can't recommend it highly enough.
Drora More than 1 year ago
Will never look at snails the same way again!!! A wonderful way to turn a terrible situation to a bearable one.
KristyMcCaffrey More than 1 year ago
In her 30's, Ms. Bailey contracted an unknown virus after a trip to Europe. What seemed at first to be the flu eventually turned into a two-decade struggle with a debilitating illness, leaving her bedridden for months at a time. She acquires a snail from the woods near her house and spends hours each day observing the creature. Her insights are intriguing--how many of us know what a snail likes to eat, its favorite place to sleep, or how they reproduce? With simple, easy-to-read prose, Ms. Bailey shows us how wide the world becomes when we focus on small details. Forced to slow her life to a snail's pace, the creature becomes a kindred spirit in a most profound way. I found this book to be an unexpected treat; her illness is heartbreaking, making you feel gratitude for the good health most of us take for granted, but her observations into the snail's world shows us that we move through life so quickly, invariably missing the magic of other creatures sharing the planet with us.
AnnieBB More than 1 year ago
It's hard to imagine how one would live life if severely challenged by a devastating illness. But this book shares one woman's experience and how she found meaning and even joy in a pot of violets and a little wild snail (or two or three). This is a very satisfying read.
Amy Christiansen More than 1 year ago
Through illness, the author finds herself in possession of the time and pace to be able to observe in great detail the life and habits of a snail, and individual who, as her only true companion and connection to the world, sustains her through the worst of her illness. She peppers the text with beautiful spare poetry featuring snails, and with observations and writings of naturalists and snail specialists, including fascinating scientific tidbits of snail biology, life cycle, and evolution. A beautiful and lyrically written short work that expresses reverence for life along with rigorous science and meticulously documented references for further reading and enjoyment. Slow down the pace of your life and revel in this short introduction to an entirely new and foreign world - that of a snail.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lovely book by a very I'll woman on her reflections a friend brings her a snail and a pot of violets . Watching her snail gives some focus and meaning to her life as she is bedridden due to a mysterious illness. I highly recommend this book . It is a gentle look at nature and discovery of something we take for granted.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Would u say a nine year old could read it....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Having had aquatic moon smails as pet when iwas a child .. I really enjoyed this little gem of a book. Ic
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I honestly don't know what to make of this. I think it's got some potential. A fairly quick read for me. The author seems to go more into scientific detail rather than the character's own life, and personally, it felt like reading a science report of some sort, which I didn't like at all. So I'm on the fence with this one.
kyohin More than 1 year ago
Each Christmas I try to find a gem of a book which will appeal to my grown daughters, and give them some food for thought. This book was perfect, and they both said they really enjoyed reading it. I'd recommend this for anyone who likes to mull over what they have consumed with their eyes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this - found it hard to put down. I was drawn by the character of the narrator and by my own curiosity about her little snail friend. A quiet story that draws you in - Enjoy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was entertaining, touching and contains a lot if wisdom and surprising insights into our humanity and the nature of all living things. Less enjoyable for me were the countless quotes from other sources on the details of snail biology. It's not that I don't think these details interesting, or relevant, but they just didn't seem to fit with within the rest of the story. I suspect that's because the author did most of this research after her time with the snail. The poetry of this book seemed more natural and genuine than the scientific commentary.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago