×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Spirit of Steamboat: A Walt Longmire Story
     

Spirit of Steamboat: A Walt Longmire Story

4.5 36
by Craig Johnson
 

See All Formats & Editions

A Christmas novella for fans of the hit drama series LONGMIRE now on Netflix and the New York Times–bestselling series. Craig Johnson's The Highwayman and An Obvious Fact are now available from Viking.

Sheriff Walt Longmire is in his office reading A Christmas Carol when he is

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Spirit of Steamboat: A Walt Longmire Story 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 36 reviews.
buckster More than 1 year ago
My family has been enthralled with Craig Johnson since the beginning of his writing career & many books & yrs later he still doesn't disappoint! I bought this novel for my parents ( dad mainly) for their 66th wedding anniversary. Craig was initially worried the book wouldn't be out by Oct. 24th but they were able to deliver & my parents couldn't have been more surprised & thrilled. My 87yr old Dad read it in a day ...asan added bonus...my Dad used to fly B 26 & 29's & loved Craig's attention to detail of the planes,etc. Not to mention the colorful characters that he continues to make lovable and alive. He always takes my breath away with a sublime character being the killer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm not sure why this oneisn't getting better reviews. Yes its short but mthats why there is product details. Fits right in with the rest of the Longmires. 5 stars all the way!!
LisaLCC More than 1 year ago
A short story filled with some of my favorite characters, and loaded with new ones to bring another wonderful story to the series. Action aplenty - and a story that brings an insight into the back stories of some of the main characters in the full length novels. Just what I needed to whet my whistle while waiting for Dry Bones to be released! All the perfect elements are there - action, adventure, history, humor - you name it, and Craig Johnson provides it!
Andrew_of_Dunedin More than 1 year ago
I’ve been a fan of Craig Johnson’s “Longmire” series of novels long before they were adapted for television. Craig has created a world with interesting people, intermingling in a modern-day version of what still feels like “The Old West”. However, my previous experience with Longmire’s Wyoming has been through full-length “whodunit” novels. I wondered how well this would adapt to the shorter novella. I shouldn’t have worried. Craig Johnson made sure that his novella, “Spirit of Steamboat”, differentiated itself from his other Longmire works by more than just length. The author first realizes that he must eliminate subplots – except for the overriding one of “how does this flashback tie into present-day events”. Then, Mr. Johnson changes formulas from his usual work, moving from a procedural murder mystery to a thriller for the purposes of this book. What he does NOT change is his fine sense of characterization, pacing, and the ability to place the reader into any scene with a description that neither skimps on words nor gets overly detailed. The book is set during the Christmas season – I encourage the reader to grab a copy, and put it aside until December. Then, set aside enough time to plow through approximately 150 ps in a sitting, because you will not want to put this one down in the middle. RATING: 5 stars. DISCLOSURE: I received this book free of charge from the publisher without obligation, although I'm sure that a fair and unbiased review would be appreciated.age
bakpen More than 1 year ago
This novella, told as a 25-year-old memory, is not a mystery but a how-are-they-getting-out-of-this adventure with young-er Lucian Connelly and Walt Longmire. It was a good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a terrific story from beginning to end. I highly recommend it!
John_F48 More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this tight tale about a vintage aircraft that served in World War II and is usually discussed only with respect to the Doolittle Raid of that fame. In fact, the aircraft served in many theaters of the War with distinction. I had an uncle that served in North Africa and southern Europe as a bombardier and was shot down over Austria late in the War. He never discussed his involvement to the best of my memory or his wounds, but he did love flying all of his life. The story appears to be well researched and the improvising seems authentic.
Silvertipgriz More than 1 year ago
I'm addicted to the Longmire series, and this was an excellent example of why. It's not typical, but I think those who love the snowy "frontier" areas this guy frequents will really love this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed this latest episode on the Sherrif Longmire series, however feel like I was conned. This is a short story that was posing as a full length book and was disappointed by the short length.
Curlygram More than 1 year ago
If you like the TV series you might like this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of his best. I've already passed it on to three people and they all loved it.
mewofford More than 1 year ago
The only trouble with this book is it's not long enough. Former sheriff and Walt's mentor, Lucian, takes a prominent position in this story containing the usual mixture of drama and comedy found in a Walt Longmire story. I will say I shed a few tears as well. Like I said, the only complaint is it wasn't nearly long enough.
leeniebeenie More than 1 year ago
Short, yes.. compelling, yes. Sometimes predictable but thoroughly enjoyable. I felt like a voyeur on the flight. Another page-turner by Craig Johnson and a real education on the quirks and abilities of the old VB-25.. 'Steamboat' is Fascinating stuff.
SmittyNT More than 1 year ago
All of his books are my favorites.....love the characters
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really, a great story woven with hints of A Christmas Carol, Doolittle's Raiders, and the resident gang of Absaroka County (sp). A quick read, as a novella, but every page is filled with characters that we know and a basic good plot. I read the first 80 pages of the 129 total in an hour. Good fun. Looking forward to rereading during the first snowfall here in NYC. Sparky
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
W t f
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago