×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Stupidest Angel: A Heartwarming Tale of Christmas Terror, Version 2.0
     

The Stupidest Angel: A Heartwarming Tale of Christmas Terror, Version 2.0

3.9 212
by Christopher Moore
 

See All Formats & Editions

'Twas the night (okay, more like the week) before Christmas, and all through the tiny community of Pine Cove, California, people are busy buying, wrapping, packing, and generally getting into the holiday spirit.

But not everybody is feeling the joy. Little Joshua Barker is in desperate need of a holiday miracle. No, he's not on his deathbed; no, his dog hasn't

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Stupidest Angel with Bonus Material 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 212 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like this author's work. I listened to a recorded version and found myself wondering if he and I knew some of the same people! Religious folks who are easily offended should probably avoid this one, though the "stupidest angel" in question isn't the central character. A good, funny, light read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As others have noted, this book is not for the easily offended. If it were a movie, I'd expect an 'R' rating for language, adult-content and violence. (Heresy and sacrelige do not show on movie ratings, but consider yourself warned.) I could barely control laughing out loud while reading this. The analogies, characters, story-line and everything else conceivable had me gaffawing like a psychotic hyena on meth.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Definitely not a lighthearted book for sensitive people. It is warped, a bit raunchy, very rowdy and really really funny.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"To IKEA!" they shouted; such a great response from an exciting miracle. If you're in the mood for an unlikely holiday gem look no further.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Super demented, a lot of fun, and (strangely) with characters you really come to care about.
lovetoreadAR More than 1 year ago
Okay, before I even started this the author's warning had me laughing and I just knew it'd be good. I was not disappointed. The one liners were hilarious, the characters off the wall and the writing pure Moore genius. I couldn't put it down. From bell ringer brawls, to some colorful and possibly dysfunctional and yet charming couples, angels, zombies (and even the dead were just classic here. IKEA!!!), fruit bats and gluttonous attack dogs, a wild ride of holiday fun and horror comedy. There was a bit of off color humor in spots, but not so bad I couldn't overlook it. If you love his work, you'll want this one for your collection. If you're looking for something fun and different, this certainly qualifies. Some books will have the special bonus chapter. While it ends perfectly fine without it, it's also a cute read if you get the extended version.
JgleJne More than 1 year ago
This is truly a great Christmas story from the mind of christopher moore! I am still laughing over the fruit bat in the book...and i read it like four years ago! you have to read it over and over it is so funny to be sure you get all the jokes!
starbird56 More than 1 year ago
Good intentions don't always lead to good results, as the characters soon learn. There are other works by Moore that I like more, but this one was a fun read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My personal Christmas tradition every year is to curl up and enjoy this book. Christmas spirit, fruit bats and Ikea obsessed zombies... What's not to love?
Amah More than 1 year ago
*Pretty Darn Funny! Wacky characters! I really enjoy Moore's writing style & these characters are some of his best. I'll probably read it next holiday season.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So I read this book only because it was chosen by my book club. I am so glad I did! Funny and quick read. I really enjoyed it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I picked up this book on a whim hoping for a light funny read when I was feeling a little glum. I could not put it down! I laughed from beginning to end - literally from page one to the last. I was quoting lines to anyone who would listen with tears rolling down my face and trying to catch my breath! I cannot believe this is my first read with this author. I am definitely getting more from him as soon as I am done writing this review. As I saw on other reviews, I must warn you to not waste your money if you are an easily offended individual. There is cursing and absolute absurdities that would truly offend some. Just read the synopsis of the book, and you will probably know if you would be offended. If you are looking for a fall out of your chair laughing kind of book, this one is definitely for you. Loved it, loved it loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Extremely amusing. A new tradition is born. Reading Dickens by the fire? Read a little Moore by the fire.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very warped, extremely funny!!!
LittleLAM More than 1 year ago
The second Christopher Moore book I read - And I def love his writing! I cant wait to read Lamb next =) I love how he ties in characters from previous stories to add an 'inside joke touch' to each book - It is true, it could have been proof read a little better; however, it wont bother you in the least Im sure =) A wonderful, laugh out loud book that I def recommend!
DeDeFlowers More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. It is a fast read and very enjoyable. Chris Moore is a hilarious author. The Stupidest Angel is funny, thrilling and a little touching. It's always fun when Moore's characters show up in other books too :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved Moore's other books, and I do consider him a good author. But I think the Stupidest Angel is probably his worst book so far. The plot is just over the top and it seems to be all over the place in my opinion. His humor and wit isn't as sharp as it is in other books like Lamb or A Dirty Job. It is a quick read and there is some enjoyment to be had, but overall the story and writing is more childish. A lot of characters from his other books make an appearance in this one as is tradition with Moore. If you you're a fan of Moore you may want to read it anyway. I think the main reason it's weaker is because he states someone asked him to write a Christmas story and that could have caused a strain on the brain. Anyway the book is okay, but it's sadly not his best work.
Sean_From_OHIO More than 1 year ago
Christopher Moore does one thing better than anyone, and that's completely saturate the reader with a world. And the world he creates here (or better yet in his previous novels Practical Demonkeeping and Lust Lizard Of Melancholy Cove) is hilarious. Comedy is the hardest form of entertainment to translate on page because the reader needs to always be on the same page as the author or the jokes will go right on by your head. Here, I was in lock step with Moore. I loved every line on every page. Even the animals are a comedic gold mine. Truly a hilarious masterpiece! A+
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While this is not his best book, it was a very original idea. Plus is was neat to see a lot of returning characters. If you're a Christopher Moore fan, or just like goofy, off-beat books, you will love The Stupidest Angel.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Nothing has warmed the Christmas cockles of my heart like this book, although there should have been a warning on the cover not to drink milk and read at the same time, lest hilarity get the better of your bovine beverage.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought this was the best Christopher Moore book so far. I have enjoyed them all, but this one had me laughing so hard that I had to stop to wipe my tears so I could continue to read. I have read it several times, each time I laugh just as much as the first time. I highly recommend it to those readers that don't take life too seriously and enjoy a demented and funny read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Got it from the lubrary imediately bought it to reread its moore with no limits the theme is christmas the priority hilarious anything will happen because if yohre going to write a christmas book it beter defie all conceptions or dont bother because someone else will have already written it
JB_Richards More than 1 year ago
Let's see . . . I can hear the casting pitch for the movie now: "It's got a peeping-tom fruit bat, a strikingly handsome angel who is much dumber than he looks, a doped-up constable, a warrior babe off her meds, a murdered-but-now-zombified Santa, and a kid with a Christmas wish that goes terribly, terribly awry!" "Yeah, yeah . . . but do I get the starring role?" Angel Raziel asks the producer. The producer levels his sights on Angel. "Sure, sure-" "I'll do it!" Angel yells as he jumps up from his seat and bangs his fist on the highly polished surface of the conference table, spilling the producer's coffee all over his portfolio. "I love it!" Sitting on the sofa, waiting for his father to give him a ride to his after-school karate class is the producer's kid, Joshua. Seeing the two men give each other a gentlemanly pat on the back then shake hands, the kid stands up, shakes his head, and walks out the door. Look, I'm a fan of Moore's, but I'm not sure what he was trying to convey with this Christmas tale of misbegotten souls. It has no intrinsic value whatsoever - but for some strange reason it was such a hot-mess, I just couldn't put it down. I just had to find out how the saga ended. Am I glad I did? Still not sure, but I probably will find a good place in the recycling bin for this one. JB Richards Author of "Miriamne the Magdala"
ConfuzzledShannon More than 1 year ago
A town that is full of crazies to begin with get’s sent an angel to grant the Christmas wish of a young boy. The angel who gets the job is a little bonkers himself and...well more chaos ensues as the angel tries to give the child what he wants. The book is pure silliness which seems to be a theme of Moore books and it is why I like them but sometimes too much silliness can bore a person. Like the saying “ You can’t have too much a good thing”. I have been recommended The Stupidest Angel many times over the years. Many have said that this is author Christopher Moore’s best book. It is the third book I have read by him and I have to said it is in third place for me. I like A Dirty Job and then You Suck for first and second. Although it is not my favorite Moore book I still like his humor even if sometimes it goes a little too far. I will read more of his books because I do enjoy the characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love CM's books, all oof them!