×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Tao of Martha: My Year of LIVING; Or, Why I'm Never Getting All That Glitter Off of the Dog
     

The Tao of Martha: My Year of LIVING; Or, Why I'm Never Getting All That Glitter Off of the Dog

4.5 42
by Jen Lancaster
 

See All Formats & Editions

One would think that with her impressive list of bestselling self-improvement memoirs Jen Lancaster would have it all together by now. One would be wrong.

After all, she’s no Martha Stewart. And that’s why Jen is going to Martha up and live her life according to the advice of America’s overachieving older sister—the woman who turns

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Tao of Martha: My Year of LIVING; Or, Why I'm Never Getting All That Glitter Off of the Dog 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 42 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book. I have enjoyed all of Jen Lancaster's books, but this was a stand out. It was at times touching and then uproariously funny. I highly recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have been a fan of Jen Lancaster since someone told me to read her very first book. I love her writing style and her blog, and often forget I'm NOT one of her friends... simply an adoring fan. While I've loved all of her book, this one seems the most personal to me-- really delving into her love of pets and even a little deeper into her relationship with Fletch. I'm pretty sure this is the first Jen Lancaster book that made me cry-- anyone who has loved a pet can empathize with her chapters about Maisy. This is another one of her great books-- so funny you'll catch yourself laughing out loud (her attempt at hollowing out eggs with compressed air had tears running down my cheeks!) and agreeing with her wise statements and observations. Buy it now. I know you'll love it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Everybook Jen writes is funnier than the one before. Definitely recommend this!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book by Jen Lancaster. Shows just how much she and Fletch have changed over the years and they are just so likeable.
ajroyston More than 1 year ago
This book reminded me more of her first few novels...a return to laugh-out-loud moments! I truly enjoyed this book and have even decided to make some "Martha" changes in my life. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Every bit as good as Such a Pretty Fat. I laughed myself to tears and coughing fits multiple times.
Abigail127 More than 1 year ago
Funny as usual..Can't go wrong with Jen!!
Becca65 More than 1 year ago
Witty, funny and honest. Just when I think she can't get any funnier, she does. Highly recommend this read.
bella2367 More than 1 year ago
I love all her books. A great Summer read and a lot of feeling. I have a lot of the same thoughts and the same things come out of my mouth also. Love the stories about the pets and it helped me get through yet another loss of a dog last week.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the genuine, snarky, funny writing! Plus, the year of living Martha - style was such fun to read through.
bookloverfl12 More than 1 year ago
Once I got past the gardening parts, I really started enjoying this book. Maybe it is because I have no clue what the plants were or maybe it is because I don't like gardening - I am just glad that I started enjoying the book! (Minus the Maisy part :-( ) I can tell her writing style changed from her first books. Seems more edited than before. Still love her though!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! I love the honesty and can easily see myself in several of her stories. Fletch is beyond wonderful and his love and devotion to Jen is on every page. I am reading her other memoirs now and they are just as good. Keep up the hilarious writing Jen, you definitely have a fan in me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dawn--S More than 1 year ago
Jen Lancaster is one of my favorite authors. I start one of her books and I don't put it down until I have read the whole thing. This one doesn't dissapoint. She's as funny as ever with a little bit of sadness that those of us that have been her fan from the start will feel the pain as if it was our own. I love Jen best when she writes about her life and experiences. She's so easy to relate to.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago