×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Testing Guide
     

The Testing Guide

3.6 16
by Joelle Charbonneau
 

In the scarred and war-battered United Commonwealth, ten-year-old Cia Vale watches her older brother Zeen dream about being chosen for The Testing. He’s graduated at the top of his class, and being chosen, like his father was before him, means a chance to attend The University and help lead the effort to revitalize postwar civilization. Cia is

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Testing Guide 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked the book. Love it when you get insite into other characters of the story. I read it prior to reading THE TESTING and INDEPENSANT STUDY and did not get much from it. By the time it grabbed my interest it was over. After having read the first to books in the series it is worth a re-read. My recommendation: read The Testing then The Testing Guide. Loved the series and already have the third book pre-ordered. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This prequel made me want to go out and get the others in the series as soon as I started it. It's similar to the Divergent series and Hunger Games series. Anyone who enjoyed those series will really like this one. I highly recommend The Testing series!!!
MyndiL More than 1 year ago
What I'm guessing is just a peek into the world that I'm about to learn about in The Testing. I actually hopped on GR to show someone the series I was about to read and learned about this little novella. So I clicked the link and got it for my Nook. We learn about who I've learned is the main character of the series' big brother and what happened at his graduation and shortly after. We also get to see what his relationship with his sister was like. Only a bit though because the novella really was just a little sample of what was to come. I'm anxious to see how The Testing goes now that I've had this little taste.
Anonymous 12 months ago
Book: The Testing Guide<p>Series: the Testing Trilogy<p>Author: Joelle Charbonneau<p>Rating: five stars<p>Reviewer: Kai517<p>~-~<p>OVERVIEW:<p>In this 'e-only' prequel- I only say it this way because my paperback version of The Testing contains this in print as well- you are introduced to Five Lakes Colony, Tosu City, The Testing, and the United Commonwealth through the eyes of Zeen Vale, the older brother of the protagonist of the trilogy, Malencia 'Cia' Vale.<p>In these pages, you get to go through Zeen's Graduation Day and anticipation to get the high honor of being selected for the Testing, and the brief discovery that it is now also Cia's dream.<p>~-~<p>OPINION:<p>This story is short, cute, and absolutely perfect for introducing yourself to the world of The Testing trilogy.<p>You meet Zeen, who comes into play a few times throughout the series, Cia, who is obviously a huge part in the series, and are somewhat introduced to their parents- one of which happens to be a former Testing candidate and University graduate- and the other kids, Hart and Win- twins, and, ironically, my last name being one name and the other being the translation for my middle name- and Hamen.<p>Brief explanations of the United Commonwealth, Tosu City, The Testing, the University, and Five Lakes Colony are extremely helpful, too.<p>~-~<p>CONCENSUS:<p>This book, in my opinion, was a perfect opener to an amazing series, and it comes at absolutely no cost at all- unless you count time as a cost.<p>~-~<p>ALSO READ:<p>The Gifting trilogy by KE Ganshert<p>The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins<p>The Divergent trilogy by Veronica Roth<p>The Stone Braide Chronicles by Bonnie S Calhoun
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
a brief outline if testing and how someone could prepare for the testing... the lessons and groups.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
knight01 More than 1 year ago
I'm a big fan of The Testing series. I love the way Charbonneau sets up the "testing" itself at the beginning of the novel, exploring the way her main character feels about it, based upon hearsay and her opinion of and love for her father. It juxtaposes perfectly with the way she grows to feel about it, and the possibility of her freinds and family going through it by the end of the first novel. Because of how well she sets it up, I kind of feel like the Prequel is unnecesssary. I expected a little more digging in to her brother's experience; a bit longer of a book. But...unfortunately, there is little to share about him in regards to the testing. I appreciate understand why he feels the way he does, but I think it could've been addressed in an additional page or two in the first book of the series, just as sucessfully. It is really short, and I don't think it is worth the money. I could be wrong, but it didn't seem to be any longer than the excerpt in it for The Testing. That said, if Charbonneau decides to publish a prequel of the father's testing in the future though...I am in, provided I get a few more pages of text out of it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was made so every one nows what it is like to take a test
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yah, we definatly need to know that.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There is NO reason to get this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My boyfriend just made-out with me on my bed while we were both naked!! I loved it!!