×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Thrill Of It
     

The Thrill Of It

4.3 60
by Lauren Blakely
 

See All Formats & Editions

A new adult story of Love. Sex. Addiction. Manipulation. Blackmail. And Power...

Some say love can be an addiction. Others say it's the thing that makes life worth living. Let me tell you everything I know about love...
Love isn't patient, love isn't kind. Love is a game, a chase. A thrill. Love is wild and war-like, and every man and woman must fight for

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Thrill of It 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 60 reviews.
Pinky47 More than 1 year ago
Lauren is one of my favorite writers and each book keeps getting better!  This one is so different from any of her other books, but I am completely in love with this hot,sexy book.  Trey and Harley are so in tune to one another and I canot wait for the conclusion.  I love, love this book!
RettaR92377 More than 1 year ago
Lauren has done it again! I loved The Thrill of it! Harley is a virgin call girl who is messed up and being blackmailed. Trey has secrets from his past the cause him to become a sex addict and very messed up. Trey and Harley meet when she goes into the tattoo shop Trey works at for a tattoo and after a night of making out neither of them expect to see each other again, and they can't get each other off their minds. They meet again at a SLAA meeting and soon become best friends.  They try to resist each other but can they fight the temptations? Will they finally heal enough to move one and find love and happiness with each other? The Thrill of It is filled with hot steamy scenes that will leave your libido ready to explode!!
Bette313 More than 1 year ago
Wow...where to start?? This is a wonderfully written story that will keep you turning the page. It is however, different from Lauren Blakely's prior books. Not different bad....just different. The characters are dark, troubled, and raw. The book evokes all sorts of emotions (as every good book should). The books main characters, Trey and Harley, are two very troubled souls who are trying to face their demons and heal themselves one day at a time. Their story is not one you want to miss. I recommend this read for everyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you have any preconceived ideas of what Lauren Blakely’s books are going to be like, you can drop kick them out the window now and prepare yourself for something unique and edgy because this isn’t a bubble-gum, happy-go-lucky, everyone-loves-each-other-lets-make-babies type of novel.  Lauren has created a dramatic, angst-ridden story that will keep you on the edge of your seat from start to finish.  She spoon feeds us details in a deliciously slow pace, giving us just enough to keep the reader wondering where it’s going.   Fair warning, you won’t be able to put down The Thrill of It once you’ve started.  It’s one of those “OMG I have to know what happens next!” types of books!  It totally sucked me in and left me with in physical discomfort.  The burning ache in my chest just wouldn’t quit. At one point, I could have sworn that Lauren was trying to break my brain with some of the screwed up stuff Harley is subjected to. Trey made my tummy flip-flop in that “holy crap he’s sexy but flawed and I don’t even care” kind of way.  Harley made me want to hug her and tell her that her mother is a complete whack job and she needs to run far, far away from that disgusting excuse of a parent.  I love a first person dual-POV story and Lauren gave us enough from both Harley and Trey that I felt connected and invested in both these characters equally.  Harley and Trey are both deeply scarred individuals from childhood traumas, leading them both to a life of addiction to love and sex. When I first read the book blurb for The Thrill of It, I wondered how Lauren was going to pull off a virgin call girl.  She not only pulls it off, she does it in a fantastically believable way.  I never once doubted that Harley was really capable of being this virgin call girl.  Harley made me feel like she was void inside, like everything her mother had ever done to her had just gutted out her soul and she was this walking, talking puppet trying to find her way back to being human again.  Thinking power and pseudo-sex were the answer, she finds herself being paid for sex which gives her a sense of being in charge, something she’s never had before.  Harley’s mother has got to be one of the worst book characters ever imagined.  To say I disliked her is an understatement; I wanted to drop kick her across a room and then smack her a few times more just to be sure she knew how I felt about her selfish ass. Just like Harley, Trey has been damaged by his parents.  But in his case, I actually felt some sympathy for Trey’s parents; their situation had to be so difficult to bear.  His parents were suffering with such pain, but they dealt with their grief in a completely dysfunctional way, traumatizing Trey and basically leaving a kid to deal with emotions that even adults would have a hard time coming to grips with.  They were so cold and shut off, it’s no wonder Trey sought solace with women.  Womanizing aside, Trey is my favorite kind of leading male, hot and tattooed!  He uses his art to express his pain, and to never forget what his family is trying to sweep under the rug. Harley and Trey make some horrible decisions as they try to maneuver through their newfound relationship.  I appreciated that Lauren let these two characters find each other in their own time, not pushing any kind of “insta-love” on them that would make the story lose its uniqueness.  Since this is a dual POV story, we get to watch Harley and Trey work through their pain and insecurities, trying to become whole again, for themselves and each other.  One of my favorite parts of this story is the “Memoirs of a Teenage Sex Addict…” entries we get throughout the story.  They were so intriguing and I would love Lauren to make a book of just those because they were brilliant and I would read them in a heartbeat!  The Thrill of It also contains one of the best blow job scenes I’ve ever read.  I can’t say anymore than that, but trust me, it’s not one you’ll ever forget! So basically, what I’m saying is that I love this book, I need the next one like yesterday, and Lauren gets a huge 5 stars from me!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read the start of us and liked it but when i found out this book is a serial book with a cliffhanger ending i refuse to buy it. Come on people stop buying these incomplete books . They are ripping us off. I dont care how good they are i will not be buying. No wonder this author has to give so many books away for review another way they use to screw us!!!!!!!!!
CoffeeGoddessTK More than 1 year ago
Lauren Blakely is one of my absolute favorites. She consistently writes a feel-good love story, with likeable characters and HEAs. This story is something completely new and different for her, though, and she blows it out of the water. Tackling tough subject matter, with flawed and broken people that find their way to redemption in each other, 'The Thrill of It' is amazing. I was rooting for Harley and Trey from page 1, and absolutely could not put it down. I don't want to give away the story, but I cannot emphasize enough how truly wonderfully Lauren has written every character, and how invested I was from the beginning. This is the first book in a two-book series, and the ending left me feeling, 'What?! This can't be the end. I want the next book NOW!' I recommend 'The Thrill of It' without hesitation, and commend Lauren for giving us another book that is simply amazing.
Anonymous 5 months ago
Anonymous 6 months ago
When I read in a review that this is a cliffhanger, I flipped to the end of the book. Sure enough, it is. If that were advertised in the write up to sell the story, I could respect the fact. But I don't like the idea that the publisher tried to trick me into being hooked enough to buy the rest if the story. Even if this is a free book, it should either be complete, or be clear it is only half a book. I am deleting it, unread. Sad. I may have ended up a new fan. Now? Not.
Anonymous 6 months ago
This story was a lttle too far out there. Not typical Blakely. CB
Anonymous 6 months ago
Love the story. This was an amazing journey that the couple went through for both of them to find peace and have each other in the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The 2 stars is for the ending. I thought the characters journey to finding themselves was well written and poignant and I was glad they found each other. But am disappointed in the ending. Too typical. I am not interested in reading further. I also thought her "boss's" reaction was a little unbelievable . He lost his cash cow! Sorry, but money makes the world go round !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing! I loved the story of Harley & Trey! Looking forward to the next book to continue their story......
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first book in the series. It took me a while to get into it, but when i did i couldn't put it down. Great read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a great series! I read all 3 books, and they were each really good. I loved that the story continued through their relationship. A lot of times stories end as soon as the couple gets together as a couple, but in this series you get to see hardships they go through as well as continuous chemistry between the characters. They were sweet and sexy and yet real all at the same time. Loved it!
CaptivatedRding More than 1 year ago
This book totally impressed me. It was about two broken people who--in most circumstances--would never in a million years come together. But, because of their mutual need for love, understanding and healing, they end up being perfect for each other. This book is told in dual point-of-views. So, we get to be inside both Harley's and Trey's brains. Which, is really helpful considering how messed up they both are sometimes. There were moments when both of them would pull stuff that would have me so frustrated! And while I don't believe their actions were ever truly justified, getting to know what they were thinking shed some light on the "why" they did what they did. You have two people who have pretty horrible pasts. They're both trying to work on themselves and get better. In the midst of this they find each other. They make some mistakes. Some pretty horrid ones. However, in the end, what I loved was that it didn't matter. They loved each other, anyway. There are more books in this series and I definitely plan on reading them!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am loving this series. Really good. Can't wait to read the next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really liked this story.Thats what it was.A story! Very detailed u got to see the character development, harley & trey were friends first.I lived that it wasnt some insta love book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Liked the author's writing style, loved the vulnerability and the characters, their story and their willingness to change to have a happier life. I am a sucker the a great HEA. This book has a good one. Be sure to read the previous book before beginning this one. You will appreciate the characters more if you do.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Perfect for college age. Well written. Depth, emotion, struggles, and love.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
sexy story... can't wait for more