×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Tibetan Book of Living and Dying: The Spiritual Classic and International Bestseller
  • Alternative view 1 of Tibetan Book of Living and Dying: The Spiritual Classic and International Bestseller
  • Alternative view 2 of Tibetan Book of Living and Dying: The Spiritual Classic and International Bestseller
     

Tibetan Book of Living and Dying: The Spiritual Classic and International Bestseller

4.0 47
by Sogyal Rinpoche, Patrick Gaffney (Editor), Andrew Harvey (Editor)
 

See All Formats & Editions

“A magnificent achievement. In its power to touch the heart, to awaken consciousness, [The Tibetan Book of Living and Dying] is an inestimable gift.”
San Francisco Chronicle

A newly revised and updated edition of the internationally bestselling spiritual classic, The Tibetan Book of Living and Dying, written by

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Tibetan Book of Living and Dying 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 47 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
After reading the Tibetan Book of the Dead I found this book. It was a great addition to and I found it far better reading than The Tibetan Book of the Dead. Sogyal Rinpoche puts the teachings into a human and humorous voice. I love all his stories; they make the teachings personal just like they should be. I don't know how after reading this book one would not be affected by it in a positive way in some way.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was my introduction to Buddhism and what got me hooked. Read it, you'll love it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Sogyal Rinpoche has brought a modern psychological - medical understanding to the hospices and hospitals in the form of ' The Tibetan Book of Living and Dying '. More than an instructional text - this writing is a Dzogchen masterpiece with the author aptly trained in transmission of the difficult subject of Buddhism. With his Western experiences and the endowment of his master teachers Jamyang Khyentse Chokyi Lodro - Dudjom Rinpoche - Dilgo Khyentse Rinpoche - Khandro Tsering Chodron - Sogyal Rinpoche has explored the sublime aspects of Vajrayana Buddhism. This Diamond Way is practiced as a method for Living. The Art of Dying is practiced by all true adepts as the only meditation that can bring about true Guru Yoga and instill in the practioner the compassion necessary for enlightenment and ultimate transcendence. The understanding rendered to the teachings of the bardos is particularly poignant - and Rinpoche takes much of the fear and uncertainty away from the process of familarization with phenomenon of Mind. The very reading is a Dzogchen empowerment. Om mani padme hum - Om ah hum Vajra Guru Padma Siddhi hum - Hail the Jewel in the Lotus !
seeker2 More than 1 year ago
A must read for those seeking guidance in living a spiritually sound life in this life and hereafter. Specific meditation suggestions. Seeker2
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the most profound books regarding Buddhist perspective on our lives and our deaths. Recommended for those people trying to come to terms with an impending death, or seeking to reduce the daily stresses of their lives.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An excellent explanation of the traditional book of Living and Dying. Geared for Americans who are looking for a book complete with more in depth explanations of the tradition/belief system/context orientation of the Buddist religion.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As, perhaps, a lost soul of the western beliefs and the loss of a soul mate I looked to buddhism to find some answers. This book certainly lightens the blow of our impending inevitable. I enjoyed the read and the personal touch with great stories. Well recommended to anyone interested in the other side.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Rinpoche's teachings have much to offer.... His down-to-earth tone, peppered with songs and poetry from Buddhist sages, takes away much of the intense fear of death and makes it seem like an old friend. Sogyal Rinpoche...has delivered the Tibetanequivalent of 'The Divine Comedy.' One could imagine that this is what Dante might have written had he been a Buddhist metaphysician rather than a Christian poet.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great read for any buddhist
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago