×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Tube Riders
     

The Tube Riders

4.0 22
by Chris Ward
 
Beneath the dark streets of London they played a dangerous game with trains. Now it is their only chance for survival...

Mega Britain in 2075 is a dangerous place. A man known as the Governor rules the country with an iron hand, but within the towering perimeter walls of London Greater Urban Area anarchy spreads unchecked through the streets.

In the abandoned

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Tube Riders 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 22 reviews.
Mallory_SupernaturalFan More than 1 year ago
Review of The Tube Riders by Chris Ward An amazing adventure through a dystopian futuristic Britain that I sincerely hope no one ever lives to witness, “The Tube Riders” is an immensely creative and thoroughly imagined, riveting novel. I couldn’t step away and I doubt any other reader could. Marta, Simon, Paul, Jess, Switch, and later Paul’s brother Owen, and young Carl, undergo danger, horror, adrenaline surges, friendship, family loyalty, deaths galore-and what doesn’t kill them does indeed make them stronger. “The Tube Riders” possesses incredible characters, and not just the “heroes.” No, even the “villains”: Dreggo, Clayton, the Huntsmen, Dr. Karmski, and the mysterious, elusive, incredibly powerful Governor of Mega Britain, are vividly imaged and truly four-dimensional. Author Chris Ward weaves Dystopian society and culture with a natural outgrowth of the current rush-to-collapse seen in some segments of contemporary society, and with the history of decades of scientific experimentation, vivisection, and genetic engineering and manipulation. The quest to engineer a “Super-Man” in the Nietzschean sense is well more than a century old, but in the deft hands of this author, the quest reaches a horribly ugly but effective conclusion. I was provided with an e-book copy of this novel by the author, Chris Ward, on Sept. 12, 2012, via the Goodreads Group Making Connections, in exchange for my fair and impartial review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am trying to become interested in this book, but it is difficult to understand a need to jump on trains at the risk of one's life....these characters aren't teenagers. Surely in this fractured world there is higher calling...and they are preparing to have a gang war over what???!??
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LostSailorNY More than 1 year ago
[Warning: Mild Spoilers] I read this as part of the mamoth anthology A Taste of Tomorrow: The Dystopian Boxed Set. At first, I wasn't overly impressed by the premise but was pleasantly surprised by a well-put-together tale of young adults coping with unravelling lives and a crumbling world. The writing was generally strong throughout and the storytelling and world building both compelling and thoughtful. I recommend this. Though that's not to say that there weren't flaws. The multi-character viewpoints tended to work just fine, but more so in the beginning of the story; as the number of characters grows, however, the sense of "voice" in the story is diminished. Once the action moves beyond London and the "tubes," it was disappointing to have the initial focus character, Marta, reduced to the background and a role more as a love-struck girl than the leader she'd been earlier. Even multi-viewpoint stories need an anchor and Marta had been it in the first half, and then faded. For an over-long novel, the middle dragged at bit, and though the action and pacing were good, the numerous flight-and-then-flight scenes became a bit repetitive. But Ward redeems the story with a rousing and satisfying ending. I look forward to the final two books in the trilogy, which appear to be of a more manageable length.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
DerFish More than 1 year ago
Near future sf.  Very well written.  i guess if the are giving a book away free they cannot afford to have someone check it for typos, but it would be a smoother read if so.  Several young friend in a London which has really gone to hell escape from the police and cyborgs who are out to kill them . Great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A very well-written free 1100 page triology of a very bleak future in what was England. Survival, rebellion, and escape/adventure for 6 young people.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book rocks so hard. Had it for a while before I got around to reading it, then couldn't put it down. Went and got the other two books before I finished the first. Man what a ride. If your thinking of getting it and are on the fence, jump and get ready for a great ride.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Tube Riders is a riveting story from beginning to end! Chris Ward's vivid descriptions of Britain's dystopian society and the characters are easy to imagine and I could "place" myself right there in the story. Though the story is long it didn't drag; there was always something going on. I read it over a few days (things like a job kept getting in the way) and I eagerly anticipated continuing the read each day. And after finishing book one, I quickly bought book two!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A very good, very long story, very hard to put down. 1200+ pages. I read it in 3 settings. Well done. Glad the story continues
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An epic adventure set in a disfunctional, divided future Mega Britain.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was an enjoyable read! Fell in love with all the tube rider characters. Since I am not a grammer natzi, I never noticed any grammer or puncuation mistakes because the story was so engaging, and exciting that it didn't matter to me! I am looking forward to the next book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent creation of british dystopian future. Needs to be made into a movie! Just bought books 2 & 3.
Seoman More than 1 year ago
A view of the not too distant future in England. There are changes that might seem small at first....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ELLIEMI More than 1 year ago
gave up in first chapter. not vey clear.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read as well as free !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very imaginative, really draws you in to a futuristic world that is scary and perhaps often a little to close to reality! I'm off to buy the next one!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Keeps you wondering what will happen. You are drawn to the characters.
repatpat More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed reading this. Hard to put it down. Good character development. Action packed. I would recommend this book.