×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Twelfth Child
     

The Twelfth Child

4.1 13
by Bette Lee Crosby
 

See All Formats & Editions

The Twelfth Child is a novel about trust, love and friendship. Set in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia, this story starts in early 1900's and takes readers on a journey of mystery, adventure and discovery as young Abigail Anne Lannigan struggles to unearth the woman she is destined to become.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Twelfth Child 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
cindyhreads More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! In it we follow the life of Abigail, the 12th child born to a father who didn't even think girl babies were worth bothering to name. Fortunately her mother loved and cared for her. The story had humorous moments along with some sadness and the author really has a way of describing her characters that makes you feel as if you know them personally. The friendship between Abigail and Destiny was a very touching one which shows that sometimes the most caring people are not related to you! If you are looking for an excellent book that spans years and is hard to put down, this is the one for you!
ruthhill74 More than 1 year ago
If I would have just judged the first half of the book, I probably would have given it a five-star rating. Now, I don't mean to sound negative, so read on before you think I am bashing the book because nothing could be farther from the truth. This is a fabulous book full of romance, hardship, mystery, and even some history. It is well-written and full of the tragedy and resilience of the human spirit. And it celebrates the strength of women in spite of a sexist society. So why did I mark the book down? Thankfully, it was not for sex scenes because there were not any. The profanity did not become an issue for me until halfway through the book, and I will admit that I found it unnecessary. Even so, that did not affect my perception of the book. My issue was mine and mine alone. When something shifted with the narrator of the story--the main character--I struggled to find the account believable. I don't want to give away the author's technique here, and many people will enjoy the technique. This goes back to personal preference. And once I got past that portion, I was able to set that aside and enjoy the remainder of the book. This book is full of stories that will tug at your heart, and I think the ending may be a bit of a surprise to you. This is a book that I can recommend to anyone who likes a good human interest story. I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
jbarr5 More than 1 year ago
The Twelfth Child by Bette Lee Crosby This book is mainly about Abigail Anne Lannigan and how she grew up with a twin brother who was looked up to, where others looked down at her if they even acknowledged her at all. Over the years we find out just how she would dream of the girl in the snow globe to help get her through the years. The book is about when Abigail is in her 70's and Destiny Fairchild moves into the cabin next door and she gets to know her and gives her a lot of furniture and things for her bare cabin. She used to work at a bookstore, then as a waitress at night to make more money. Her mother had just taken off when she was younger and others saw to taking her in for a few months at a time til she was old enough to work herself. Problem starts when Elliott introduces himself to the Lannigans after they've sold the family farm and he claims he's related and wants a share of the profits. We learn how Abigail was able to leave-she had promised her father to marry Henry from a neighboring farm once she was done with school... Liked the detailed descriptions of things in the 20's and 30's but it was a bit hard to understand the years missing... Very sad story of events when Abigail had arrived in Richmond.. The last half of the book covers the story of Destiny and her troubles with the law. The court drama is really played out well-good enough to be a TV show in itself because of all the information that comes and goes. Surprise ending and also links to a free chapter of the author's other novels. I received this book from the author in exchange for my honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I realky enjoyed the story & hated to see it end.
amybooksy More than 1 year ago
The Twelfth Child is a fantastic read. This is the second book I read by Bette Lee Crosby and she is in the running as one of my favorites. This book is the first installment of the Serendipity series. I can't wait to read book 2! I loved how this book is set close to my hometown. The author did an excellent job capturing this area. I found myself in variety of emotions while reading this. One minute I would be cringing, tearing up, and then laughing. I was so captivated my page one that I could not stop reading. I loved Abigail and felt as though she was one of my family members. What a strong character! A FABulous read!! 5 plus stars.
Barb65BH More than 1 year ago
Abigail Anne had a wonderful mother and a mean father so she finally left his home and learned to live on her own. She loved once and lost and then met a girl who lived next door, Destiny, and she became like a daughter to her and a best friend. Destiny was accused of embezzling money from Abigail, but Abigail wasn't able to tell anyone the truth. Read it and find out the whole story.
RonnaL More than 1 year ago
Wow!! I just found a new favorite author!! THE TWELTH CHILD by Bette Lee Crosby covers all the things that makes for a spectacular read----wonderful, heartwarming story; characters who warm your heart, get you laughing, and whom you love to despise; and writing that makes you want to go back and re-read paragraphs.  This story of an 'unwanted girl child' from the Appalachians is basically a search for love, friendship, and finding your place in the world. Abigail has come to the end of her years, when she meets the bubbling young Destiny, who moves in across the street from her. They soon become fast friends as they find what they need in each other. This story goes back and forth in time, developing intrigue as a greedy distant relative comes into the picture causing all the trouble that one could possible imagine!  This book would also be a great book group read, with lots to discuss. Really glad this author found me! 
ScotsLass More than 1 year ago
The Twelfth Child is the first book by Bette Crosby that I have read but it will not be the last. The story is about the enduring friendship between two strong women seperated by age. It is the story of Abaigail Anne, a woman who has lead a difficult life but still has the strenght to survive and live life to its fullest. It is also the story of Destiny, a young women living a difficult life, who befriends Abigail Anne in her senior years. Through the additional intresting characters, you see hatefulness and avarice but also loving respectful people. This book would make a great bookclub book or an excellent vacation read
jjelizalde More than 1 year ago
The Twelfth Child is a beautifully written, warm story of Abigail Anne Lannigan and then ultimately Destiny Fairchild. Filled with emotion. Ms. Crosby writes in such a way as to capture the reader and lead them through the story which is impossible to put down. I highly recommend!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a fantastic book, it will make you laugh and cry. The characters are brought to life in such a way that you'll feel like you know them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago