×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Villa Triste
  • Alternative view 1 of Villa Triste
  • Alternative view 2 of Villa Triste
     

Villa Triste

4.4 65
by Lucretia Grindle
 

See All Formats & Editions

Florence, 1943. Two sisters, Isabella and Caterina Cammaccio, find themselves surrounded by terror and death; and with Italy trapped under the heel of a brutal Nazi occupation, bands of Partisans rise up.

Soon Isabella and Caterina will test their wits and deepest beliefs as never before. As the winter grinds on, they will be forced to make the most important

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Villa Triste 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 64 reviews.
ohtokauai More than 1 year ago
This story left me in tears for the families who went through this time in our history. I wanted to read more by this author and was sad when the book ended. Told in a different way and including so many characters, it is pure poetic prose (is that a redundancy?) and I thoroughly recommend Villa Triste.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful novel! In Modern Italy a great Italian police chief investigates puzzling murders of 3 old decorated Italian WWII partisans. Through his investigation we go back in time to Nazi-occupied Italy and meet courageous young partisan sisters and agonize and admire as they and their families face torture and death and loss. I will read this novel again. I highly recommend it!!
KKiwi More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed this book. The characters were well developed, and the interaction between past and present was also well done. Would have enjoyed more. Have recommended this book to several others already.
LisaMI More than 1 year ago
Once again I wasn't disappointed when I chose this novel based on customer recommendations.  Set in Florence  during WWII it weaves a tale of bravery and sacrifice that the average American could only hope they were capable of. Two sisters and their family members become involved in the Italian Resistance .  Risking and loosing all that was their existence before the Nazi invasion.  It also contained a modern day detective's search for the truth.  This novel  reminded me of yet another great one written in that time period called "A Thread of Grace."
melamia More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. The modern day mystery blended with the WWII history made for a wonderful read. I highly recommend this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wanted to like this book so much, but for me it fell flat. I loved the historical sections of the book but the modern day setting became very confusing and disjointed. I felt like there was plot lines added just because and too many similar/ varaitions of names. Overall it was an decent read but could have been better
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed. Will be recommending to others!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read. Really gets you thinking about what it would have been like to live there during World War II.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The combination of the WWII Italian partisan efforts and the complex characters involved tied to a current day mystery and the great writing style make this one of my few 5 star reads in last few years.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
cooknbooks More than 1 year ago
A well written story connected the past and present. It also provides a glimpse of how life was in Italy during WWII. An excellent read, highly recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read this book! The characters are wonderful, and the plot full of twists and turns. Very poignant, and deep emotionally. DO NOT PASS UP THIS READ !!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Are they serious! Sarah's Key is so much superior in craftsmanship!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not stop reaading this. It was fascinating. I am old enough to remember WWll but did not know much about Italys role in war other than about Mussolini. Now I know a lot more. The book also was somewhat of a mystery story. Best book I've read in awhile.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a real sleeper, and a great read! Well-written, with two converging stories, it's a thriller as well as an intriguing historical novel. MUCH better than 'Sarah's Key'!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
At first it was hard to understand as it started out in the year 1944 and the all of a sudden went to present time murder mystery. It was slow in spots and got better toward the end. A lot of names changed so you had to remember who the all characters were. But once I got into it, it held my attention and I couldn't wait to get to the end and find out "who did it." May have been easier to read in hard copy than Nook so you could go back to prior chapters, but I did enjoy the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago