×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Viscount's Midsummer Mistress
     

The Viscount's Midsummer Mistress

3.8 54
by Suzy Stewart Dubot
 

See All Formats & Editions

Circumstances have made Gideon Drummond, Viscount Osborne, a solitaire. Never would he have imagined that the eleven-year-old girl who presents him with his winner's cup will, years later, become his Midsummer Mistress!

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Viscount's Midsummer Mistress 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 53 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book. Would've given this book 5 stars, but I felt some long detailed scenes were unnecessary. Other than that I think the plot was great, book was not cheesy, and well developed characters. Loved the book.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very entertaining from start to finish! Jane Austen period with historical descriptions. Also romantic. Will look for others by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a lover of regency and historical romances, I loved this story! It was very complete with the characters past stories included and a great epilogue at the end. I read it in one day and had a hard time putting it down. It had everything that I love in a good romance and yet was not at all your typical romance. It was very original. I will be looking for more romances from this author. It wasn't overly detailed on the sexual scenes but just right which I appreciated.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an excellent read. It's a keeper, as well as, others by this author. JS
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I agree with previous posts about long, descriptive chapters. Unlike most novels of this genre, there was no 'bodice ripping' hero. Yes, the relationship between the principals was unorthodox, but the story was satisfying. It was refreshing to read a piece of work that had no evil protagonist or dire circumstances. This would be an appropriate story for a young person who likes period drama. The love scenes were intense without being graphic or obscene. I'll be looking for more from this author!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book had simple but likeable characters. An enjoyable read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found it an enjoyable read. I recommend it to romance lovers
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found this book to be an enjoyable, very easy to read book. The author did an excellent job in communicating issues, feelings, and circumstances of the main characters. I can easily recommend it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This could have been a good story, but this author went on and on about the smallest of details. At least 40% of this book contained unnecessary descriptive details. Very boring!
MRSDD More than 1 year ago
Good characters, the plot moves nicely, all around good book.
BerCon More than 1 year ago
I had a very hard time getting into this book. I merely read to the end to see what happened and who actually ended up together. I didn't necessarily feel the love between Gideon and Grace. I also didn't like the fact that he was basically with two women at once. I think he should have just dealt with it and divorced the first. OH well. Definitely not my favorite and I'm glad I didn't have to pay for it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rather than weaving a story which draws the reader in, this author seems to be reciting events. Everything is presented in a simplistic manner that fails to engage. Ok for a quick, free read, but glad I did not pay for it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
wonderful writing and wonderful romance.gave good reasons for bad and good behavior.a keeper...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
*I had difficulty getting involved in this book as it had way too many paragraphs of nothing but tedious descriptions. However, once I got into the story (skipping over all that extra stuff) I found it to be quite an enjoyable read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not the usual Regency romance. Well written with descriptions that I appreciated, although I suppose there are readers who prefer mostly dialogue. Will look for others by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Found myself taken up by the story. For all that it took places in the first part of the 19th century, Gideon and Grace are faced with problems that we find today. Enjoyed the story to the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lots of details (names, places, minor events) that were unnecessary. I liked the basic premise of a "spinster" deciding to become a kept woman, but couldn't become emotionally invested in these characters because of all the minutiae. The footnotes were also pretty distracting...and in several cases, innaccurate! Most who read this genre don't need (or appreciate) the "educational" spoon-feeding.
NavyWave62 More than 1 year ago
Great Read! Wonderful story of lost love and found again, beautifully written. Some parts alittle long in telling, but otherwise, I really enjoyed it. The love scenes were overly described, just written so you knew the love between them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not like my typical Regency romance reads. This had no coming out balls , conniving and scheming women and cliffhangers. But I loved this book because it concentrated on the love story of Grace and Gideon. Going back and forth between their pasts and then back to the present really helped flesh out the characters. I usually don't like alot of descriptive "padding" but I could actually picture the house and other things because of the desriptions.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Agree with other reviews. This is a boring recantation of two lives. On page 158 - and have skimmed thrterough most of those - can't see i t getting much better.m
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This reads more like a historial article or recounting not a novel. Really drawn out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed this book. So different back then when they married for life regardless if they were happy or not. How distressing to be married and your wife does not care for you and then you find the love of your dreams. Great story!