×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Watchers
     

The Watchers

4.0 36
by Jon Steele
 

See All Formats & Editions

Beneath Lausanne Cathedral, in Switzerland, there is a secret buried before time began, something unknown to angels and men, until now...

Marc Rochat watches over the city at night from the belfry of the cathedral. He lives in a world of shadows and "beforetimes" and imaginary beings.
Katherine Taylor, call girl and daydreamer, is about to discover that

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Watchers 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 36 reviews.
WriteReason More than 1 year ago
INTRIGUING After a very pleasant introduction of the main characters, the intigue begins, and builds as the story develops. A brilliant story, filled with intrigue and wonder. Well written, well thought out. The story moves from one level to another--from the contempoary, to the supernatural, to the theological, and melds it together with intrigue and character development that leaves you in wonder for the tale and love for the characters. A very pleasant story, you will not regret.
bookholiday More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this story. There was so much to like. very good book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful, fantastic, and brilliant! The prelude set the hook, the first third of the book built the characters and set the scene, the next thing I knew I was flying through the book and it was over. ..Could not put it down! I think Mr. Steele has found a new line of work! I can't wait for the next installment in this trilogy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not thru with it yet, but this is one of the best books I have read in along time,Pulls you right in, plot has good twists and turns and you can't wait to see what happens next. You can see the story in front of your eyes, almost look a great movie. Highly recommend it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book started really slow...I mean really, really slow. It took about 200 pages but I finally go to the point that it was good, I mean really, really good! I was so happy and was excited the book was living up to it's 4-star BN rating. But the end...ugh...the end! Honestly I have NO idea what happended, it didn't make any scense and it was so bad I didn't even want to go back and re-read it to try and understand. It was like the author struggled to get the story going, then really got into it, and then had no idea how he was going to wrap everything up so just jumbled some words together, thinking if he just confused the reader, we'd be fooled into thinking he just wrote the most epic tale ever. Good idea for the story...I read another review that said it was like a cross between Da Vinci Code and Hunchback of Notre Dame and I'd say that's mostly accurate. But it falls short and doesn't live up to either story's success.
Anonymous 4 months ago
Anonymous 6 months ago
This is a "cannot put it down" read! I struggled to get into the story at first, so much murkiness. But... it evolves and grows just the same as the characters do until you absolutely must read to the end! I have just bought the second in the trilogy and hope that the characters and story is just as gripping and enchanting as The Watchers...this could be "the explanations for the unexplainable in life"
FrancescaFB More than 1 year ago
THE WATCHERS is very imaginative, mysterious and intriguing. Great hook from the very beginning.
StylinSixty More than 1 year ago
Fabulous, intriguing and addictive.  I read A LOT of books i the sci-fi/fantasy genre, but this one is special-truly a different "take" on the subject of angels and their interaction with us .  I find that intelligent "explanations" for fantastic situations are often lacking in favor of "here's the action-don't ask questions" sort of attitude.  Not so with Mr. Steele-wonderful and challenging ideas and vocabulary.  I felt as though my intelligence was being respected-not a requirement for this type of book  but appreciated  Cannot wait to read the final chapter!!!!.k 
bravewarrior More than 1 year ago
PB/Thriller: Three people with nothing in common wind up in Switzerland. This is a long book, but a well written book with no real filler. It is part of a trilogy and has an ending. I liked the setting in the cathedral in winter.
CherylM-M More than 1 year ago
This was a difficult one to review. The opening scene was superb. The first half was disjointed and confusing at times. Switching from one character to the next with no apparent connection to any of their stories. Wandering from the present day Rochat to the past and back again. Based on the opening scene I thought the plot was about some audacious supernatural race saving or fetching souls of the dead, so I was slightly confused when it turned into a modern version of Quasimodo and Esmeralda. At the halfway mark the reader finally gets some indication of what it is all about and how the three main characters are connected. So after slothing along for half a book things then speed up. Quasimodo, sorry Rochat the bellwhisperer, is suddenly confronted with the Nephilim. So the story morphs into a nefarious plot executed by fallen angels, who happen to act like the notorious Illuminati. Sometimes authors try to outsmart both themselves and their readers. They try to create and introduce pseudo literary works of art instead of just telling a good story. In this case I was disappointed because the writing is good. The descriptive scenes of Rochat and the bells are so intensely real you can almost hear him speaking to them. Overall I would suggest less procrastination and more clarity. I received a copy of this book via Netgalley.
Book_LoverJG More than 1 year ago
This book did start off VERY slow but what a wonderful book it ended up being.  I felt so strongly for Marc Rochat and the story that was being built around him.  This was excellent and I can't wait to read the sequel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really like this book. It has lots of weird stuff. You can't set this down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Liked this read, the prologue which was very good but it was slow going for about 200 pages of exposition.
pdt More than 1 year ago
I bought it because it was rated so high, and I regret following the crowd! It was so boring that I just could not get far. If I read a book, I want the author to grab me from the beginning, so I'll not want to put it down. This book bored me to tears from the beginning. Sorry, but it doesn't get my vote!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A good story,but a slow read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. The author did an excellent job of building the story. The characters are unique and fun. It is not often that a book pulls me in like this one did, it weaved a web around me. Great writer, I want more!
tessa14 More than 1 year ago
Definitely worth reading. Outstanding concept, started off a little slow but then I couldn't put it down.