×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Wedding Dress
     

The Wedding Dress

4.4 208
by Rachel Hauck
 

See All Formats & Editions

From New York Times bestselling author comes The Wedding Dress.

Four brides. One dress. A tale of faith, redemption, and timeless love.

Charlotte owns a chic Birmingham bridal boutique. Dressing brides for their big day is her gift–and her passion. But with her own wedding day approaching, why can’t she

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Wedding Dress 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 209 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think this book has the potential to be the new "Redeeming Love" of Christian romance. It was the first book I've read in ages that I absolutely couldn't put down.
bkwormIA More than 1 year ago
Just finished this book and was disappointed that I was done with it!  Great story line and love the spiritual aspect without being pushy.  I will be looking for more books by this author. 
SharonALavy More than 1 year ago
As an orphan, Charlotte wishes she could go back in time to a happier scene of her childhood. She remembers a special place where she often picnicked with her mother. But when she arrives at “their spot” it is crowded with interlopers. Having of all things, a sale. She ends up with an old trunk that she didn’t know she wanted. When she unlocks secrets from the past, she finds her future. I appreciated the theme of finding your heritage, or family, and what all that means.
beckymmoe More than 1 year ago
The Wedding Dress was a sweet story overall, but one that I never really considered giving more than three stars to. I liked the idea of the wedding dress that gets passed from woman to woman and magically fits them all without alterations (think: the jeans from the Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants, only with the dress passing through time and between relative strangers rather than going by mail among the four friends), and for the most part enjoyed the back-and-forth perspective in the novel between the current heroine (Charlotte) and the dress's original owner (Emily). I even enjoyed seeing things from their significant others' viewpoints as well (Tim and Daniel). The few times it went beyond that, though--especially the solitary time we saw things from the point-of-view of the dress's second owner--seemed more forced. In that instance, it really seemed as if the story could have been just told by the character to Charlotte in the present (which is actually how Charlotte learned the story anyway, so it would have made sense to do it that way.) I'm not quite sure I exactly understand who the man in purple is supposed to be--I gather he has something to do with the passing on of the dress, and imagine there must be some sort of Biblical/religious reference that I'm just not getting--but I almost feel as if the story would have been stronger without his involvement in it. He didn't do much more for me beyond making me scratch my head a bit, wondering just who he was. This book too was a bit heavier on the Christian aspect than I am usually comfortable with, though it was fairly secondary until the end, when I felt like I was getting bashed over the head with the "This is Christian Fiction!" stick. One of my favorite parts of the story was the history of Birmingham as seen through Emily's portions--they offered a fascinating glimpse into the pre-Civil Rights era South. I thought that bit was very well done. Overall, I did enjoy this book. People who appreciate Christian fiction with a historical fiction twist as well should find it a solid read.
kksread More than 1 year ago
The Wedding Dress was an enjoyable read. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing, summer read, or something for your book club. It had everything - love story, personnel turmoil, mystery.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first book I have read by Rachael Hauck. It was wonderful. I could not put it down.
anemulligan More than 1 year ago
I love how Rachel Hauck weaves romance into a story much larger than just boy-meets-girl-then-loses-girl-then...well you get it. The Wedding Dress is filled with compelling characters that will capture your heart and hold it hostage until the end. This was one of those rare books I couldn't put down. Novel Rocket and I give it a very high recommendation. It's a "must read."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book has a little bit of everything in it and kept my attention from the first page till the last. It was nostalgic yet timely in its message and heart warming too.
whit1306 More than 1 year ago
This was the first book from this author I had read and let me say it is a fabulous read. Her style of writing is very comfortable to read. It makes me feel drawn in to the story. I now have read 2 more books by her and working on the 3rd. We are so thankful for her talent and blessed she is using it for good!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found this book very easy to read and it kept my attention . Would definitely try this author again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was the first book i have read in awhile and the first book by this author. I was pleasantly surprised and so loved how the author tied each character together! I thought it was very well done! It kept my attention continually! Im buying another one by this author!
Milbrath More than 1 year ago
I liked this book. The characters had depth and the romance side of things didn't get too mushy. The main characters' relationship felt genuine and relatable. I liked the two different timelines too. It gave the book an interesting edge. The ending cut off kind of quick for my taste but it didn't detract a whole lot from the book. I kind of knew how it would end but I enjoyed the journey.
girlsmama More than 1 year ago
Four women, one wedding dress managing its way through different times and situations, a one size fits all kind of dress, never needing any altering, never aging or looking out of date, always looking perfect on each bride. Spanning in time from 1812 to present, the reader discovers the origin of the dress and how it came to be and the mystery behind all the women that wore the dress and how they were linked together. I found this storyline to be most captivating and most charming as the story unfolds taking it’s time in a most wonderful way. The story opens with our present day heroine Charlotte inexplicably finding herself at the annual Ludlow Antiques auction at the Ludlow estate, bidding on a mysterious trunk with who knows what inside; 1,000$ of bidding later the trunk is hers. She is a bit surprised at herself for splurging so to speak, as she is a future bride herself saving for her own wedding that is rapidly approaching. But this little purchase sends her on a mystery of her own as she seeks to know the story behind what’s in the trunk which is of course “the wedding dress”. While this contemporary storyline is happening, the book also flashes back to 1812 and Emily Canton a young beautiful woman with 2 men that have caught her eye, one that she thought was only in her past and one who is very much in her present. As the story unfolds Emily discovers who is after her heart and who has ulterior motives. Two other “wearer’s of the dress” Mary Grace and Hillary have lesser storylines but they are still intricate to the novel and an important part in the story. Rachel Hauck weaves joy, heartache, coming of age struggles , love and a charming element of magic in a certain male character that pops up throughout the novel that just make this story a delight to read. This novel has wide range appeal as who doesn’t love to read a little romance, but also in this novel a strong historical component as the dress spans through time and what was happening to the women, as well as a nice contemporary storyline as well, as a friend of mine said- “it has something for everyone”. I heartily agree. I also want to mention that the author’s note at the end is not one to be skipped as it brings even more light to the precious spiritual elements to the book. I highly recommend this book, there’s just something really special about it. 5 stars I was graciously provided a digital copy of this book from Thomas Nelson through the Netgalley program in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed are honest and my own.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I believe I picked the right time to read this book or in a way God brought it to me. Stories of faith, family, grace, and redemption. Something I believe we need more of everday.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
296 pages - Excellent read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My first book by Rachel Hauck. I must admit I brought it because it was cheap but I highly recommend it. The story is wonderful and I had a hard time putting the book down. You will not be dissappointed!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book over the Holidays and enjoyed it very much. The women from the different time periods showed great strength and independence, although the last one had less of both qualities. The journey of the dress and the relationship of the women was well done. Since it was the Holidays when I read it the magical qualities in the book seemed appropriate. It's a happy book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I truly enjoyed reading this beautiful story. How interesting 4 Brides and 1 wedding dress. This one is a most read...
ruthhill74 More than 1 year ago
This book was a pleasant surprise for me. I have read many historical fiction books in my time, and I have thoroughly enjoyed them. I am also an incredible fan of Christian romances, but this was so refreshingly different from anything I have ever read. And I read it very quickly. The entire premise behind this book is a wedding dress that came into contact with four women and impacted them all in special ways. This means that the dress is over 100 years old. And it just so happens that Charlotte ends up getting this dress--almost by accident. She has no idea when she gets it what a marvelous journey she will undertake! Because the book covered four different women and showed how their stories intersect, I was quite intrigued. It was also clear how strongly divine appointment figured into the story. There were too many coincidences for it to not be the work of God. I loved how the author wove everything together in a unique, endearing story. I think I experienced every emotion along with these characters. My favorite character was Emily. I was glad that the author spent her time covering this wonderful character. However, Charlotte was the one with whom I could identify. And God definitely spoke to me through her. I was reminded that God puts everything in our lives for a reason, and we just have to trust Him for the outcome. God doesn't give us good gifts and then delight in taking them away just to tease us or punish us. The center of the story is definitely this magical dress. It seems to take on a life of its own. And I was quite pleased to see the parallels that the author drew between the Christian walk and the wedding dress. This is a historical romance that I think just about anyone who likes that genre would enjoy. It is a charming story told from a wonderfully fresh perspective. I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated in any way, and opinions are 100 percent mine.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was truly one of the best books I have ever read. The storyline was wonderful; I had a difficult time putting it down. I love how the author incorporates God into this story; it is truly uplifting. I cannot wait to share this story with my daughters.
MarjorieVawter More than 1 year ago
The Wedding Dress is an amazing story of how one wedding dress ties together four brides over the past century. From the moment Charlotte bids on the battered trunk, I fell in love with the story. Charlotte is only weeks away from her own wedding, and she has yet to find the dress that is uniquely hers. For a woman who has both feet firmly planted in the present, she is strangely drawn to the trunk she buys at an auction, intrigued by the odd auctioneer who claimed she had redeemed the chest. Rachel has done an outstanding job of weaving the stories together, giving Charlotte a better understanding of her faith, redemption, and true love. An excellent read.
Britney_Adams 14 hours ago
The Wedding Dress is an enchanting tale! Rachel Hauck skillfully weaves together the stories of four brides bound by one wedding dress. I delighted in the tender romance and reveled in the history woven within the threads of a vintage gown. Beautifully told, each woman’s journey adds exquisite depth and richness to this stirring story of timeless love. I received a complimentary copy of this book. No review was required, and all thoughts expressed are my own.
RobbyeReviewer 5 days ago
The Wedding Dress requires a large element of suspension of belief, but once that is accomplished, what a delightful story! Rachel Hauck has written a heart-warming and enchanting (in more ways than one, but I don’t want to give away the story) tale of four women linked through decades by a beautiful wedding dress. Each of the four women, beginning with Emily in 1912, are on the cusp of marriage. However, each has a major struggle to overcome, and the wedding dress figures prominently in each situation. Interwoven throughout the story is a Biblical theme, interspersed with magical whimsy and mysticism, reminiscent of fairy tales. For instance, a ubiquitous, seemingly ageless, purple-attired man appears to two generations of brides. More incredibly, the wedding dress fits perfectly around the figure of each bride, no matter that their physiques and statures differ. The dress is magical and the story intriguing. I was disappointed with one section, near the end, that gave away an integral part of the story. However, except for the spoiler, I thoroughly enjoyed reading about the women, their lives and most especially, their wedding dress. The Wedding Dress is book one in a series. Nonetheless, it can be a standalone book. I read the second in the series, The Wedding Chapel, a little over a year ago, and didn’t realize it was a sequel. I received this book free through the Fiction Guild program in exchange for an honest review.
RachsRamblings 6 days ago
Splendid read with mystery, intrigue, faith, and love all woven into a tale that has one wedding dress which Dian's the time of four weddings. Traveling back and forth between past and present, is a beautiful story of God and his institution, marriage. Terrific read that I thoroughly enjoyed. I'm not a contemporary fan, but this book will be put on my forever shelves!! " That salvation summer she drank up, devoured, lived the reality of a God's love and desire for her. She had a Father. And the cross she'd once disdained was exhibit A of Jesus's fierce love for her." I received this book through the publisher. All opinions are my own.
THersh27 8 days ago
Four women, one dress. It fit them all perfectly. When Charlotte Malone, a wedding dress salesperson, stumbled upon a trunk at the Ludlow auction little did she know that she would find a wedding dress inside, let alone a wedding dress that would change her life. Intrigued by the mystery of where the dress came from, and how it got in the trunk, Charlotte begins investigating. But will she hit a dead end, or will she finally find the secrets of the dress? Will she have her happily ever after? This whole story reminded me of the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants movie. You know the story I'm sure, the group of girls take turns having the pants for a few weeks, and they fit each girl perfectly. However, this story is so much better! Each woman in this book has her own story of how she got the dress, and how it fit them each perfectly without any alterations! Stories of romance, and some tragedy. It brings all of them together to unravel the secret history of the dress Charlotte has found. I absolutely loved it.  This is the first book in the series that includes The Wedding Chapel and The Wedding Shop, so I read it out of order, and they can each stand alone. Brilliant, brilliant book! I highly recommend getting this one, and while your at it, get the whole series, because none of them will disappoint if you love a good romance! **I received this book free from the publisher through the Fiction Guild program. I was not required to write a positive review, and all thoughts and opinions are my own.